We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamp Post Villa B&B
Ranked #155 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lamppost Villa is extremely convenient, a 6 minute walk to the centre, with a bus stop outside.

This Victorian house is no oil painting and reminded me of a small seaside B&B in Blackpool. Our twin room was compact, with pretty basic furnishing, with NVQ level 1 decor. OK beds, heating and hot water. Breakfast was fine, with cereals, eggs, sausage and bacon and unlimited toast. No complaints from me. But no yoghurt, which perplexed some German visitors. (whom David tried to help get to Bristol by bus, as it was much cheaper than by the train they were planning).


Over 4 days we had no problems. David seemed pretty willing, replacing a couple of light bulbs when asked and producing marmalade on request....but shouldn't it have been on the table in the first place?

Nice touch was the use of a hotel parking permit, valid for the local area, so one could park pretty close to the centre, assuming you could find a resident's slot.

Reading TA, it must be murder trying to keep guests satisfied, especially if they expect 5 star accomodation at 3 star prices. Having said that, owner/managers might do worse that walk around their property and see it from a visitor's perspective. After all, following the breakfast rush, there should be time until the afternoon check in.......

Lampost Villa took us for 4 nights at short notice, moving guests so we didn't have to.

Doubtless, there are better appointed B&B's, and more expesive,but we didn't have time to search for one !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nykwilkyins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are, as you said a three star B&B offering convenient accommodation close to the city centre. We have just completed an upgrade of bathrooms to a five star standard. The beds are clean with orthopaedic matresses, very comfortable, with the breakfast of premium quality. As you have correctly stated, the management are very helpful and accommodating. Yes there are much more expensive four and five star establishments, which on average cost twice as much. Thank you for your objectivity and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

There are a lot of Bed and Breakfasts on this road and the location is great. Having experienced the competition in a neighbouring B&B recently (which was sadly full this time) we were alarmed at how little effort is exerted in trying to meet the needs of the guest in this bed and breakfast considering the very hot competition only a few doors away.
The only direct contact we had with the owner was on arrival when we were asked to pay up front.(Alarm bells should have started ringing then!) The room was small but, on the good side, the bed was comfy and the pillows suited us. The room was a good temperature and there was little noise. The ensuite shower was spacious and there was adequate hot water. However, the shower flow was a bit weak, there was no plug in the sink, the towels - although smelling nice and clean - had marks on them. The spare blanket was stained, the hairdryer didn't work, the satin throw on the bed was stained and the furniture was cheap and dated. Worryingly there was no guest pack with information about local GP, fire procedure, breakfast times, places to visit, wifi key etc. The breakfast room was in the basement and was dull and, as another reviewer has said, looked like a cafe. There was a bit of a problem with the language barrier with the woman serving and I gave up trying to ask for porridge in the end. There was no opportunity for guests to make specific breakfast requests. You just got a full English cooked breakfast plonked in front of you even if you didn't want it! Shortly after we sat down to breakfast, several other guests came in but there were not enough tables for them so they had to wait out in the corridor until others finished. At no point during the breakfast did the owner (who was doing the cooking in the open plan kitchen) bother to greet guests when they came in/left the room or apologize for the wait and seemed to avoid any contact at all with his guests.
There was clearly no effort made to make the stay special or create a positive memorable experience which is so disappointing as Bath is such a wonderful City. This owner is only interested in getting your money and not at all interested in the quality of your stay. You're better off spending your money somewhere else and there's plenty of choice right along the street!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank broadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

I am sorry wherever you stayed was certainly not Lamppostvilla! I am the owner and do not cook breakfast but have a competent breakfast chef and waitresses to take care of guests and attend to there every need. I also have a manager who takes care of visitors. As the owner I am able to greet guests and hopefully enhance their stay. Please do come and try the newly refurbished and welcoming Lamppostvilla sometime and we will do our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just back from a weekend in Bath and cant understand some of the negative reviews, as we had 4 double rooms and although there were some minor issues (ie water pressure not great on the shower in my room) overall we were very happy with our stay.
David was very friendly and welcoming, and was happy to share his local knowledge and make us feel at home.
Location was great for us, as only 15minutes walk to the very centre of Bath and bus stop nearby to pick up the City Tour Bus which was well worth doing.
Breakfast room was a bit cramped, but breakfast itself was freshly made and very tasty and gave us a good start to the day.
If you want a good value B&B, you could do a lot worse than to give this a try and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 7 which overlooked the rear of the property so no noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your kind and objective review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again.Yes, David my manager is a genuine and friendly helpful person, thank you for saying so, We have just completed a bathroom upgrade to make things even more enjoyable.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Avoid!! there are so many better places to stay!!! This is the worst place on Crescent Gardens.
We stayed here in September because there was no availability left anywhere in Bath, now I know why they had empty rooms!!
Upon arrival I knew things looked bad because the first thing you're greeted with is the toilet over flow pouring on anyone who tries to walk up to the front door, it's obviously been pouring for ages and ages because the wall and steps are green with mould!! My boyfriends a plumber and couldn't believe the state of it, All the other guest we spoke to agreed how disgusting this was!!
The rooms are basic and miserable, no money appears to have been spent on this property in decades, everything is tired and needs fixing. Breakfast a joke!! Described as the best in Bath and locally sourced, I saw the the staff opening cash & carry bacon and sausages!!
The place is run by someone who obviously cares more about ripping people off than he does about offering any sort of quality.
Avoid, it'll just ruin your visit to a lovely City.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
45  Thank Londongirlstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

we are very sorry you were unhappy with your stay but never let us know to enable us to do something about it although you said you had an enjoyable stay upon departure, The manager apologised and explained that we had an overflow problem and that we were awaiting a response from a British Gas plumber. The overflow was fixed the following day. All rooms have been refurbished and updated since your stay, but were perfectly clean and comfortable to a 3 star standard as awarded by Visit Britain. All breakfast ingredients are of premium quality and locally sourced. We always welcome objective and honest reviews and hope you are able to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted outside on the step by David the manager. We severely over packed for our two week tour of the U.K. and David was kind enough to help us carry our luggage up to our room. It was very hot when we arrived and there is no fan or AC in the room. But once the sun set the room cooled off nicely and we slept great. I really can't comment on the breakfast as I only eat toast and fruit. But there was plenty of anything you wanted.

Room Tip: Room #8 on the first floor overlooks the street with some traffic noise with Windows open. But we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinm910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in mid July; it was hot and busy. The room was clean and perfectly appointed. Breakfast was okay, you can order whatever you like as a cooked breakfast but as the breakfast room was busy we had to wait a while to be served our tea, although there were drinks available to help yourself to.
The location is great, a very easy walk to the centre of town, or if you walk up the hill you are at Royal Crescent. I would recommend it as a place to sty for a short visit. But be warned, the walls are thin and we could hear our neighbours snoring!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixie26A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your positive response we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a well run commercial B&B converted house a 5 minute walk from the centre of Bath. "David" the manager (owner) of the B&B is the best part of this typical Victorian "semi-detached" house located on a main road into Bath. Our room was clean and tidy, comfortable bed, typical cramped ensuite bathroom (toilet flushing was a bit finicky). Breakfast was well made and promptly served by David. The building, somewhat typical of this type of B&B with a front door with a few old and tired paper notes detracts from the well run and clean tidy operation

Room Tip: View the room before accepting it, try the toilet flushing just in case you don't have the knack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 155 in Bath
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#48 of 155 in Bath
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#32 of 155 in Bath
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Parade Park Town House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Elgin Villa
Elgin Villa
#144 of 155 in Bath
69 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#38 of 155 in Bath
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Post Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Post Villa B&B

Address: 3 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £73 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Post Villa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamp Post Villa is an elegant Victorian Townhouse offering quality en-suite B&B accommodation with car parking in the center of Bath. Located just a few minutes walk from the city center, we cater for tourists and business people alike and aim to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The friendliest B&B in Bath. Just ten minutes walk from the bus station and likewise ten minutes from Bath Spa train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lamp Post Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Villa Hotel Bath
Lamp Post Villa Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing