We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Central Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Salcombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best place to stay in Central Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed at The Halcyon in September and its a great central hotel.Easy walking to all of the sights of Bath and right next to a Taxi rank. I was on the top floor so it was pretty quiet and away from the traffic.
The staff are delightful and friendly and helpful.Special thanks to Frank and Katrin in reception for arranging my flowers and also the 2 Katies for breakfast and bar service.
There was a new waitress at breakfast and i hope she is still there as she made a special effort to be helpful and show a newcomer how the self service system worked.
The Circo Bar( cocktails and lovely bubbly) is a real treat and must be visited. Thanks to Bella for the pre dinner cocktail treats and the excellent service.

Room Tip: Lower floors mean less steps but higher rooms are away from the traffic/late night noise. Its only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    352
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
653
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Our room was delightful with a lovely view. The staff were friendly, helpful and informative. We had a fantastic full English breakfast with locally sourced ingredients. The bed was super comfortable and the room was very clean and well kept. I highly recommend it to anyone going to bath, it's also located a 4 minute walk from the station.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbalogun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We have just stayed here for one night.The room was very small with nowhere to sit except on the bed.The bathroom was very small but spotlessly clean and white company toiletries which were lovely.The staff were really helpful.The breakfast room (which is the bar in the evening) I thought was rather different and again small.The breakfast was also continental but adequate.The location of the hotel is brilliant and the car park (which you have to pay for) is adjacent to the hotel.Parking is free from 8pm to 8am £12.50 for extra 12 hours.If you are leaving about 11am I think it is about £2.It goes up in payment stages.The room was very hot so we opened the window only to be woken up by students who were drunk shouting out abuse in the street.There is a fan in the room so we could have used that.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I spent two nights at this hotel and I am 100% convinced that I will come back and also strongly recommend it to my friends! Front desk personnell and especially the hotel manager Mr, Hector Main, were real proffessionals, friendly and very helpful. The room was tastefully decorated and very clean thus setting off the fact that ,beeing in the back, it had no view. The bar area in the basement was very nice and the staff made you feel at home! Very good breakfast was served in the same area which looked very bright and cheering in the morning. Adding to all this the hotel is few minutes walk from the train station and the numerous attractions of this beautiful city. I have been in Bath several times before but I must say that in terms fo service and hospitality,this was my best hotel experience in Bath !

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Walking distance from the train, and we were able to walk everywhere in Bath from the hotel. Very clean, great staff, great recommendations, and amazing downstairs bar. Bella the bartender, and all the staff, were absolutely so entertaining and you just want to go back again and again! Breakfasts are delicious and there is something for everyone. Just loved our stay. Coming from NYC we are not impressed so easily, but were felt we could not have for d a better place. Hope we come back someday!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CharlieK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We spent four nights at this hotel in room 2.1. I would like to give it a five star excellent rating but am only giving it a four star rating because in our room there was no place to put our clothes...no shelf, no dresser, no table. There was a tiny desk in front of a mirror with a clothes rack above it with some hangers but if you hang your clothes, the desk becomes not usable. We basically lived out of our suitcases.

That said, we loved the place in all other respects. Nice room (in the back so quiet but no view). The service was superb...we arrived early in the morning and they held our suitcases while we did some touring. When we came back to check in, they had already put our suitcases in our room. The beds were very comfortable and the room nicely decorated and the bathroom had a wonderful shower. If you are there on a weekend you get a wonderful English breakfast...a continental breakfast is served weekdays and it is also very good. The people running the front desk were very friendly and of great help in telling us what to see and do and where to eat. The location is ideal...not far from the train and bus station and not far from the Abbey and the Roman Baths. Highly recommend it and am sure some of the other rooms have a place for you to put your clothes.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter but no view; ask for a room with a dresser for your clothes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Room 1.6 and the staff person Frank were over the top great!..Frank carried my heavy suitcase up and down the stairs. Room 1.6 was tastefully decorated and clean; had a rain shower, a big bed and nice light. It was quiet and all by itself on the first floor with a big window. There were lovely White Company bath products. The hotel is within a 2 min walk of the train stn; a 10 min walk of the Thermal Bath spa where you can swim in a rooftop swimming pool fed by geothermal waters; and go down into the steambaths with eucalyptus and lemon grass scents well into the evening. Then you can come back to your hotel and eat great Thai food just around the corner from your room and drink in the basement of the hotel. There is also a really good internet cafe that serves wonderful latte near the train stn that will store your luggage should you move on for awhile. This was my best hotel experience in England. There is also a really good breakfast in the a.m. in the bar area in the basement-- eggs, yogurt and fruit, juice, pastries, pots of coffee served by cheery staff and daily newspapers to read. Shopping is also fun and the heritage buildings, ie. Bath Abbey, and the residential buildings are something to see.

Room Tip: Room 1.6 is quiet and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel

Property: The Halcyon Hotel
Address: 15a George Street, Bath BA1 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath, England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing