We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 4 star B&B.”
Review of Devonshire House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Devonshire House
Ranked #35 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good 4 star B&B.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A very nice B&B. Louise and Chris are very friendly and full of advice on places to visit. There is a wealth of info available in the dining room. Breakfast was plentiful and good and the glass of sherry on arrival a nice touch. Its a bit of a walk up the hill from the city centre. Taking the scenic route via the local school and park was well worth it for the view.
Devonshire House was frequently full which sums up how good it is. Try them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smart-1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay, I agree, the scenic walk into town gives stunning views over the city. Thanks for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    60
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
113
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the cottage attached to Devonshire House. On arrival Louise and her husband Chris were very welcoming and helpful. Louise gave us leaflets about what to see and do, along with a map and a discount for a restaurant. The cottage was lovely and we were also provided with two muffins, a bowl of fruit and some milk. We also were surprised to have an iPod docking station/alarm clock, iron & ironing board, games, DVDs and books. This place has a very warm, family feel and the owners were always around during our stay. We would highly recommend it and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Laburnum Cottage, our self catering cottage across our courtyard. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feldkirch, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We started our trip through the southwest in Bath. Our first time B&B we were just a bit surprised by the small beds that seem to be standard in the UK. Nevertheless, it was neat and tidy, Judy (the manager) was helpful and very nice. We had 2 nights there and can walking down to Bath and back to the room for 4 times I can confirm that it takes 15 minutes to the Roman bath and back some minutes more.

The walk back to the hotel was very welcome due to the very good restaurants in downtown Bath.

We sure will book again if we come back to that area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Bath with us, thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

If you cannot stay in the city centre, the Devonshire House is a great alternative. On a residential street, outside Bath, it is an interesting 20 minute walk to town, or take a taxi for just 6.50 pounds. Rooms are a decent size with tasteful decor. Bathrooms are tight but just fine for the time to shower. Hosts are accommodating and gracious. Nicely stocked breakfast room. A couple of eating options within an easy 10 minute walk, and a fun local pub across street. Well worth the great price, and well worth the rating

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scottie799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and the Devonshire Arms pub next door. Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Isaac, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Chose this hotel from previous reviews and was not disappointed. We had a Family Room which was a good size, tasteful decor and a lovely new bathroom. The owners were away but the lady who greeted us was very pleasant and approachable. She explained how to get into town and to the restaurant we had booked and gave us a map of the area. There was fresh milk in the dining room fridge and many extras in the room (an ironing board and iron outside the room). We were on the busy road and needed to keep the window closed which meant it was very hot at night but there was a ceiling fan and a free standing fan. However, you could still hear the traffic on the busy road but it was not a huge problem! We walked into town and got a taxi back which was fairly cheap. We only had a continental breakfast which was lovely and more than adequate.
Would definitely return to this clean, friendly B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine2437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My teenage daughter and I had a great visit to Bath. The slog up the hill in the rain was not the best start but it got better and better. Our room was very comfortable and while the bath was very small, it was adequate. The breakfast was perfect but don't fill up on all the goodies until you have had a hot croissant, fresh from the oven. Our host was very helpful. If you are on foot, figure about 20 minutes to hike up the hill from town.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the countryside and was so pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radarsmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us after your wet start. Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have stayed in Devonshire House for 2 nights and we really enjoyed it, the owners were really helpful the room was nice, bathroom big and breakfast tasty. It was quite a long walk from the city centre though, but we did not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Yes, we always tell our guests, lovely going downhill into town, a bit more of an uphill struggle coming back, but taxis are only around £6 and we are on a bus route, or you can say you earnt that extra glass of wine with dinner by walking back. Many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#27 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bloomfield House
Bloomfield House
#40 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.0 mi away
Weston Lawn
Weston Lawn
#75 of 154 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hollies
The Hollies
#33 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House

Property: Devonshire House
Address: 143 Wellsway, Bath BA2 4RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run B&B used to be a Victorian Grocers shop, but now offers individually furnished, ensuite bedrooms, including a family room, twin bedded and double rooms. Thirty years of combined hospitality experience ensure the service and standards are both professional and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devonshire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing