We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame...”

The Jane Austen Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.12*
and up
City Sightseeing Bath Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #24 of 155 things to do in Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jane Austen Centre features a permanent exhibition that tells the story of Bath's most famous resident, the author Jane Austen. It explores the effect that living in the Georgian city had on her life and writing. There is a delightful Giftshop on the ground floor, which sells unique items bespoke to the Jane Austen Centre, and a delicious Regency Tea Room on the 2nd floor, which offers 17 varieties of leafed tea to go with our locally baked cakes. The Centre organises an annual Jane Austen Festival as well as walking tours of the city with an Austen theme. Costumed Guides will take you through the exhibition and be on hand to satisfy your quest for knowledge of all things Austen. You will get to taste some period-recipe food, dress up in Regency costume, and have your photo take with the world famous Jane Austen waxwork.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shame...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were expecting so much more from this museum! As Jane Austen is recognised worldwide for her writing and such a household name, we were disappointed with the quality of this "Jane Austen Centre". There were some nice touches and dressing up was fun but if funded properly, it has the potential for being so much more. I was also expecting it to be bigger and more polished. Maybe someday if relocated and more time, money and research were put in it would be much more suited to the standard Jane Austen's legacy deserves.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank belle133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
I am sorry to hear that you felt disappointed by your visit to The Jane Austen Centre.

We are not – and have never advertised as – a museum. The Centre is an independently owned company, so unlike many other attractions in Bath, we do not receive outside funding. However, the majority of our feedback suggests that visitors enjoy the way in which information is offered – through a live introductory talk, numerous information boards, an exclusive in-house film and interactive activities. It is therefore a shame that you expected more from your time at The Jane Austen Centre – although I am glad to hear that you found the dressing up area fun, as it is something that is very popular with our visitors.

We do, however, appreciate all feedback and will be sure to take your comments into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    460
    309
    177
    141
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Regency tea-time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely afternoon tea, with the added attraction of a whole group dressed in period costume! I was with my 3 daughters and we all enjoyed our sandwiches and scones, although struggled to manage the cakes. They did kindly pack the left overs for us but they put them in a bag rather than a box, so they became rather squashed! I think for the high cost it wouldn't be too much to expect them to provide a cake box. However, that aside it was a lovely special treat, best to book ahead though as some people were sent away with a 45 min wait!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave comments regarding your time in our Regency Tearooms – I am so pleased that you enjoyed you time here. It is, as you say, a special treat – so it is a delight to know that you found your time with us so lovely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

A lovely house to wander around and very informative, Nice to see all the original costumes. Staff were very helpful and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaxB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback – I am so very glad to hear that you found The Jane Austen Centre so informative. We are very proud of our knowledgeable guides, so it is a pleasure to hear that you found them so helpful. You are very welcome to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the centre and we're under whelmed at how small and the lack of atmospheric charm. In comparison to here house, loaned by her brother in chawton, this was very much disappointing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. It is a shame that you felt underwhelmed by your visit, as we are often complimented on the atmosphere here at The Jane Austen Centre.
However, we are always happy to receive feedback, and will take your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit corny ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The museum is a cute idea and it was adorable that all the staff were dressed in period costumes, but the tour was a bit boring and repetitive. I love Jane Austen and all of her works, but was a disappointed at the hype this museum received. Not really worth the money.

Helpful?
Thank ashleydianne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you felt the tour was boring, as – following the live introductory presentation - our Exhibition has numerous information boards, in addition to our exclusive film and several interactive activities. Our enthusiastic and knowledgeable costumed guides are always on hand to assist with any queries, and are happy to discuss Jane Austen and Regency Bath with visitors following the introductory talk.
However, we thank you for your feedback, which we will, of course, take into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jane Austen Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Jane Austen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing