We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy but not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Noisy but not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a very central small hotel which unusually for Bath takes single night booking at the weekend. Our first floor room was cosy or to put it another way,tiny. The dividing walls to the next room have no sound insulation at all so they may as well have joined us. The biggest downside however is the fact that the basement turns into a bar/club at night and the music goes on until late which does not make for a relaxing stay. The staff are friendly and attentive and there was an impressive full English breakfast on Sunday .

Room Tip: Try for an upper floor to get away from the noise of the basement bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westernroadtripper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    352
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
653
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great position and great staff. The young lady (Malika?) on reception was brilliant. Our rooms were on the small side but still very comfortable. We only had breakfast here but that was excellent. The club underneath the hotel was great fun and made our long weekend VERY enjoyable.Reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Room 2.5 is small but very quiet at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctwrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed at the Halcyon for one night in January with my sister and couldn't fault absolutely anything. After reading mixed comments I wasn't really expecting much but the reality definitely exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a twin room which was very clean, cosy and had nice size. Bathroom was lovely with a great shower. Hotel's location is perfect, only few minutes walk to the Bath Abbey, shops and train station. Breakfast didn't disappoint either with quite a lot to chose from. Staff was very friendly and always willing to p help. Highly recommended hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I suppose as Bath is a historical town you have to forgive a few things but the hotel could do with some maintenance and TLC.

It was nothing too bad but would choose another option next time.

The breakfast was very disorganised and a lot of things ran out early and were not replaced. It was a little annoying that you couldn't charge anything from the bar to the room even though the bar was part of the hotel.

The room was very hot and stuffy and a bit noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed her for one night last night and had to review it as it was such a great experience.

Location wise it's so ideal just two minutes from the station and ideal to get to the shopping area and all the restaurants. We got to the hotel two hours before check in so they offered to store our bags so we could grab something to eat and look around.
We had room on the second floor at the front and it had all the essentials along with optional extras like smarties and cookies - a great fun touch! The bathroom and room itself were compact and clean and just right for our one night stay. The bed was super comfy and even had a a ho tater bottle! We found The White Company hand and moisturisers a great touch and highly addictive to use! The room was quiet at night despit us being at the front. The shower was amazing and towels were provided along with a shower cap.

We were given a large map of he town centre and askd if anything reservations could be mad. We also we're given 10% off card for the hotel bar - Circo. Emily checked us in and was very informative and friendly making us feel very welcome letting us know where everything in the hotel was.

We took advantage of the hotel bar which was very cosy and busy on a cold night. The bar staff were polite and made us some lovely cocktails, I recommend the Bella! It was nice to just be ble to hop back upstairs to our room after!

Breakfast is held In the Circo bar downstairs and although there's no cooked breakfast on offer it was all very delicious and inviting. There's cereals, pastries, bread, toast machine, fruit, yogurts and boiled eggs. Immaculate table settings with flowers in a room peppered with sumptuous soft furnishings made breakfast a delight to come down to.
Check is at 1100, though we left our bags at the hotel till 3pm when our train was departing, which was a great help to us, instead of lugging them around.
Cannot recommend this hotel enough, perfect antidote to the massive hotels claiming to be
luxury when they fall short in terms of service. Get to Halcyon now!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauramalteser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Small, clean hotel with very helpful staff (Malika and Bob). Great breakfast and cocktail bar with live jazz on one of the evenings. Ideal location for the centre of Bath with a good choice of restaurants and cafes within easy reach. Would definitely stay again but only with people who could manage the steep stairs.

Room Tip: We had a small, low-ceilinged quiet at the top of the building. Quite a steep climb - no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 63JFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights here while visiting Bath. I would rate this a 4 star hotel. Clean, nicely updated, great location, and the staff were amazing. Malika was amazing and Bob too. Nice breakfast included - tea, coffee, fruit, juices, cereal toast etc. boiled eggs, cheese and hams. Circo Bar and lounge is downstairs and we had a great night there too.

I would stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LONMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel

Property: The Halcyon Hotel
Address: 15a George Street, Bath BA1 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath, England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing