We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't fault it”
Review of Devonshire House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Devonshire House
Ranked #33 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A wonderful find of a small, friendly B & B in Bath. Someone was always on hand if any assistance was required, not that we needed any as everything we could possibly need had already been thoughtfully provided. Our room was clean and beautifully appointed and had a new, spacious en-suite. The breakfast was plentiful and had enough variety to suit everyone's needs. There is a beautiful scenic walk into Bath through a local park with spectacular panoramic views of the city. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

It was great having you stay too, glad you enjoyed it and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in this B&B for two mid-week nights. Everything was really good. Our room was clean, warm and comfortable and the description of the bathroom as 'compact' was accurate.
Breakfast was really good, lots of choice and all very fresh. Chris and Louise were welcoming and very knowledgeable of the area. The walk down into bath takes about 20 mins. The walk back is steep and takes longer but taxis are easily available.
Really nice place and would recommend it to anyone looking for well priced, slightly out of town B&B.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Glad you enjoyed your trip to Bath and thanks for spending the time to feed back.

Kind regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Arrived at Devonshire House by taxi from bus station - easy five minute journey. Louise had e-mailed me to collect key from pub next door. I was there with my two sisters for a weekend away. We had a meal in said pub which was perfect. After a good nights sleep in Room 1 ( with 3 separate beds!!) we had a very nice breakfast with fresh fruit & Louise's banana muffins!! Although it was raining we walked into Bath - around 20 mins. The rain stopped & sun shone for rest of day. Next morning Chris ordered us a taxi back down the hill for our bus.All in al a great weekend, if rather short, made fantastic by a very kind & helpful couple. Thank you Louise & Chris - we hope to come back & stay longer.

Room Tip: Room 1 was excellent for 3/4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we can welcome you all back soon. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My family and I stayed here the other weekend for a short break away, and I can honestly say I would HIGHLY recommend staying here. The rooms were clean, fresh and airy. Louise and Chris are very helpful when it comes to places to visit and where to eat. The continental breakfast was superb and I really couldn't fault them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A very nice B&B. Louise and Chris are very friendly and full of advice on places to visit. There is a wealth of info available in the dining room. Breakfast was plentiful and good and the glass of sherry on arrival a nice touch. Its a bit of a walk up the hill from the city centre. Taking the scenic route via the local school and park was well worth it for the view.
Devonshire House was frequently full which sums up how good it is. Try them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smart-1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay, I agree, the scenic walk into town gives stunning views over the city. Thanks for sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the cottage attached to Devonshire House. On arrival Louise and her husband Chris were very welcoming and helpful. Louise gave us leaflets about what to see and do, along with a map and a discount for a restaurant. The cottage was lovely and we were also provided with two muffins, a bowl of fruit and some milk. We also were surprised to have an iPod docking station/alarm clock, iron & ironing board, games, DVDs and books. This place has a very warm, family feel and the owners were always around during our stay. We would highly recommend it and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Laburnum Cottage, our self catering cottage across our courtyard. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We started our trip through the southwest in Bath. Our first time B&B we were just a bit surprised by the small beds that seem to be standard in the UK. Nevertheless, it was neat and tidy, Judy (the manager) was helpful and very nice. We had 2 nights there and can walking down to Bath and back to the room for 4 times I can confirm that it takes 15 minutes to the Roman bath and back some minutes more.

The walk back to the hotel was very welcome due to the very good restaurants in downtown Bath.

We sure will book again if we come back to that area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Owner at Devonshire House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay in Bath with us, thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 155 in Bath
823 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#47 of 155 in Bath
241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crescent Guest House
Crescent Guest House
#90 of 155 in Bath
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
551 reviews
1.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 155 in Bath
810 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wheelbrook Mill
Wheelbrook Mill
#2 of 5 in Norton St Philip
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House

Address: 143 Wellsway, Bath BA2 4RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £67 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run B&B used to be a Victorian Grocers shop, but now offers individually furnished, ensuite bedrooms, including a family room, twin bedded and double rooms. Thirty years of combined hospitality experience ensure the service and standards are both professional and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Devonshire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing