We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Okay but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I suppose as Bath is a historical town you have to forgive a few things but the hotel could do with some maintenance and TLC.

It was nothing too bad but would choose another option next time.

The breakfast was very disorganised and a lot of things ran out early and were not replaced. It was a little annoying that you couldn't charge anything from the bar to the room even though the bar was part of the hotel.

The room was very hot and stuffy and a bit noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    352
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
653
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed her for one night last night and had to review it as it was such a great experience.

Location wise it's so ideal just two minutes from the station and ideal to get to the shopping area and all the restaurants. We got to the hotel two hours before check in so they offered to store our bags so we could grab something to eat and look around.
We had room on the second floor at the front and it had all the essentials along with optional extras like smarties and cookies - a great fun touch! The bathroom and room itself were compact and clean and just right for our one night stay. The bed was super comfy and even had a a ho tater bottle! We found The White Company hand and moisturisers a great touch and highly addictive to use! The room was quiet at night despit us being at the front. The shower was amazing and towels were provided along with a shower cap.

We were given a large map of he town centre and askd if anything reservations could be mad. We also we're given 10% off card for the hotel bar - Circo. Emily checked us in and was very informative and friendly making us feel very welcome letting us know where everything in the hotel was.

We took advantage of the hotel bar which was very cosy and busy on a cold night. The bar staff were polite and made us some lovely cocktails, I recommend the Bella! It was nice to just be ble to hop back upstairs to our room after!

Breakfast is held In the Circo bar downstairs and although there's no cooked breakfast on offer it was all very delicious and inviting. There's cereals, pastries, bread, toast machine, fruit, yogurts and boiled eggs. Immaculate table settings with flowers in a room peppered with sumptuous soft furnishings made breakfast a delight to come down to.
Check is at 1100, though we left our bags at the hotel till 3pm when our train was departing, which was a great help to us, instead of lugging them around.
Cannot recommend this hotel enough, perfect antidote to the massive hotels claiming to be
luxury when they fall short in terms of service. Get to Halcyon now!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauramalteser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Small, clean hotel with very helpful staff (Malika and Bob). Great breakfast and cocktail bar with live jazz on one of the evenings. Ideal location for the centre of Bath with a good choice of restaurants and cafes within easy reach. Would definitely stay again but only with people who could manage the steep stairs.

Room Tip: We had a small, low-ceilinged quiet at the top of the building. Quite a steep climb - no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63JFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights here while visiting Bath. I would rate this a 4 star hotel. Clean, nicely updated, great location, and the staff were amazing. Malika was amazing and Bob too. Nice breakfast included - tea, coffee, fruit, juices, cereal toast etc. boiled eggs, cheese and hams. Circo Bar and lounge is downstairs and we had a great night there too.

I would stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LONMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Having stayed at the Halcyon Hotel with my husband on an earlier visit to Bath and been very impressed, I was delighted to hear that the Halcyon was also opening these self-catered apartments. Perfect for us when travelling with our two small children (3 and 1). We received a lovely email from Katrin a few days prior to our visit offering to provide a tonne of kids' stuff (highchair, change mat, wipes, cutlery...even plug socket inserts - perfect for my 1 year old!) making my packing and travelling much easier. Upon our arrival at the apartments, we were given a very warm welcome from Katrin and shown round the apartment. We stayed in apartment number 2, a two floor, two bedroom apartment at the top of the building with great views over the rooftops of Bath. The apartment definitely had a WOW factor about it - a huge amount of effort has obviously gone into the decor with lots of quirky but beautiful pieces. At the same time though, the apartment was extremely comfortable and homely - huge sofas covered in cushions and thick feather duvets on the beds. A perfect combination for anyone wanting style even when travelling with the kids. The apartment was also very spacious - lots of room for our two to bound around.
I was particularly impressed with how well stocked the kitchen was - all the things that you always forget when you self cater and which places never provide were there - dishcloths, fairy liquid, dishwasher tablets etc. That said, we were pretty lazy and had dinner and breakfast in Clayton's Kitchen next door, both of which were delicious.
In all, I couldn't recommend these apartments more to anyone who is after something luxurious but more flexible and spacious than a hotel. Perfect for us as a family but also great for groups of families or friends (there are I believe 6 other apartments in the block).

Room Tip: Great views from apartment number two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Apparently we were the first through the door of The Halcyon Apartments and wow have they done a great job. They are spacious, swish and decked out with everything you could need for a brilliant weekend in this beautiful city. We travelled with our toddler and baby and called ahead (as per their blurb suggests) to pre-arrange the travel cot, changing mat, kiddie cutlery, crockery and highchair so we didn't have to arrive hamstrung! Katrin greeted us very warmly and explained how the kitchen (fully equipped with all the bells and whistles) worked. One very nice touch were the Paddington Bears waiting for the kiddies along with hand-written notes welcoming them to Bath and The Halcyon - a BIG hit with our toddler!

The bed was super comfortable and were it not for our tiny alarm clocks, I could have snoozed til noon. The hotel arranged baby-sitters for us so we could make the most of Clayton's Kitchen at The Porter next door. Fab food and drink and again the decor and attention to detail hit the spot.

For me, these apartments are definitely a great option for families who don't want to all be squeezed into one small bedroom. We had more than enough room for some elegant slumming on the Sunday and the kitchen means you can have more freedom than you might at a hotel. Gets the thumbs up and some from me.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment 3, but having had a squiz at the others, I was impressed by them all. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

we stayed in the hotel for one weekend in january. we stayed in a very cosy, small and quiet room with two separate beds. the receptionists, Emily, was really nice and organized every thing for us, gave us some very useful tips about restaurants and booked them as well. the continental breakfast was very good and the atmosphere in the room (in the evenings night bar) was really relaxed and nice to have an enjoyable, long breakfast in.

Room Tip: ask for a quite big one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel

Property: The Halcyon Hotel
Address: 15a George Street, Bath BA1 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath, England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing