We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and welcoming!”
Review of The Griffin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Griffin Inn
Ranked #49 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and welcoming!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Griffin Inn recently with our 11 week old son. The accommodation was all we had hoped for, warm and comfortable - with excellent proximity to Bath centre. The huge plus was the staff however - who were amazingly friendly and attentive to our every need. After a minor issue with our room key - they refused to let us pay for our accommodation for the night. They were constantly attentive to our wellbeing, and took a genuine interest in all customers of the inn. Overall they made our trip an extremely memorable time, and as we were very happy with the facilities and services of the accommodation - we will certainly be visiting again!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeGrehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    101
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
27
123
42
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here a couple of times now - its an oldy worldy quirky place. Great location, friendly staff, good beer, nice small cosy rooms and comfy beds - all you could want and free wifi. Food not bad, pub grub style. Breakfast good in the morning, choice of cereal and fresh cooked breakfast to order. Nice strong tea too. Would stay here again although I do think it is a bit overpriced but I guess that's because of the location.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank monkeyoxrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My two sons and my granddaughter took me to The Griffin for a Mother's Day lunch. Wow - it was fantastic. Good quality, locally sourced food which was beautifully cooked and presented. I guess this is an undiscovered gem as the tables were far from full even though it was Mother's Day. It seems you can only rate The Griffin Inn as a B&B (hence my ratings below on rooms and sleep quality) but, if you haven't already been for food only, make sure you book in soon - it's too good to be missed!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffordBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

A nice, clean, comfortable B&B in a great location. The building is old, has great history and great use has been made of the space. The bedrooms are comfortable and clean and the shower was powerful, easy to figure out and clean as a whistle.
Service is the issue here with the self styled 4 star rating - achingly cool hipsters might be fun to spend time with as people, they're probably very charming, but it's awfully tiresome watching and waiting while they wrestle with with the till, the coffee machine, the basic tools of the job.
Decent place, and if the location suits then book it, but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LidlPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is our second stay and this time we took friends with us. Still a fabulous experience. The welcome was first class. Our bags were taken to our rooms for us. A welcome drink was offered. We ended up having a meal there for our first night. The rooms were lovely, very clean and modern. Lovely en suites with lots of hot water and a powerful shower. Breakfast is very nice with a wide and flexible choice on the menu. Close walk to the central attractions of Bath. Cannot praise enough and will definitely return to The Griffin Inn. Love to you all. Penny and Gary. Room 7.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peejaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here over the New Year period with wife, baby daughter and several friends. Staff were extremely friendly, accomodating and genuine especially Ade and the part time Chef( forgotten his name sorry). Nothing was too much trouble for them and there were nice little touches like having the highchair out on the table for brekfast every morning but also providing a bigger room to fit our travel cot.

Brekfast itself was most probably the best I have had in any UK establishment. A good selection of fresh Fruit, toast, several cereals, yogurts, orange juice and several jars of high end preserves. What made the brekfast was the cooked hot brekfast, fresh to order, sourced locally and again much choice and variety here. Simply amazing scrambled eggs for which the chef kindly gave me the recipe.

You cant really get a more perfect location so within a minute walk you are in central Bath. The Inn itself is mainly used by locals so provides a very welcoming and friendly ambience and does not get overly busy so you will always find a seat. They provide a fantastic selection of local ales, cider and wines, even the house wine was very good, which is not normally the case with most establishments. We found the food offerings so good that we mainly ate at the Griffin, Definitely several cuts above the normal pub food with quality sourced ingredients freshly made to order.

I noticed that some previous guests have commented on the narrow winding stair cases, as a man of quite big build, I did not find this an issue and was perfectly able to carry the pushchair up and down without any inconvenience. The Inn is a period building and this is the charm of staying here. You feel part of the history.

We actually delayed our return home and stayed an extra night which was a very last minute decision made on the morning of our original departure! This shows how much we loved the place!

We are already planning another trip there in the Summer.

The Griffin Inn is certainly a home away from home so well done on the food, decor and your staff.

Well worth a visit for anyone whom wants to stay in a historical building with all the modern conveniences and great staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Lovely little pub with rooms located just off the city centre, max 5 mins walk in!

Pub can be loud at night, but it does close by 12. Personally I found the most noise to be in the morning, with doors slamming from about 7am!

Rooms was small, no telephone - this is a standard 3* requirement for tourist boards, which led me to discover that the '4*' grading is self-issued. Room was clean, but could be cleaner, however nice hot shower with good water pressure!

Would highly recommend the food, however they don't serve on a Sat night! Bar staff all (but one on our second night) very friendly and eager to get on with guests. We were a little disappointed with the bar lady on the second (Sat) night who seemed more interested in her phone and one customer in particular?!

Don't think this place would suit everyone, however we found it perfect for our needs, and when we come back to Bath we will certainly be booking to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treacle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin Inn

Property: The Griffin Inn
Address: Monmouth Street, Bath BA1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Griffin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At nearly 300 years old, The Griffin Inn has never looked so good - founded in 1730, it has changed a lot since then - comfortable en-suite rooms, free wifi & a wholesome breakfast, delicious fresh cooked food, 18 craft ales & ciders and a wine list fit for a king! Welcome to our Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Griffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing