We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good ales - average food.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Salamander

The Salamander
Ranked #61 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Salamander is great city-centre pub, 'The Sally' serves good food and a fine choice of beers from Bath Ales and beyond, and welcomes a friendly, eclectic audience. It's small, it's snug but it's oh so special! The Salamander is tucked neatly away just off Queen Square in the heart of the Georgian city of Bath. Historically a 'steak and chop house', it now consists of a wonderfully simple bar on the ground floor and an impressive dining room complete with galley kitchen upstairs.Using the finest produce from local suppliers, 'The Sally' is renowned for its imaginative and varied menu, available both downstairs in the bar and upstairs.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good ales - average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Welcoming, attractive pub with some good ales (Barnsey was excellent) but let down by disappointing meal (Sunday lunch) - yesterday's (or possibly last week's) tough, re-heated roast spuds, tasteless pork shoulder and all only barely hot enough. The pudding was fine though (what there was of it). I would have complained had it not been a family get together. Come on Bath Ales - you can do better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 508RichardH508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deana18, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
WE are not happy to hear that you had a disappointing Sunday meal. We do not serve re headed or yesterday's food. We cook our food to order and like all Sunday roast the early in the day the better the roast :) I was working the day of your visit and had great reviews from my customers in the pub, especially on the pork shoulder. I only wish you would of told us when you got your meal that it was not to your liking and we would of been more then happy to change and heat it up to your standards. Please except my apologies and I hope that you give us another change to show you how good our roast usually are.

Thank you for you review and we will make adjustments were needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    165
    38
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great little pub with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I was just in Bath for the day to see a friend, so I decided to drop in to the Salamander for lunch... I chose the fish and chips with mushy peas and ordered a serving of onion rings for good measure. It was my first time eating mushy peas... who knew they could taste so good? My guess it's butter that make them taste so good! The classic fish and chips were delicious and a great way to fill the tummy of a tired traveller.

The service was down to earth and friendly - just what you want in a local pub.

They had a great range of beers and even their own range (Bath Ales)... so decided I must take away a gift pack of that too!

If you're visiting Bath a highly recommend a stop in to the Salamander!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwimac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deana18, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Yes mushy peas is something everyone should try, hey, it could be a new trend you start in Sydney !!!?

Hope your flight back wasn't too long :)

See you soon, if I decide to go to Australia next year

Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
176 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stopped here for drinks and a rest, and was impressed with the friendliness of the place. Although we stopped at several places during our stay, this place was the one we remembered.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deana18, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
HI Susan

Thank you very much for remembering us and writing this review. It was great to chat with you during your stay in Bath.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A group of us use The Salamander from time to time and always have good food, good beer (Bath Ales) and good service

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gilesbick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deana18, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
This is very nice to read, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are now stocking our Beerd products, which are our craft beers. Please give them a try :) Silvertip, which we import hops from New Zealand, and for a limited time Convict on draught, which uses Australia hops.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
237 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great little converted coffee house serving Bath Ales. Heard the food is good but did not eat here. It's a little clinical for my tastes but nevertheless a lovely little city centre pub with a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swedensm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deana18, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for you review and we hope next time you will try our food :)

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Salamander also viewed

 

Been to The Salamander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing