We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrost experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamp Post Villa B&B
Ranked #155 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Hello ,this is the first time I'm writing review for the hotel. We had very bad experience with lampost. We arrived at the hotel near 1 pm. David told us on the phone he booked a family room for us. After our arrival in hotel he told us he cannot give the family room you have to stay in double room for 1 night and then he will move us in the family room in morning.he charged us family room price. We were really annoyed by this because it hard to sleep on double bed with kids. Breakfast was ok but whenever we ask something he made annoying faces as we r on his nerves. After 1 night we moved to other family room. There was no cupboards in the room. All stuff was all over the room. After 2 nights stay we had enough then we made plan to leave the hotel and go back to London. We told David that we cannt stay more we r leaving for London. He said that he will charge for 2 nights. When we came back to London and check bank statement he charged us for 3 nights. That's horrific. We called him and he was very rude. And he said you can go court. We were shocked when he said this.

Anyway wenever recommend this hotel for bath.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank Kaka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

You booked a double and arrived with your young daughter knowing full well the room was only suitable for two people, however you said that it would be perfectly comfortable three in a bed. The following day the family room for three became available and we upgraded you for comfort without extra charge. All rooms are serviced daily to a high standard. On day three you told us at 4pm you had a call asking you to return to work and elected to leave. You were informed of the total cost which had been reduced by 130.00 giving a rate of 59.00 per night. We also included breakfast for three mornings. Under no circumstances would we suggest court action. We always welcome truthful and objective reviews but in this instance you have made a very misleading and somewhat fabricated statement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for the christmas markets and were horrified with what we got. Payment was taken before we had even arrived and £100 a night plus a £5 charge per day for on street parking was incredulous, if we hadn't have paid we would not have stayed as there are so many nicer B&Bs on the same road. This is defintly not 3 star, I have stayed inmuch nicer backpacker hostels. Room was very shabby, no matching furniture, curtain hanging off the rail, mould in the bathroom, very drafty, TV precariously balanced and cable plugged into multi socket just hanging from the plug. Lamp for single bed also had to be stretched onto this. Person in single bad had no view of the TV so was good job we didn't want it on. Bath towels were very small and threadbare. Beds however were comfy although pillows were disgusting and sheets had seen much better days. Now we come to breakfast, on the Lamp Post webite you will see that they boast the best breakfast in Bath - well that is a joke. No friendly welcome when we went down on both days, radio on so loud you had to shout, day 2 we had to share a table with another couple as the waitress couldn't be bothered to clear the dirty tables (what ever was on her phone was obvioulsy fascinating), dreadful filter coffee that I think must have been on for a week, no fruit or porridge or youghut and only orange juice available. Very minimal selection of cereals (only good for kids). No choice of toast you just get a slice each in a toast rack before they even take your order - who wants it then??? Also day 2 I ended up with no breakfast as despite being asked twice what we wanted twice the order was wrong and both times had bacon on the plate and being vegetarian this was unacceptable. I was so annoyed at this point but no aplology even. There is only one good point to this place and that is location HOWEVER there are so many B&B's in Bath all of which have got to be better than this.
Makesure you also take anything of value out with you when you go out during the day as when the rooms are being cleaned the doors are wedged open even if cleaner is not in the room- not very safe.
Anyone who has seen the episode of Only Fools and Horses where they have the Jolly Boys outing to Brighton and end up in Villa Bella well Villa Bella looks a palace in comparison to this place. We will be back to Bath at some point but will be staying at one of the other places that we scoped out while we were there.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank Cazzy0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We are very sorry you were unhappy with your stay although you said you were quite happy upon departure. We always take reviews seriously but the comments I do recognise as being about Lamppostvilla. I would point out all rooms are a 3 star standard awarded by Visit Britain. All rooms have also been refurbished. We have seven ingredients in a full cooked breakfast, six different cereals to choose from including porridge. There are grapefruit segments, apples and bananas as well as the usual fresh filter coffee and teas. We are sorry this is not enough for you. We do hope you come again and trust you enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here for two night while visiting the Christmas Markets. The B and B is dated and shabby. You have to pay up front on arrival so having payed for two days we stayed for two days but one night would have been enough! It is warm and clean and there is plenty of hot water but that's the only good part. When you enter it smells, the room was full of mis matched furniture and the one pillow was skinny and hard, the floor boards are noisy and you hear every movement from upstairs. If you want a fry up English breakfast you will be ok but no other cooked choice and limited cereals. It is advertised as three star, but it must be at the boarder of two star. We would not recommend.

Room Tip: If you must go stay at the back as it is on a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

we are sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay. We are a three star B&B and four star in sime areas awarded by visit britain. The house is Victorian, the floor board are are 140 years old. We would all begin to creak a bit at that age. The breakfast consists of premium quality, with a choice of seven cooked ingredients, a choice of six different cereals, white or brown toast, grapefruit segments, apples and bananas,Egberts filter coffee and various teas. Short of a five star banquet we are not sure what else we can offer at budget prices. The house is double glazed and traffic noise is minimal, as a city centre accommodation provider, we have little control over the vehicle numbers passing by. we have room deodorisers which give a pleasant odour, you made no mention of this and do understand what you mean by unpleasant smells? You told the manager how much you enjoyed your stay upon departure. We refurbish annually and have just completed a bathroom upgrade to five star standard. We would welcome you to return again and trust you enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I am currently staying at the Lamp Post for a long weekend in Bath. Several of the reviews on here are very unfair and to an extent misleading. As usual it's down to those who pay for 3 star and expect 5!!

The b&b is very close to the centre (10 min stroll) and has parking available which suited us perfectly. It's easy to find on the main road. We were greeted by David, who is a genuinely friendly man who showed us to our room and has given us tips on finding places to go and eat etc.

We are in the attic twin - no the decor may not be perfect but does that really matter!? The room is spotlessly clean, tidy with tea and coffee. Beds are warm and comfy and there is minimum traffic noise. Only two small points are there is no blind or curtain in the room, which would be nice for privacy and to block out the street lights at night, and the shower is a bit hit and miss - you either get arctic cold or searing hot!! The breakfast was beautifully cooked by David - it's fresh tasty and clearly good quality - not cheap rubbish as claimed in other reviews. Lots of cereal choices too, as well as fresh juices tea and coffee.

If you are looking for a very well priced, clean friendly b&b close to the centre this is perfect. Don't let the reviews on here put you off! If you want to pay 4 times the price for nicely painted walls then be my guest!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachelem89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your objective and fair review, it clearly reflects accurately who we are and what we offer. Please do come again and we will of course ensure you have a comfortable and friendly stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Just believe the reviews. I am 99% positive on my reviews but this is the 1%. The accommodation is cramped and smelly. There is a smell which is like a mixture of stale cigarette smoke and poor people. There are donkey sanctuaries that are probably more inviting. Book elsewhere.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
32  Thank Latino123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We are sorry that you were unable to offer a fair and objective review. Spurious and puerile remarks are unhelpful on review sites and we cannot respond accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked and received confirmation of the deluxe twin room in July through their advert on the Visit Bath website for a double special occasion. David called the day before to confirm arrival time, but no mention was made that we were not getting the room we expected. On arrival we had to pay in full before being shown to a tiny attic room with low slanted ceilings which we constantly banged our heads on. The deluxe room was taken and we had the choice to stay or go and try and find another room elsewhere which was impossible in the middle of July when everywhere but the most expensive hotels were fully booked. We felt ripped off and not getting what we expected did cast a black cloud over our weekend. We contacted the manager to complain and after a few emails he only offered 25% of one nights' stay as a refund, which was under £30. He also offered a few nights' stay but we will never use that. It's now November and I still have no refund and my emails are now being ignored. I have been a hotel manager and this is no way to treat your customers. Disgraceful and fraudulent advertising.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
31  Thank 486Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

The room you booked was a superior twin which came via a booking agency. This room had been allocated and should not have been offered offered by the booking agent, we offered you the other twin room with a 25% discount which you accepted happily as we had no other rooms available. You made no complaint at all upon departure. You then emailed and asked for a further discount and I offered you another 25% plus two free nights accommodation at your convenience. We could not process the additional discount as your card had expired and we requested new card details which we are still awaiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lamppost Villa is extremely convenient, a 6 minute walk to the centre, with a bus stop outside.

This Victorian house is no oil painting and reminded me of a small seaside B&B in Blackpool. Our twin room was compact, with pretty basic furnishing, with NVQ level 1 decor. OK beds, heating and hot water. Breakfast was fine, with cereals, eggs, sausage and bacon and unlimited toast. No complaints from me. But no yoghurt, which perplexed some German visitors. (whom David tried to help get to Bristol by bus, as it was much cheaper than by the train they were planning).


Over 4 days we had no problems. David seemed pretty willing, replacing a couple of light bulbs when asked and producing marmalade on request....but shouldn't it have been on the table in the first place?

Nice touch was the use of a hotel parking permit, valid for the local area, so one could park pretty close to the centre, assuming you could find a resident's slot.

Reading TA, it must be murder trying to keep guests satisfied, especially if they expect 5 star accomodation at 3 star prices. Having said that, owner/managers might do worse that walk around their property and see it from a visitor's perspective. After all, following the breakfast rush, there should be time until the afternoon check in.......

Lampost Villa took us for 4 nights at short notice, moving guests so we didn't have to.

Doubtless, there are better appointed B&B's, and more expesive,but we didn't have time to search for one !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nykwilkyins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamppostvilla, Owner at Lamp Post Villa B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are, as you said a three star B&B offering convenient accommodation close to the city centre. We have just completed an upgrade of bathrooms to a five star standard. The beds are clean with orthopaedic matresses, very comfortable, with the breakfast of premium quality. As you have correctly stated, the management are very helpful and accommodating. Yes there are much more expensive four and five star establishments, which on average cost twice as much. Thank you for your objectivity and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 155 in Bath
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#47 of 155 in Bath
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#35 of 155 in Bath
294 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 155 in Bath
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Post Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Post Villa B&B

Address: 3 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £65 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Post Villa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamp Post Villa is an elegant Victorian Townhouse offering quality en-suite B&B accommodation with car parking in the center of Bath. Located just a few minutes walk from the city center, we cater for tourists and business people alike and aim to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The friendliest B&B in Bath. Just ten minutes walk from the bus station and likewise ten minutes from Bath Spa train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lamp Post Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Villa Bed And Breakfast
Lamp Post Villa Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing