We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it just to see Rosalind Hudson's models”

Museum of Bath Architecture
Ranked #43 of 160 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum is now closed for the winter, reopening on 13 February 2016. This unique collection interprets the rich architectural history of Bath and the men who transformed a provincial town into the world famous Georgian Spa. It demonstrates how classical design influenced the buildings and illustrates the construction of a house from the cellars to the rafters. Based in the Countess of Huntingdon’s Chapel, the building is also home to the Bath Model, a fully detailed architectural model of the historic city centre, giving a unique insight into the layout of the Georgian City.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth it just to see Rosalind Hudson's models”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very interesting collection showcasing the history of Bath's architecture. The museum houses a collection of wooden architectural models of famous Bath buildings created by Rosalind Hudson, former British codebreaker. These models are awe-inspiring in their detail, and were my favourite part of the collection.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    18
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely people but time better spent elsewhere”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This museum is ok if you have enough time to read everything but all in all not that entertaining. I definitely would not recommend it for children... although the people running the museum were lovely! We went on one of our last afternoons in Bath and in hindsight the time would have been better spent elsewhere at one of the attractions we didn't get to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laad28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“interesting stuff”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a small museum, but it provides a good overview of the creation of Bath as we know it today. I wish it had more about the WWII destruction, urban renewal, and more recent restorations, though; it pretty much just focuses on the Georgian era of building.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ltwau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A different insight into Georgian Bath”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Building of Bath Collection is slightly out of the way, located a little way along the Paragon. Fortunately, for those that make the journey there are plenty of items and exhibits in the museum which really add to one's experience of the city. As well as physical exhibits and parts of original Georgian buildings, there are models to guide you through how the magnificent city of Bath came to be. The BoBC is well worth visiting!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting & out of the way”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I was greeted by two women who seemed very surprised to get a visitor. How did you hear about it, they asked, and seemed surprised when I said I'd seen it on the tourist map. It was an odd welcome - they seemed a bit put out to have a visitor.

It was definitely worth a fiver and I'm glad I found it. A really interesting 20-minute DVD, some great models of Bath buildings and displays on building methods. I learned an awful lot about Georgian domestic architecture and speculative development. Having earlier seen both the front & back of houses in the Circus, I was interested to discover why all the backs were different!

The architect John Wood's odd Masonic views on architecture, Stonehenge, measurements ordained by God etc was also interesting.

But I would have liked to have known a little more about the Mediaeval city that was replaced by the Georgian city - and the planning challenges facing Bath (having earlier seen the somewhat cold/monumental use of Bath stone in the modern Southgate shopping area).

Anyway - odd staff (volunteers?) but of great interest if you like architecture.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Geegesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Bath Architecture also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Bath Architecture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing