We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location & Friendly and Welcoming”
Review of The Griffin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Griffin Inn
Ranked #48 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location & Friendly and Welcoming”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed here one night on an impromptu trip to Bath. I had a single room with a private exterior bathroom. Everyone was very nice. I was hot and tried after travelling. My room was up a few flights of stairs but Wayne carried my bag up for me which was grately apprecatied. Breakfast was included which was also very nice. The location is within 10 minutes of the train station. Roman Bath, Thermae Spa are all within walking distance. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I had room 8 which was a single room. My window faced the street and I did get a little noise but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    101
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
27
123
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My daughter and I booked one night here (a Thursday) as a stop off on a few days cycling. I wasn't sure what to expect but was very pleasantly surprised.

Staff were great and very accommodating. We loved the twin room - comfy beds, powerful shower and decent hot chocolate.
Location was perfect for exploring the city and we didn't find it noisy in the evening.

As others have commented, the breakfast is excellent. All fresh, local and organic - and tasty too! Decent coffee, fresh orange juice, tasty preserves ..... we didn't want to leave.

I'm sure this won't be our last visit here.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Awesome location, slap bang in the city centre. I had a single room for £99 including a terrific full English breakfast. I had the smallest room - a real single with a small bed - but it was perfect with everything I needed for an overnight stay. But it's the staff who make the Griffin so special - all of them helpful and smiling and nothing was too much trouble. Great selection of real ales in the pub downstairs - you couldn't ask for a better base in Bath.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I came to the Griffin Inn for an afternoon after sightseeing in Bath. The range of real ales is fantastic and there was a superb cider too. The staff were both friendly and knowledgeable and recommended some great things to do while I was in Bath. Sadly I didn't eat here but I will return to this pub when I am next in Bath.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azza116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I am spending a week at the griffin due to doing a training course in the local area. The griffin inn is is lovely traditional pub with a good selection of draught ales, beers, ciders and malts. The pub itself was renovated in August 2009 and has been tastefully modernised . The staff were a delight and the friendly banter made my stay very enjoyable. Guests need to remind themselves this building is late 18th century and therefore the rooms are not huge and the ceilings are low but to their credit they have spent money on the furnishings and bathrooms as Good as you would expect in mainstream hotels. Breakfasts provided either your traditional full English or bacon/ sausage sandwiches as well as smoked salmon and scrambled egg bagels. Naturally you had a choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts. My only disappointment was that evening food was not available but you are situated very close to kingsmead square (100 metres) which offers an array of choices Indian,Thai, Chinese, traditional English. They were fully booked whilst I was there and this is justified by the relaxed, friendly feel to the venue. Yes previous reviewers have discussed the noise in the evening. Remember, you are above a pub, and secondly you are in a city centre venue so bear those in mind when your booking. If you want a silent night, don't book a venue I the centre of a major city. That said, it was a very pleasant stay and I believe the benefits of the venue outlay the lack of an evening meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here for one night and found The Griffin Inn to be an excellent choice. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming, the pub downstairs modern, with a cool atmosphere, attracting a good crowd in the evenings. The rooms were very clean with a powerful shower, a little crumbly round the edges and a bit dark, but a comfy, clean bed, perfect for a night's sleep after a full day's sightseeing and a night out.
The location is very close to the city centre - everything within walking distance which is fantastic for days and nights out in Bath - but not so great in that it was quite noisy during the night with party-goers shouting in the street! But maybe we were just unlucky with it being the first night of a Bank Holiday weekend.
The breakfast was wonderful and excellent value - a huge choice of cooked, tasty food. (Recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled egg bagel).
No parking for cars - a pay and display about 10 minutes' walk away which was OK for a one night stay, but very pricey if you were staying longer.
Overall, we would highly recommend this B&B for a weekend away in Bath.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Em1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Griffin Inn recently with our 11 week old son. The accommodation was all we had hoped for, warm and comfortable - with excellent proximity to Bath centre. The huge plus was the staff however - who were amazingly friendly and attentive to our every need. After a minor issue with our room key - they refused to let us pay for our accommodation for the night. They were constantly attentive to our wellbeing, and took a genuine interest in all customers of the inn. Overall they made our trip an extremely memorable time, and as we were very happy with the facilities and services of the accommodation - we will certainly be visiting again!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeGrehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Harington's City Hotel
0.2 mi away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin Inn

Property: The Griffin Inn
Address: Monmouth Street, Bath BA1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Griffin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At nearly 300 years old, The Griffin Inn has never looked so good - founded in 1730, it has changed a lot since then - comfortable en-suite rooms, free wifi & a wholesome breakfast, delicious fresh cooked food, 18 craft ales & ciders and a wine list fit for a king! Welcome to our Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Griffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing