We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Halcyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Halcyon Hotel
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed at the Halycon for a night as a birthday treat, and what a treat it was! The owner was friendly and welcoming and went out of his way to make sure our stay was as enjoyable and relaxing as it could possibly be. On entering the hotel, we were immediately impressed with its modern, smart appearance. This then continued through to the very clean bedroom which catered for all our needs. Loved the fact that we could access many TV channels and the quaint jars of nuts, gummi bears and smarties were a lovely added touch. Breakfast didn't disappoint either with a charming 'boil your own egg' experience. (8 mins is perfection apparently!) From our arrival right through to our departure, we received wonderful hospitality and if ever needing accommodation in Bath in the future, we would know exactly where to head. This truly was an exceptional and unfaultable experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsqueek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    352
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
137
653
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

If you are in any doubt whether or not to stay at the Halcyon, then don’t be! It is a wonderful boutique hotel in a superb location. Our room was not large, but it was very tastefully decorated with superb sound-proofing and an unfeasibly comfortable bed. However, we didn’t travel all the way to Bath to spend hours and hours in the room; it was a base for us to explore the city and somewhere where we could rest after a long trek around the sites and shops and for that it was perfect.

We loved the reception/bar which was very comfortable and immediately upon arrival it gave us the sense of cosiness and personality that we like; it certainly is not an ‘out of a mould’ chain hotel.

Our room had a large cupboard, which was unfortunately bereft of shelving, but apart from that suited us perfectly. The bathroom was well equipped and the shower was amazing.

The pricing of the rooms is just right with it targeting people who like that little bit of luxury you don’t get in a city centre-based budget hotel, without hitting the wallet hard.
I have to say hats off to Hector and Lucy who worked tirelessly, and successfully, to make sure our weekend was relaxing and enjoyable.

We have already recommended the Halcyon to friends and family and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayPeaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Stayed with my wife on Tuesday 20.4.10 after being grounded by the icelandic volcano so opted for UK break instead of a foreign trip. Lovely people and very clean smart but tiny room (1.3) and why is the TV on the 'side' wall so when in bed you have to twist?

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCheshire100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehalcyon, Owner at The Halcyon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2010
We thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stayed – we are sorry that you felt the room was a little small. Your comments have been taken seriously and although we can’t change the size of the room we are already trying to change the location of the plasma TV so that it is more convenient. We are really pleased you gave your feedback so that we can make the changes that are needed for future guests.

Room 1.3 is our smallest standard room (From £99), although compact, it does have the same little luxuries of even our biggest rooms. Our aim at the hotel is to give heart of the city location, great quality fittings with contemporary style, really comfy beds, luxury linens and products at a price that is light on the wallet compared to other Bath hotels – a few of the standard rooms are compact but we feel we offer great value for money for those wanting a stylish hotel in the city centre of Bath.

Again, we thank you for your feedback and we hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

We stayed 3 nights in a room on the 1st floor front and can find no fault. The position of the hotel is a short walk to the Railway Station (Who would want to drive in Bath) and to all the historic attractions. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The receptionist did carry my wife's bag up and showed us to our room. Breakfasts are continental but substantial and if one is desperate for a Full English there are plenty of choices nearby. The rooms are clean and cosy as you would expect in a small boutique hotel in the center of Bath. Clothes storage is a little eccentric especially if you are short but worked for us. We do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marchant47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

in a city full of trad. hotels,The Halcyon has decided to sit apart.from the stylish bar/bfast room,to the individual bedrooms.
unfortunitely my Husband took ill in the night,and the care and concern that Hector,the manager and his team showed us was above and beyond their call of duty.
we loved it and certainly will go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willimeg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

I travelled to Bath to visit some friends who live over there and found The Halcyon to be a great choice. It is very central, I arrived on the train and it is literally less than a minute from the station. I was first struck by the sleek black table top covers on the outside tables, a touch I havent experienced anywhere before! I was a little surprised to find that reception and bar were one! However this did not take from my experience, I even had a cocktail here on one of my two nights, a mojito which was made by the Irish girl (Anne?) and it was superb! Anne was very helpful and very cheerful every time i encountered her during my stay.
Breakfast was lovely, now there werent many dining at the same time so I was comfortable but I think they could run into difficulty if everyone were to have breakfast at the same time! My room was a little on the compact side but still very bright and airy and cleanliness throughout the hotel was amazing. Recommendations on dining out were supplied in a very thourogh portfolio designed by the staff!

Overall a great stay, will definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy_tri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Halcyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Halcyon Hotel

Property: The Halcyon Hotel
Address: 15a George Street, Bath BA1 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Halcyon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking luxurious accommodation in Bath, England, then head to The Halcyon, a 3-star hotel with a lot of amenities and affordable rates. It's located in a gorgeous Georgian townhouse right in the heart of Bath, where you have access to all the major tourist attractions. You can visit the Roman Baths, the Pultney Bridge, or the Thermae Spa. You can head to Bath Abbey, the Sydney Gardens, or the Cleveland House, as well. The hotel staff is happy to recommend where to go in Bath, and will even direct you to places that are off the beaten path. The hotel itself has a young, hip atmosphere and features a café where you can order coffee and tea during the day, and something a bit stronger in the evenings. There is also an outdoor lounge, where you can relax with a drink or a good book. The hotel offers bicycles which you can use to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halcyon Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing