We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid! You can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamp Post Villa B&B
Ranked #158 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Good location. However, very disappointing experience! Dark, depressing and shabby was the first impression. Alarm bells rang on noticing a scribbled note of mobile contact number stuck to front door, on the strong, strange smell of airfreshner, on immediate payment before seeing room! Nothing when booking prepared us for the two flights of stairs to the attic! Dark poorly lit (lights don't work during day time). Number nine room was cramped and should never be used as a twin bed double. Cheap furniture and fittings. Wardrobe was two shelves and 4 hangers which couldn't easily be reached because of the coffee table in front of it. My friend and I could not move around at the same time. No covering on the small window, which we couldn't reach because of a bed and deep window sill. My friend is under 5ft tall, and repeatedly banged her head on the sloping ceiling. Poor connection on kettle, took ages to make horrible tea!. Cheap stained and dark coloured nylon bedcover. towels not changed in four days. Cups not washed or changed on second day. Shower head holder broken and doesn't hold when showering. Three flights of stairs to find dining room, which resembles a greasy cafe. Poor quality all-round, after which I did'nt bother with breakfast. Spent twelve hours a day out in Bath to avoid going back to digs! Bath is a lovely place and there is no need to experience a nineteen seventies style "Boarding House". Do not give in, keep looking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Acdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and dd nt indicate that you were unhappy during our stay, we ay have been able to do something for you whilst with us. our rooms are clearly described on our website and we do warn of restricted headroom in the attic. We did not receive any complaint from you during our stay, indeed David the manager enquired daily into your satisfaction which you indicated was fine. The house is victorian and reflects the character of the victorian era, this is also clearly shown on the website. Breakfast ingredients are premium quality which you seemed to enjoy each day, your room were serviced an cleaned daily, your towels were changed upon request. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Good location, clean room, comfy bed (so comfy we struggled to get out in the morning) breakfast was good, fair portion, I would have liked a sitting room where you could sit and relax, staff knowledgable and friendly, one tiny comment on the room. Curtains had a couple of hooks missing , the curtains dropped slightly. Irritated me slightly, but not enough to complain, telephone in room didnt work. Hot water was extreemely hot.should have a sign warning of this.towels cleanstorage ample. Given a parking pass to park outside the hotel free of charge, manager explained about s scheme they have in bath, discounts in some eating places with your hotel
Key fob, many eating places within 10 mins walking, would recommend jamie olivet place

Room Tip: We were at the back of the house, no noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed for two nights on a long trip around UK. David was very helpful getting our luggage from the car to our room. We had to park on the busy main road outside the property before moving our car to the back of the house where there is parking for four cars. The room was very disappointing with the curtains hanging off the rails and a feeling of neglect everywhere. The throw on the bed had seen better days and the dressing table stall was stained. The hairdryer which was wired into the wall didn't work, although there was a spare in a drawer. The bathroom was very tired and dingy and the towels definitely were not white. It was clean, however, but lacked the quality that you would expect from a B&B in a large city. Breakfast was very disappointing and nothing other than a full English with the usual choice of cereals. The fruit juice was from a carton and no yoghurts at all. There was a very tense atmosphere among the two people in the kitchen and the woman was very surly, even pulling faces behind David whilst he was cooking. Wifi access was good. Ten minute walk into town which was OK as it was not raining. Wouldn't want to stay here again by choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole and Anth... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your review, breakfast ingredients are of premium quality and locally sourced. Fresh juices generally come from a real juice carton I'm sorry this was not to your liking, please do come again an we will ensure you are entirely satisfied next time. Hank you for your review which we do take seriously

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

It was quite a walk from Bath Spa station (about 20 minutes?) although I personally don't mind walking that distance. Do ask for directions when you are getting to the inn.

The owner was pleasant enough to brief us about Bath and also gave us a leaflet that has a map to main attractions and selected local restaurants, which was quite helpful.

Booked a room for 3 adults and it was quite spacious for a B&B inn. Very cosy as well.

The down side would be listening to heavy footsteps and conversations going on in the room above us, which disrupted our sleep throughout the first half of our night. Didn't complain as it was only a night's stay.

Overall, this is an affordable and cosy place to stay if you plan to visit Bath. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meenday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Being an old Victorian building some floorboards on the upper floor are a little creaky but not too noisy, for many this adds to the authenticity of a stay in Georgian Bath. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I do not know what happened to Carmen and Sylvia who are mentioned in the other reviews, we certainly did not receive a warm welcome. The people present were obviously not the owners and did not seem to care about anything very much.The room was fine, clean and comfortable, however, the breakfast was awful and service non-existent. When we arrived in the dining room, which was a bit small for the number of guests, no one welcomed us or asked us what we wanted. We found seats where we could and after sitting there for about 10 minutes we had to ask for tea and coffee. The coffee was disgusting, we watched the guy add water to the coffee maker, but no fresh coffee so it came out looking like dishwater. I asked for poached eggs and bacon, the girl obviously could not understand enough English and I got the normal fried breakfast just no bacon or sausage and a very strange piece of dried up black pudding. The beans were cold, ingredients were poor quality and all served on very small plates. Other guests complained about the service as they walked out and were just ignored. Such a shame as the house was quite nice and a great location for walking into town. If you are looking for a friendly welcome and a nice breakfast do not stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Inge172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

I am sorry you were unhappy with the service you received, although your rating overall was very good. Breakfast is made up of premium ingredients locally sourced and was voted as on of the best in Bath. We do take any complaint seriously and I'm sorry you were not happy with the service, do please try us again and we will ensure you are satisfied thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

myself and my husband stayed at lamp post in september,carmen and sylvia are lovely,they gave us information on bath and bus stops and where to eat etc etc.we had a great stay here.bath is about 5 minutes away and it is a lovely town.my husband had just had an operation and was on crutches well carmen and sylvia could nt do enough to help him.breakfast is wonderful and tea,coffe and toast is plentiful. the room that we was in was round the side and was great,tea and coffee making facilities very good. i would recomend this b and b to my friends, as my son is at university here i will be returning....well done ladies your a credit to this b and b..thanks for a great and friendly stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverblue07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Carmen is lovely! The room was spotless with white towels and bedlinen which were "DAZ" white! Comfortable bed loads of tea and coffee in the room. Amazing breakfast ~ whatever you wanted, however you wanted it and freshly cooked to order. As much ( or as little ) as you wanted and nothing was too much trouble.
Carmen gave us a map of the city and advice ( where to eat, where to get the bus etc )
Parking was only for four cars but Carmen was a mind reader and arranged for the other guests to move their car ( and knew exactly who was parked in front of us ) in plenty of time for us leaving.
Would def stay again if we go back to Bath

Room Tip: We have no complaints about room 6!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyMarkScales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 159 in Bath
396 reviews
0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#47 of 159 in Bath
243 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#18 of 159 in Bath
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Post Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Post Villa B&B

Address: 3 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £67 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Post Villa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamp Post Villa is an elegant Victorian Townhouse offering quality en-suite B&B accommodation with car parking in the center of Bath. Located just a few minutes walk from the city center, we cater for tourists and business people alike and aim to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The friendliest B&B in Bath. Just ten minutes walk from the bus station and likewise ten minutes from Bath Spa train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lamp Post Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Villa Bed And Breakfast
Lamp Post Villa Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing