We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only B&B in Bath where the client is king”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anabelle's Guest House
Ranked #58 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Trying to book a hotel in Bath for the Easter weekend is a nightmare. There is such high demand that local hotel owners can impose stupid conditions such as "only-three-nights" or "no-arrivals-on-Saturdays" policies. Annabelle's was completely different. It was very easy to book the rooms for the number of nights we wanted, and for a very reasonable price (72.5 pounds per night per room for a double en-suite) compared to other guest houses in Bath at the peak of the season.

The rooms were comfortable and cosy, the bathroom was modern and super clean. One of the rooms, number 1 on the ground floor, was noisy on Saturday night, but we had been warned before booking, and had accepted a 5 pound discount for the inconvenience. The other room had no noise problem at all.

The breakfast in the morning was an all you can eat buffet with good and simple ingredients (orange juice is from concentrate and coffee is not great though, you would expect better from Italians!). But only on Sunday morning was there a full English breakfast buffet (with bacon and sausages), which was really worth it.

The owners are lovely and helpful people. Natacha speaks English, French and Italian. She did make a mistake with our reservation, but quickly recognized she was wrong, apologized profusely and gave us the rooms we had booked. She also gave us tickets to the American museum in Bath to apologize.

All in all, difficult to find a better value guest house. If you want high luxury, there are plenty of other places in Bath, but be ready to pay four times the price, for probably surly service and not much more. Location was absolutely ideal, close to the station but not too much, and near all the main sights in Bath.

Room Tip: The full English breakfast on Sundays is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

I stayed at Annabelles as part of a hen weekend, the guest house was chosen for its reasonable rates and convenient location. The location is ideal, close to the train station and the centre of Bath and attractions. We had a variety of rooms, some doubles and twins and some en-suite, some not. It was an ideal "base" for us, it was spotlessly clean, and the manageress was extremely helpful and kind, but not obtrusive.
Although the decor is slightly dated, and is buy no means a "luxury" hotel, it perfectly met our needs. The manageress was also more than happy for me to decorate the hens room with balloons & banners and for us to drink in the rooms whilst waiting for others to arrive.
My room faced the front, and as the weather was quite warm, slept with the window open and I was not bothered by the music from the pub/club next door. Although it is audible, it was not loud enough to disturb our sleep. And the beds were very comfy!
I would reccomend Annabelles to those who are travelling to bath and do not went to pay the hiked up prices of other hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bex080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My second stay here, and again I was very happy. It is within a few minutes level walk of the centre and attractions as well as the rail and coach stations. The manager is very helpful - meeting our group booking needs and adjusting to last minute changes, taking luggage upstairs, and coping with forgotten keys, all with patience and in good humour. She is lovely, offers a hairdryer and vegetarian options on arrival. The breakfast is generous and everywhere is well kept. I have stayed here with en-suite and shared bathroom, and each were clean with good, hot showers. The rooms are modest but beds are comfortable and we (all six of us) slept well - we were warned about the weekend night life noise outside, but in fact we all thought it was no bother at all. I would always choose to stay here when returning to Bath, it's friendly and great value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidbyDaydreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We had travelled a long way from New Zealand, but all our communication via email was good. Our booking was for a twin room, shared bathroom, we paid 99pounds for 2 nights. We chose this guest house as we wanted to be close to the train station, which turned out to be brilliant with our heavy bags. Room was very pleasant, and overlooked the main road, with the police station across the road, there is a shopping complex a few doors down, and it is a 5min walk to the main sights of the city. Great position. We had a booking with a tour company Mad Max for the following day, but due to snow & ice, their trip was cancelled. I requested an extra night, no problems, they were so helpful. They also passed on telephone messages from the tour company to update us for the following day, to confirm our placing on the next tour. Great service. The breakfast selection was good, a variety of cheeses, cereals, etc and the free wifi kept Miss 17 happy. Hubby & daughter heading back in July for sports, have rebooked for their stay at Anabelles when they come to Bath.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sneezydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Booked a last minute trip to Bath and was looking for accommodation that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg - and found Anabelle's.
The (lady) host that greeted me was extremely helpful and patient.
B&B location very central, right next to the main shopping strips, ~10minute walk to the Bath museum etc. famous attractions. You can get to all these places on foot.
Right next to the train station - which made life sooo easy getting off the train to find it!
Only thing to say is the walls are a bit thin, so you better hope next door is not having a very exciting night.
Otherwise the communal bathrooms are kept very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbqfatduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Very nice and friendly place to stay during your vacation in Bath. Rooms clean, confortable and quiet. Nathy, the manager, is very helpful and gives you good suggestions for your staying in the city and your trips in the sorroundings. The location of the guesthouse is the best, very close to both the centre (3 min walk) and the station (2 min walk). Around you can find resturants, shops, Spa and entertainments. Pleasant the breakfast room, where, in a familiar atmosphere, you alwasy can taste a full continental breakfast. A place we will enjoy again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markho80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Not only is the service fantastic (they helped carry our bags up two flights of stairs very graciously), but the rooms are just enough, and the perfect size for a couple day getaway. The twin basic which is what we had was great, and was a bit tight, but then again we could have brought less. Breakfast included a selection of ham, cheeses, two kinds of toast, yogurts, cereal, various fruit, eggs, pancakes, muffins, a choice of a croissant, juices, tea, and coffee so needless to say we didn't go without fuel! The location is excellent and provides just enough space away from the direct city centre to avoid too much traffic but close enough that all major destinations are a five minute walk away. I can't imagine staying anywhere else but here if I ever return to Bath!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliviamarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
1,230 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
7.0 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anabelle's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anabelle's Guest House

Address: 6 Manvers St, Bath BA11JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £63 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Anabelle's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anabelle`s Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing