We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

The Penny Lane River Boat
Ranked #220 of 575 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Situated on the River Avon in Bath, United Kingdom. We offer a fantastic venue in a beautiful river setting. We are a private hire venue catering for parties for any occasion on the River. We open on all Bath Rugby Match Days for Refreshments & Hot Snacks for anyone to come on board. We operate special summer events where you can purchase a ticket for yourself or a small group and we provide great Christmas Parties. We are Open all year round.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We hired the penny lane for our wedding, our guests and ourselves really enjoyed it, service and food was excellent, I would highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahjayne186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    4
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pick a nice day”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We went along for a little cruise and a meal because we had seen the offer on Groupon, was well pleased we took up the offer, the food was beautiful, the barge was spotlessly clean as were the toilets and the staff very friendly and helpful, just such a shame it was raining, may have to go again when it's a dry day so we can sit atop and enjoy the views of Bath.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bristleposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An all-round enjoyable afternoon”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We booked a Sunday lunch boat trip with friends, and spent a lovely 3 hours gently cruising up a stretch of the River Avon past the centre of Bath and back again.The weather was kind to us, and we sat up on the deck in the sunshine with our pre-lunch drinks, enjoying the beautiful sights of Bath from an angle we'd never seen before. Then it was announced that the buffet lunch was available on the lower deck. Usually there is a rush at the sound of food, but the atmosphere was so relaxed that people drifted down when they were ready, so there was never too long a queue to be fed. The lunch was of a superior quality and very tasty: cold meat, warm mini quiches and warm tiny roast potatoes, plus a selection of salads and bread. We opted to take our plates back up to the top deck to eat lunch on little wooden tables in the open air, but we could have sat at large round tables set with linen table-cloths on the lower deck if we had preferred. After a while dessert was on offer so we went back downstairs to collect our ready plated-up sweets, which were beautifully presented and delicious. Drinks and coffee were not included in the cost of the lunch cruise, but these were bought from the well-stocked bar on board at a reasonable price.
There was a pleasant and very relaxed atmosphere on the Penny Lane, and everyone on the cruise seemed to be enjoying themselves. The staff were all friendly, helpful and informal, and the boat and facilities were clean and well-maintained. It was a lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon, and I would heartily recommend a trip on the Penny Lane to anyone visiting Bath.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a Sunday Lunchtime”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Have just been on the PennyLane River Boat for their Lazy Sunday 3 hour lunch cruise today...although it was raining we were still able to have a wonderful time in and out of the showers...we bought the cruise through Groupon but they are doing a special deal of £40 for 2 so I would advise booking up quick...the welcome we had on board was lovely and friendly...we shared round tables of up to 10 people (in this case it was to the maximum of 70 people on board which does make it a little squashed but was still fine)....it meant that we got to know people as we floated down the river...the food was wonderful...it was served buffet stye with cold meats and wonderful mini cheese tarts and the best new potatoes I have ever tasted...there was also a good selection of other salads....there is a good bar on board so you will need cash but it has a good selection of beers wines etc.
Desert was a combo of white chocolate or milk chocolate mini cheesescakes with blackcurrants and a rather yummy lemon tart along with raspberry coulis....these were delicious.
Not only is this a great way to spend 3 hours on a Sunday lunchtime but also somewhere I would have a birthday celebration it is that good!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shazza24_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon in Bath”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Weather started off raining cats and dogs...but it didn't stop the enjoyment and buzz on board. Very pleasant cruise, overall staff were great only criticism was hearing a staff member slagging off groupon. I say this because as someone who has used groupon a LOT I have to say if it weren't for groupon I wouldn't be spending my money with you initially, you should think of it as an investment for marketing...as I would go back for sure. Food was great and the rain did stop eventually allowing dessert to be savoured above deck.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charmaine_chugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Penny Lane River Boat also viewed

 

Been to The Penny Lane River Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing