We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and a little quirky”
Review of The Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location and a little quirky”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great location, smart, efficient check in staff. Room that I had (2.2) was a little small, but very clean and tidy.
Only gripe was the noise from the street, but hey, that's not the Hotel's fault.
Great bar, nice outside drinking/eating terrace.
Really rather impressed with this place!

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room at the back of the hotel, if you want a quieter nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doolally_w7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    352
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
654
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked a cocktail masterclass for a party of 10 ladies,what a great evening ! The Circo Bar is centrally situated an ideal venue. Our host Grant was very knowledgable and kept us laughing all the way through.We would love to do it all again soon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pevensey Bay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A lovely hotel, very centrally located. Staff were so friendly, even left us a card in our room congratulating us on our recent nuptials. Rooms were compact, with hanging space in the room over the desk, which I thought was a little strange as there was a wardrobe big enough to hold an open suitcase but with no hanging rail. Shower room very clean and modern, with lovely amenities. Continental breakfast was of the highest quality, with cooked option for a small premium at the weekend. Great fun watching the 'egg thief', who kept stealing other peoples boiled eggs from the egg bath, and then complaining to the staff that the egg bath wasn't working properly when she cracked open 'her' egg and it would run all over her plate!

If you parking, download the parking payment app to your iPhone to avoid stressing about putting money in the machine.

Room Tip: If you want to see life, ask for a front facing room, but Saturday nights can be busy. This didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j8rda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Close to the main attractions and shopping areas of bath.

But it's noisy. It's in a busy area with lots of passing trade and has a buzzing bar downstairs that goes on into the early hours, fine if you're in there. Less so if you're in bed.

The breakfast is in the bar. Nicely set out with lots of choice. But dry scrambled egg and under cooked bacon.

It has no residents parking and the pay and display across the way is £12.50 for 24 hrs

The rooms are definitely small as is the shower room. There is no wardrobe just a hanging rail but the beds are comfy and plenty pillows etc

It isn't a cheap stay either, and all told didn't seem good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked this hotel last minute after deciding to take a last minute over-night trip to Bath from London. The hotel is walking distance from the train station as you can quite literally see it from the station. Upon entering hotel, you can tell that it is well appointed as it is tidy and neat, as well as being immediately greeted by the front desk staff. Staff were informative and helpful and were able to offer some recommendations for restaurants. Our room was located on the 2nd floor, facing the street. It had everything that we needed and was clean and tidy. Our only gripe was that it did not have air conditioning and became kind of warm and musty at night, despite our leaving the windows open and having the fan going. The bed was comfortable and was just what we needed after exploring Bath all day by foot. It is walking distance to everything and has lovely park right next door. The breakfast in the morning was great as well and offered everything you might want in the morning. All in all, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dratti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our stay at the Halcyon in Bath, UK was a lovely experience. The hotel is wonderfully located, very comfortable with a marvellous breakfast provided and the staff we dealt with were superb. Firstly Malika looked after our needs extremely well when we checked in and was superb at offering advice on what to see while in Bath. Then the following morning we had Emily look after us in consummate fashion making sure we were well set up with breakfast and a more local knowledge.
I cannot speak highly enough about the service we received at the Halcyon and how pleasant Malika and Emily made our stay in the beautiful city of Bath. Thank you, Peter Stevens, Auckland, New Zealand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

One night stay-over for a friend's wedding in Bath.

Room compact but has everything you need; go for first floor at the front for good views.

We LOVE the shower temperature and water pressure.

Staff friendly; breakfast on a par with the best.

SB

Room Tip: First floor at the front;
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0nandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel

Property: The Halcyon Hotel
Address: 2/3 South Parade, Bath BA2 4AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath, England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing