We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house...doesn't quite work as a b&b.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Firs Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #101 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the deluxe room to see in the new year and enjoyed our stay.

The house is a good 15 minute walk into the centre of bath but its a safe, well used route even late at night.

The house is warm and has lovely big rooms but it is a bit awkward as a b&b.

The deluxe room has a 'private' bath room but there is nothing to stop other guests using it (no sign, no lock) - this could be easily rectified - I had to 'mention it' to another guest who was getting ready to have a soak in the bath as we were trying to get ready to go out!

The breakfasts were generous and very tasty but I would have preferred to have been seated at a table for two (rather than at the huge communal table) - you didn't feel you could linger over your coffee - perhaps put the radio on to give it a less oppressive feel?

This b&b would work well for a group of people wanting to go away and stay together.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank holgate79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at The Firs. Aside from some minor issues with the cistern in our ensuite, this is one of the best B&Bs we've stayed at. Dawn was very amiable and catered to our needs. We had to arrive late at night, but this did not prove a problem. My wife is coeliac and Dawn catered to her needs by getting gluten-free break for breakfast.

This late Victorian house felt like a home rather than a bed and breakfast. It was spacious but warm, elegantly decorated and impeccably clean. Our double ensuite bedroom was about twice the size one would normally expect with two great big windows looking out onto the activity of the streets below. The busyness of the roads did not permeate the solid foundations of the room. The bed was very comfortable.

The next morning we dined in the large kitchen. Dawn cooked our eggs to perfection. The meal itself is worth the visit -- possibly the best continental breakfast we've ever had in a bed and breakfast! The eggs looked organic and locally sourced, as did the meat and cheeses. It was not a problem to have perfectly toasted gluten-free bread for my wife.

A splendid visit and in a perfect location to explore Bath (remarkable in its splendour, particularly around Christmas with its Christmas Market).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingBill2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel on the 14th & 15th November. We found Dawn very accommodating straight away from our first phone call.
She let us store our trailer in the drive during our stay which, when we got there, we realised wasn't enormous which made it a generous gesture.
The whole place is pristine, we ended up taking our shoes off as we entered because it is simply so nice and well looked after.
The room was lovely, a nice outlook and very little traffic noise considering the house is on a busy road, there was also a very nice Indian locally where we could take our own booze.
Access to the town is very easy, either by bus or walking, we did both and found it no problem.
Breakfast was lovely within a very nice kitchen and Dawn was very friendly and chatty.

We had absolutely no complaints about the place or the hospitality, for £80 a night for two with breakfast it is the only place we would go back to in Bath and fail to understand how people would fine it otherwise.
Thank you for a great stay

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Nigel_1968186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed here on the recommendation of some friends. All I can say is it was was everything they said it was! After a friendly welcome from Dawn, we were shown to our room, where we found a super comfy bed, and everything you could possibly need (including hair straightners and a pile of up to date glossy mags). The little touches in the rooms like boxes of tissues and cotton buds/wool were welcome. The person who said the place was run on a shoestring hasnt a clue what they are on about, Dawn definitely doesnt skimp on things!
Breakfast was good, I actually liked the fact that a full english isnt provided - in most cases all it does is stink the place out, and make you feel fat and bloated (and after you see the house you'll understand why Dawn doesnt want it stinking of bacon grease!).
Location is excellent, can really recommend the Weston pub at the bottom of the hill if you are looking for somewhere to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H3ndrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed at The Firs because it was nicely located between our sons' student houses. After the chilly experience in a student home, it was lovely to find a warm welcome from Dawn - and bedroom - in our B & B. This is a beautifully renovated, classic Bath house; the bedroom was very comfy,well decorated and well equipped, and the guest lounge superb. Breakfast was an ample continental (it does help if you like eggs) with plenty of tea and coffee, served in a homely, open plan kitchen. Location was ideal for us, but it is also an easy walk into the city centre, while being away from the bustle. I would also recommend the Hop Pole (on the road into Bath) for good beer and excellent food. We will certainly return on future trips to Bath.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dispeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed this weekend. Dawn was our host and made us both very welcome. Our room was lovely - very comfortable bed. Simple breakfast (not Full English) toast, cereals and boiled eggs. It was a very welcome retreat from Southampton.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EventMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This was our first B & B in England and the best one we stayed at during our three week stay in the United Kingdom.

Our room was tastefully decorated with a contemporary decor and offered really nice extras such as body wash, cotton balls and facial wipes.

The B & B is conveniently located on a bus route and is only a 5 minute bus ride to the city centre to attractions such as the Roman Baths.

Breakfast was great with fresh fruit (a rare site in Britain), good yogurt and wonderfully steamed /boiled eggs and toast. Cereal and other options were also available. It was also nice to get really good coffee.

Steps away is a great Indian restaurant in which you can bring your own beer or wine.

Dawn is quiet, gracious host who runs a very nice B & B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happiesttraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
6 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
159 reviews
2.9 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
780 reviews
3.6 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
584 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Firs Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firs Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £81 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firs is a Victorian bed and breakfast, newly renovated to a high standard. Parking, non-smoking friendly family home. TV along with tea and coffee facilities. En-suite, with hair dryers, iron and ironing board available. A full continental breakfast is served including fresh local bread and croissants with any choice of eggs. Close to the shops and Victoria Park. Bus service available every 10 minutes. Just over a mile from the city centre. Local facilities: Organic coffee shop, delicatessen, Indian restaurant, convenience store, laundrette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Firs Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Firs Bed And Breakfast
The Firs Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing