We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD, EXPENSIVE DRINKS”
Review of Peking Chinese

Peking Chinese
Ranked #145 of 652 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We ate here one lunchtime in August 2016. Food was of excellent quality but just felt the drinks were over-priced. I can't ever recall seeing a bottle of Coke so small. Worth noting that 10% was included in the bill. Whilst we didn't study the menu in any great detail and we were expecting to leave a tip, didn't see anything obvious that pointed this out. But again, the food was excellent.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkV68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 278 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2016

Our friends took us here, they eat here every couple of months. Such a choice of food to suit all tastes. The service was quick and efficient . We had a selection of starters, the prawn toast was lovely and not at all greasy. I then had the scallops with asparagus , this was heavenly both cooked to perfection . Lovely atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 35HeidiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We went to this restaurant, deciding we both wanted to eat Chinese food.

There were only three tables, this was about 9pm in the evening and a last minute decision, so we did not book and came straight in.

The food came quickly on small plates and it was cooked fresh and served on a hot plate.

The selection was vast, we ordered the sweet and sour dish, had prawn toast, the Peking Duck dish and also a recommended tangy seafood dish, by the couple on the nearby table.

I found it hard to eat everything towards the end, perhaps, because we got carried away with wanting it all!

Mr Woo, had a pleasant manner, and the staff serving us were polite and helpful.

I had a glass of red and my friend had white wine and tap water with ice.

I think the food was quite pricey, but you could argue, your paying for the service and tranquil atmosphere.

And if you like fish, the fish tank is gigantic.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hayoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The food here is very average and pricey for what you get. Drinks are very expensive for small bottles 200ml. Compulsory service charge. Not very good at all and won't be visiting again.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Nshawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

I've been here with my family, the food was alright but consider with the price I think it's a little bit high than other Chinese restaurants, the food came in a small plates even though it's a la carte menu not lunch and it was too expensive after we've left we were still hungry, service was good by the way

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank kimmelocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Peking Chinese also viewed

 

Been to Peking Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.