We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Halcyon Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Truro
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Fantastic and friendly hotel, all staff very helpful , rooms very comfortable and superb linen. Would definitely recommend. Location could not be better 5 minute walk to centre and parking opposite...


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    352
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
653
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Loved every thing about the Halycon, from our room to the service we received and the beautiful breakfast we got served. Luxury bedding and gorgeous ensuite bathroom made our stay dreamy. Parking is single storey NCP out front of hotel so cost a bit but would cost the same throughout Bath.
Within minutes walk of all top sightseeing attractions in Bath, Roman Baths, Spa, Shops etc and ideally located for bars, restaurants and to hop on the Bath city tour bus. Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blythe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in the hotel for one night's stay to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. We had a very pleasant stay - the room was comfortable, the staff were exceptionally friendly, the continental breakfast of excellent quality, and the cocktails in the Circo Bar to die for. Brilliant position for city centre and Bath Spa station. Well done all round!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Dr N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for our tenth wedding anniversary in their apartment.
The lady who greeted us was really professional, helpful- she showed us around and how everything worked and gave us some advice about the area!
The apartment is furnished to a high standard, it was a really peaceful retreat for a few days!
Great location, great rooms, great staff:
Only slight let down was the breakfast in the adjacent restaurant - it was ok but drinks were not offered and so we had to ask for coffee, the sausages weren't well cooked but it absolutely didn't spoil our stay.
I would highly recommend the rooms and would choose again if we return to bath.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankieandmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We traveled extensively around the UK, and the Halcyon was one of the loveliest places we stayed. Every detail felt just a little more select and special -- not necessarily more expensive, just more thoughtful and lovely, from the tea service in the room to the decor to the comfort of the beds. The internet was fast and simple to log onto. The food was spectacular and the central location in Bath was lovely, we spent all our spare time just walking around the city, no car or transit required. Yet since we faced the plaza and the river, there was no late night/early morning city noise.

We were unwieldy travelers, bearing music gear for our tour and very heavy luggage that sometimes had to be watched before/after our checkin. We had become used to people enduring our extra requests with some disdain, but at the Halcyon, the staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating, and we felt so at home there by the end. Emily, Artur, and Malika in particular went above and beyond helping us with our odd hours, odd needs, and heavy luggage.

Will absolutely seek out this place again, I have found my stay in Bath and I don't feel the need to look anywhere else for lodging there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We chose a Bath Hotel to see the sights and visit the Roman Baths - The Halcyon is very well positioned to walk in to the centre of Bath - no need for Taxis and the River Avon is close by. The Hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean but not much room between the bottom of the bed and the TV. Car parking was difficult so I recommend coming by train.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Milan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Arriving at the Halcyon apartments, we were so impressed by the decor, cleanliness, spaciousness and convenience. Location is perfect for Bath. The 2 rooms had washer/dryer, large TV and coffee/espresso maker. They even had milk in the fridge.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arthur-from-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel

Property: The Halcyon Hotel
Address: 15a George Street, Bath BA1 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath, England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing