We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pub grub with attitude!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sam Wellers

Sam Wellers
Ranked #133 of 567 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Fourques-sur-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pub grub with attitude!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Pre-booked in advance from the south west of France thanks to Maria and Brittney's wonderfully warm and helpful telephone manner, nothing prepared us for the treat that awaited us in this cosy, traditional English pub. Mike, the chef, cooked up perfect pub grub and it was served, along with pints, wine and Irish coffee with great panache by our wonderful barman Kevin Soper. Kevin, you kept us all highly entertained all night, served 17 people in the blink of an eye, were incredibly good humoured, let me pose with the beer pumps behind the bar AND massaged my shoulders - what more could a body ask for! Can't recommend this little pub and its amazing staff highly enough - great beer, fantastic food and watch out for that enigmatic barman! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maoutens-fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    84
    15
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great value consistently delivered...........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This city centre pub consistently provides a high quality product at a more than value price.
This visit encompassed a superb cheeseburger and chips (just 9.95) and a prawn sandwich with some salad (5.95). All served excellently and the burger was superb.
I would recommend this for lunch or just a beer in a relaxed atmosphere.
One of the best value traditional English food places in bath.
Recommended......

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank restaurantsinbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haverules
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good pub food with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We called in here on Saturday evening for a drink and decided to go back on the Sunday for an early tea. It was quiet on both occasions but it didn't detract from the pleasant visit we had. I had seen someone with jacket potato and sausages which wasn't on the menu and asked for the same. It was no problem. The sausages were pork and leek and were full of flavour. My husband had steak and ale pie which was very filling. The barman was very friendly and gave us plenty of advice. The prices were reasonable and it welcomes families
It is on a side street and doesn't look much from the outside but if you don't want to spend a fortune it is worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank havenrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
792 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Lunch with auntie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We booked a table the day before our meal so we had enough space for our party of four. The staff were very helpful and let us have our desired table. All of our choices of meal were enjoyed. the fish pie was excellent ! IT turned out to be great value for money and all of us left full and satisfied. The BELLRINGER ale was well kept and I had an enjoyable afternoon there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LOBSTER64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“If only it had rooms as well - I'd stay forever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Great pub, great atmosphere, great food, great beer and friendly helpful staff - says it all! In Bath for a long week-end and visited Sam Wellers every day for food and sometimes just for the beer! It's quite a small pub but the staff are ever watchful to help you to find a table, so if it looks full don't be fooled and turnaround and walk out, as some poor souls did as you'll miss-out on good food, a lovely friendly atomsphere and Ohh did I forget to mention the great beer. Theres a good selection of real ales and of course ciders on offer and the food which is served all day is excellent - its pub food but its well cooked, very tasty, promptly served and is excellent value for money and nothing is to much trouble for the staff, my daughter rather strangley is a grated cheese and chips girl and it was no problem as the staff promptly produced a bowl of grated cheese to satisfy her bizarre carvings! - in summary its a great pub, the food is excellent value for money and really good and the staff are great, the only failing is it doesn't have bedrooms otherwise i'd still be there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeza-Aberteifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam Wellers also viewed

 

Been to Sam Wellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing