We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last visit”
Review of Thai by the Weir

Thai by the Weir
Ranked #331 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First and last visit”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My wife and I usually frequent the Thai Balcony near to the Theatre Royal but as I had parked just around the corner from here, we thought we would try it. Big mistake. The service was appalling and the food mediocre and disappointing. My chicken curry was served in a sea of oil and no sooner had we finished our main course then the bill arrived! My wife asked to see the dessert menu to which the waitress removed the bill and remarked "I'm sorry, I didn't know that you wanted any more" Try asking! and oh by the way, try replacing your chipped bowls. Furthermore, condiments on the table don't belong in the bottles that they came in, in a greasy spoon cafe of course, but not in a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cfhalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    52
    34
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly one to avoid.”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Good location if you don't mind incredibly rude service. It took 15 minutes for someone to finally take our order, 15 minutes to receive our drinks, and the food a further 55 minutes. It was a Monday evening so the restaurant wasn't even busy.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Em7715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“argued with customers when they got it wrong”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Served mixed starters that were cold. Sent back and replaced with alternative. 2nd starters were really good so thought recovered the situation. Main course came, the vegetables were piping hot but the sauce was cold!!
The manager was very aggressive, accused me of lying, that the sauce wasnt cold at all! Asked her to try for herself but she refused.
We decided to leave and they wanted to charge us for everything! Ended up in a stand up row in the restaurant!
At the beginning of our evening two other tables were complaining about the food being cold and the waitress was equally as rude to one table and had basicaly said she didnt believe him! - Should have taken that as a bad sign and left then! Will not eat here ever again - and its a shame as the back room has fantastic views of teh weir.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueG38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food.”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Walked in this place after a tiring day out in bath, and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food. Bananfritter was delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hullupelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor quality food”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Would definitely not recommend this restaurant, the chicken if indeed it was chicken was like rubber.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jenm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai by the Weir also viewed

 

Been to Thai by the Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing