We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned pub”
Review of The Pulteney Arms

The Pulteney Arms
Ranked #109 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional friendly pub serving British homemade and locally sourced food, including: beer battered fish and chips, local sausage and mash, local game when in season, lamb rump, steak onglet. We offer vegetarian specials. Our Chef likes to create an ever-changing menu and makes all our desserts. If you just enjoy a pint or glass of wine we can offer a range of prices. We try to offer a wine deal every week. For your comfort in the colder weather we have a log burner!
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned pub”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Not a trendy, themed tourist pub but a small gem of a local - with good beer and a friendly atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heritageman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    45
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of Baths real pubs”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Top pub for atmosphere and pubiness. There are not many like this about and they need keeping. Don't let it change!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A taste of England”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Pulteney Arms is tucked around the corner from the grand Pulteney St, which passes the rugby ground before taking you into the city center five minutes walk away. It's a locals' pub and when I visit my parents, when I'm over from the US, I always drop by. The beer is great, there is always a convivial buzz, and the food is solid (as far as I recall). It can get busy, especially if there is a game on locally, but this is as typical an English pub as you will find and you should add it to the list when visiting Bath. In contrast, many of the city center pubs, while traditional, are touristy and/or crowded with excessively lubricated locals. And if you are renting an apartment on vacation, there is a launderette down the street, so you can put your clothes in the washing machine and enjoy a good ale or two while you wait.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westfield_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food but a few dissapointments”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

There were five of us (2 adults, 2 children and a toddler). Unfortunately they do not supply a high chair which meant the adults struggled to eat our lunch in peace.

The food was really good, so hats off to the chef. the waiting staff looked like students and there was no attempt at a uniform, which I think would have made the place feel a lot better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was our first trip following reading a recommendation in Bath Life - and we were not disappointed.

Great, simple, tasty roasts. The sort of food you hope to find in a nice local pub but often don't.

We are looking forward to return soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BroughtonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pulteney Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Pulteney Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing