We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room with spectacular view”
Review of Devonshire House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Devonshire House
Ranked #32 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My teenage daughter and I had a great visit to Bath. The slog up the hill in the rain was not the best start but it got better and better. Our room was very comfortable and while the bath was very small, it was adequate. The breakfast was perfect but don't fill up on all the goodies until you have had a hot croissant, fresh from the oven. Our host was very helpful. If you are on foot, figure about 20 minutes to hike up the hill from town.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the countryside and was so pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radarsmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us after your wet start. Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have stayed in Devonshire House for 2 nights and we really enjoyed it, the owners were really helpful the room was nice, bathroom big and breakfast tasty. It was quite a long walk from the city centre though, but we did not regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Yes, we always tell our guests, lovely going downhill into town, a bit more of an uphill struggle coming back, but taxis are only around £6 and we are on a bus route, or you can say you earnt that extra glass of wine with dinner by walking back. Many thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had an excellent stay in Devonshire House in Bath. The owners were away for the weekend but the lady who replaced them did an excellent job! She gave tips regarding what to see and when to see it and served an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we are lucky to have Judith who manages the B&B so well in our absence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay for 2 nights at the Devonshire House. The hosts were very accomodating for our requests. The breakfast was of good quality. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. I thought it was a good value. The pub across the street was nice as well. The walk down the hill into town is pretty easy; though you may want to get a ride on the way up there if you have baggage as it is up a hill. You do get a nice view though of the town. The Wellsway seems busy during the day but quiets down at night so that was not a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed in Room 1, which sleeps four. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The location is good for a 20 minute walk to city center Bath. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was very good.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank addVICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The owners of this B&B are so friendly and nice, and they made us feel very welcome. This place is on the hill, so you need to take a taxi from the city centre, but it costs just £5-6. Their breakfast is continental breakfast and it was perfect for me as I don't need hot breakfast. They have fresh fruits, toast, English muffins, homemade banana muffins(my friend loves this!), ham, cheese, boiled eggs etc.
The electric shower in our room was difficult to adjust the temperature and a bit weak, but other than that, I liked everything about this place. I would love to stay here again :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northfields82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we are renewing the shower in your room this month, so the pressure should be fine.

Kind regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed at Devonshire house for two nights in May and would certainly recommend it. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Louise who showed us to a very comfortable room with large bathroom. Both Louise and her husband Chris were welcoming and helpful. We felt really good staying there. They prepared a lovely continental breakfast including warm croissant. They also gave us all kind of helpful hints making our stay in Bath even more meaningful.
It’s a bit of a walk into town but the hosts provided a map showing the best option for the walk and also told us about taxi services. We walked each time but if you are a bit out of shape, you may want to take a taxi on the way up. There is a lovely pub next to B&B with good beer.
We really enjoyed it and would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
1,269 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astor House
Astor House
#61 of 157 in Bath
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#9 of 157 in Bath
1,688 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#35 of 157 in Bath
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House

Address: 143 Wellsway, Bath BA2 4RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £70 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run B&B used to be a Victorian Grocers shop, but now offers individually furnished, ensuite bedrooms, including a family room, twin bedded and double rooms. Thirty years of combined hospitality experience ensure the service and standards are both professional and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Devonshire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing