We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Austen fans - this is a must!”

The Jane Austen Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.37*
and up
Full-Day Bath and Stonehenge Tour from Brighton
Ranked #24 of 156 things to do in Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jane Austen Centre features a permanent exhibition that tells the story of Bath's most famous resident, the author Jane Austen. It explores the effect that living in the Georgian city had on her life and writing. There is a delightful Giftshop on the ground floor, which sells unique items bespoke to the Jane Austen Centre, and a delicious Regency Tea Room on the 2nd floor, which offers 17 varieties of leafed tea to go with our locally baked cakes. The Centre organises an annual Jane Austen Festival as well as walking tours of the city with an Austen theme. Costumed Guides will take you through the exhibition and be on hand to satisfy your quest for knowledge of all things Austen. You will get to taste some period-recipe food, dress up in Regency costume, and have your photo take with the world famous Jane Austen waxwork.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“For Austen fans - this is a must!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I am a massive Austen fan so the Centre is without doubt one of my favourite attractions. There is a wealth of fascinating material - my mum & I particularly enjoyed learning the language of the fan! The staff are so friendly & the giftshop has some lovely products. I can't say a bad word about it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback; it is such a pleasure to hear how fascinating you found The Jane Austen Centre. The ‘Language of the Fan’ is one of the most popular interactive activities with our visitors, so I am so pleased that you enjoyed it.
You are always very welcome to come back in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    482
    322
    182
    143
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kefar Adumim, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jane Austen”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Jane Austen in Bath, UK was all we expected it to be an much more. Her life story, excerpts from her novels and letters to her sisters, period clothing to try on, and a tea shop, real fun.

we also took quite a lenghty srtoll on the river bank and enjoyed it very much.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
It was a delight to read your comments – thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit to The Jane Austen Centre. Do come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Boring and waste of money”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Don't waste your money coming here. You pay £8 for adult admission and then placed in a room which looks like a classroom for most of the tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to The Jane Austen Centre.

I am slightly confused by your comments, as - following the brief introductory talk - the majority of the tour is spent by visitors walking through the self-guided Exhibition – which contains 5 sections, and includes numerous information boards, an exclusive in-house film and several interactive activities.

As explained on the blue wall plaques throughout the Centre, the room in which the 12 minute introductory presentation takes place would have been a First Floor Parlour in the Regency era, so it is a shame that you felt it to be like a classroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tea room is worth a visit!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had a nice lunch here after the tour which was quite short but informative (especially if you don't have an in-depth knowledge of Jane Austen). The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the gift shop is perfect if you're looking for Jane Austen inspired memorabilia or gifts!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DesertRoseK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments; I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at The Jane Austen Centre.
Our friendly staff are something that we are very proud of, and our Giftshop and Regency Tearoom are very popular – so it is a delight to know that you enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For Austen Fans (2013)”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

VISITED JAN 2013 (may have spoilers)
There's a gift shop and museum to visit and look at things. Best to be Jane Austen fans and visit after lunch, or breakfast to get the most out of it. take a picture with the guys out front too if you get the chance.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at The Jane Austen Centre, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback – I am glad you enjoyed your time at The Jane Austen Centre last year. Since you visited, we have had extensive renovation work done, so you are very welcome to come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jane Austen Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Jane Austen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing