We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamp Post Villa B&B
Ranked #160 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I do not know what happened to Carmen and Sylvia who are mentioned in the other reviews, we certainly did not receive a warm welcome. The people present were obviously not the owners and did not seem to care about anything very much.The room was fine, clean and comfortable, however, the breakfast was awful and service non-existent. When we arrived in the dining room, which was a bit small for the number of guests, no one welcomed us or asked us what we wanted. We found seats where we could and after sitting there for about 10 minutes we had to ask for tea and coffee. The coffee was disgusting, we watched the guy add water to the coffee maker, but no fresh coffee so it came out looking like dishwater. I asked for poached eggs and bacon, the girl obviously could not understand enough English and I got the normal fried breakfast just no bacon or sausage and a very strange piece of dried up black pudding. The beans were cold, ingredients were poor quality and all served on very small plates. Other guests complained about the service as they walked out and were just ignored. Such a shame as the house was quite nice and a great location for walking into town. If you are looking for a friendly welcome and a nice breakfast do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Inge172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
I am sorry you were unhappy with the service you received, although your rating overall was very good. Breakfast is made up of premium ingredients locally sourced and was voted as on of the best in Bath. We do take any complaint seriously and I'm sorry you were not happy with the service, do please try us again and we will ensure you are satisfied thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    38
    24
    28
    46
See reviews for
29
76
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

myself and my husband stayed at lamp post in september,carmen and sylvia are lovely,they gave us information on bath and bus stops and where to eat etc etc.we had a great stay here.bath is about 5 minutes away and it is a lovely town.my husband had just had an operation and was on crutches well carmen and sylvia could nt do enough to help him.breakfast is wonderful and tea,coffe and toast is plentiful. the room that we was in was round the side and was great,tea and coffee making facilities very good. i would recomend this b and b to my friends, as my son is at university here i will be returning....well done ladies your a credit to this b and b..thanks for a great and friendly stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverblue07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Carmen is lovely! The room was spotless with white towels and bedlinen which were "DAZ" white! Comfortable bed loads of tea and coffee in the room. Amazing breakfast ~ whatever you wanted, however you wanted it and freshly cooked to order. As much ( or as little ) as you wanted and nothing was too much trouble.
Carmen gave us a map of the city and advice ( where to eat, where to get the bus etc )
Parking was only for four cars but Carmen was a mind reader and arranged for the other guests to move their car ( and knew exactly who was parked in front of us ) in plenty of time for us leaving.
Would def stay again if we go back to Bath

Room Tip: We have no complaints about room 6!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyMarkScales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We had a brilliant stay at Lampost - we were made very welcome, the rooms were clean and comfy. The hospitality was superb, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was amazing - as much as you could eat - and for my daughter and her partner who didn't get up for breakfast - a bacon sandwich especially made for them to have in their room!!! How is that for service - so kind and helpful. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Thank you for your warm hospitality. Our stay in Bath was wonderful this weekend and made even better by your comfortable B & B and delicious breakfast (of which my boyfriend couldn't get enough of!). We will definitely be back and will highly recommend you!
Becca and Bruce

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyntypynty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are always pleased with such positive feedback as Sylvia and Carmen go the extra mile to ensure our guests are comfortable and happy. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast so much, we do remember just how much too! :-) we look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had quite a bad experience with this B&B by the end of September 2012, and therefore I would never recommend anybody to book this establishment.

Above all, I can affirm that the main reason for my disappointment is the behavior of the LamppostVilla’s Director, called Graham.
An unkind and selfconvinced person that only appeared to get payed ad front during the first afternoon, and never showed up again from then on. Even though, you have to say that the ladies working at this B&B are very polite and trying to make yourself feeling comfortable.

The story is:
We were a group of 35 people, coming from Spain to join one of our friend’s wedding in Bath. As usual, when such huge groups are travelling, we were spread over several B&B of Bath during our stay of 4 days.

Two days after leaving the B&B and returning to Spain, we received an email from Graham, telling us that the door and door frame of our room were broken and accused us to damage the establishment and leave without communicating ourselves with the Management.

Mr. Graham appointing us as “criminals” because of the fact that in his opinion, we had caused the damages.
Therefore, he communicated us that he had already charged us with an self defined amount for the damages + an extra charge for the room for the following night after our stay, as he wasn´t able to resell it.

We were more than surprised about the way this guy was acting concerning that fact.
I belief that it would have been much more "elegant" from him, trying to contact ourselves before charging us with an amount defined by himself, plus an extra charge for not being able to rent the room the day after.
When we left the room (3 persons), neither the door, nor the door frame of the wall were damaged at all! The cleaning ladies came in the room every morning of our stay and neither them, nor us never recognized any damages!

Obviously, we called him the day after in order to understand exactly what kind of damages we should have caused in his room, as we were not aware of any breakage at all.
He accused us as well to leave without doing the check-out, but we payed everything ad front because of the fact thatwe had to catch an airplaine at 6:30 in the morning.
This guy is quite dangerous, acting without contrasting any information with his guests and charging money without being interested weather the guests have anything to do with the accuses or not!

Bath is a beautiful city and there are plenty of good B&B (on the same street there are some B&B were other friends stayed and their experiences were positive!!), but please stay away from this establishment, and its owner Graham.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aparuschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
The room was booked on the guest behalf by the bride who as the lead party member graciously paid for the "Criminal damage" caused and denied by a guest who left the room key locked in the room and when returning late Saturday night, a little drunk, kicked open the door breaking the door frame and lock, which had to be repaired and replaced. The guest left early the following morning without any note or reporting the damage. We contacted the guest who was in denial over his totally unnecessary behaviour, at which point we had little option but to report the matter to the local police to obtain a "police report number" for insurance purposes. When the principle saw the photographs of the damage caused they agreed to pay for the damage on the guests behalf.
The vast majority of visitors to any establishment behave with respect towards the property and other guests, unfortunately on this occasion the puerile, drunken and immature behaviour of this guest left us with a damaged room which had to be paid for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

The room I stayed in for the 2 nights I was there was barely adequate. When Graham checked us in, he initially placed us in a big beautiful room at the front of the B&B with gorgeous views, modern amenities and lovely comfy beds. Unfortunately for us, a few minutes later he realised he'd made a mistake with allocating the rooms and we were shown to the very top of the B&B (not good to climb all those stairs with big bags) into a pokey little 2 roomed attic space with barely a window to look out of. The bathroom was narrow and cramped and I kept nearly falling off the toilet seat because it wasn't fitted properly. The switch to turn on the hot water was located in the bedroom of all places and wasn't pointed out to us when we were initially shown the room. Instead I had to traipse all the way down the stairs at 8pm at night to ask Carmen and Sylvia about the hot water supply. Graham was very charming, very apologetic, but it was quite disappointing nonetheless to know that we'd missed out on a far superior room. Much better to have lived in blissful ignorance and not be shown that room at all! Added to this, parking was not readily available despite the website seeming to indicate there was, and the check in time was at 4pm - not obvious on the website when booking either. Apart from the initial "hiccup", it was a pleasant stay. Carmen and Sylvia looked after us very well and were very accommodating. The breakfasts were yummy and they were really helpful in giving us directions and ideas for sightseeing, as was Graham when we first arrived. The building itself is lovely, and within easy walking distance to all the wonderful attractions Bath has to offer. Based on the first room we were "teased" with, and based on Graham's charm and Sylvia & Carmen's hospitality, I would recommend this B&B gladly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors and to the front of the building seem more spacious with modern, comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
We are sorry that you were initially disappointed having seen the superior room and changed to your original room booking. When you return we will gladly ensure you are given the superior room for the lower price of the standard room. Thank you for your response which we take seriously and endeavour to make our guest stays as warm and comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#44 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.0 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Thief
The Thief
#70 of 160 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Park Guest House
Royal Park Guest House
#84 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Post Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Post Villa B&B

Property: Lamp Post Villa B&B
Address: 3 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Post Villa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamp Post Villa is an elegant Victorian Townhouse offering quality en-suite B&B accommodation with car parking in the center of Bath. Located just a few minutes walk from the city center, we cater for tourists and business people alike and aim to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The friendliest B&B in Bath. Just ten minutes walk from the bus station and likewise ten minutes from Bath Spa train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lamp Post Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Villa Bed And Breakfast
Lamp Post Villa Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing