We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views But A Disappointing Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai by the Weir

Thai by the Weir
Ranked #348 of 568 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views But A Disappointing Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

You could not ask for a better view whilst dining, however the menu is not too varied, what we ordered however was very tasty and well cooked. I thought the meal was a little overpriced for what it was but the pleasant surroundings and views more than compensated.
We might have dined there on an "off day" so give it a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    50
    32
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty Food. Excellent View!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stumbled across this lovely restaurant on a quiet Tuesday evening. We had a cute table for two by the window overlooking the weir - magical. The menu is a mix of Asian influences rather than the expected Thai, but the food was superb. Tasty, fresh ingredients, visually pleasing and served with a smile. I will be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location but poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Sitting by the river, this restaurant provides very good view of River Avon if you can sit by the windows. But as a Thai restaurant, the food doesn't seem to be very original Thai style. Some other restaurants here are much better. This is a bit like the combination of Chinese restaurant and south-Asian one.... A bit strange. The service is ok. But I don't recommend this restaurant if you want to try real Thai food.

Helpful?
Thank Anita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Friendly service pity about the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Not another disappointing Thai in Bath! Had many long trips to Thailand and always sad that restaurants in the UK produce bland food and pass it off as authentic (how I hate it when I see that word!) Thai. The dishes all tasted similar but at least presentation was quite good. Service was very friendly and the view, if you're lucky enough to get a window table, is lovely but not lovely enough to make me return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Came home looking for a decent Thai takeaway service and I found one.
Efficient, excellent customer service.
The main course was great and delicious. The starter though was ok (vietnamese rolls).

Would come here again but to eat in and enjoy the views of the river.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanflower75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai by the Weir also viewed

 

Been to Thai by the Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing