We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informal and interesting”

No. 1 Royal Crescent
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.07*
and up
City Sightseeing Bath Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #3 of 155 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Last admission 4.30pm. Step into the past at one of England's finest Georgian townhouses. * 10 display rooms * Upstairs and downstairs * Georgian shop * Free info room with introductory video * Disabled access * Kids explorer packs * Friendly room guides * 'Indulgence' exhibition 9 May - 6 November 2016, exploring the Daily Delights (and excesses!) of Georgian Bath. The website has an Access section which has details of nearest car-parks, floorplans, facilities and information specifically for our visitors with access needs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Informal and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

A Bath town house as it used to be. Tells the story of how such a house was run from servants to master. The kitchen and scullery were particularly interesting but the whole house was well worth the money. Room guides were able to answer questions but did so in a very warm and welcoming manner. We felt at home !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,058
    582
    136
    22
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Visiting at Christmas time made the house even more atmospheric .. This is a well detailed historic house with information video to begin your tour and information sheets available within each room. Although speaking with the volunteers in each room is also informative and more fun .. Everyone was very welcoming and friendly
There is parking fairly near on the road but also a car park not too far as well .. We had a pleasant walk to the Royal Crescent via the bandstand and returned via the Crazy Golf nearby .. Our conclusion of Bath is that it's a very friendly city.

Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shame about the kitchen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The introductory video is poor, with silly wobbly puppet figures. There are two rooms that are beautiful but you seem to go through loads of passages and stairs just to see a few rooms and what used to be an amazing kitchen has been shoved into the old servants quarters and lost its impact making me think it was fake before location wise in the house. The staff are genteel and knowledgeable it is good of them to give their time to this museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lowercamden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No1RoyalCrescent, Manager at No. 1 Royal Crescent, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Many thanks for your review.

We are sorry you didn't enjoy our introductory video. Readers of Trip Advisor can judge for themselves by visiting our website - no1royalcrescent.org.uk where you can view the introductory video online before visiting.

We have ten dressed rooms in total in the newly expanded visit at No. 1 Royal Crescent. During our recent project, items from the Hugh Roberts Kitchen Museum (previously in the basement of No. 1) have been moved into the original site of the Georgian kitchen and scullery in the basement of the servants' wing. We feel their new location and presentation is a real enhancement to the visitor experience, creating a more authentic and atmospheric experience of a working Georgian kitchen. The project also enabled us to open up more 'below stairs' areas such as the Housekeeper's Room and Closet.

Details of all the rooms can be viewed on our website and there also links on our website to download our new free virtual tour app for iphone and android.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very atmospheric with great volunteers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We visited late pm in winter and found the low lighting just added to the great atmosphere. Initial video really set the scene well before we went into the house. The volunteers were warm, friendly and very knowledgable- giving us little bits of knowledge that people may not have known.

Each room beautifully renovated and lots of stories behind why things were as they were.
Felt I really know who had lived here before.
The dog wheel in the kitchen was interesting...not sure our cocker spaniel would like it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't go on a dark afternoon in winter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The house has been beautifully restored, but the lighting is 'atmospheric' which means that if you're there after 2.30 pm in winter you won't be able to see things properly!
It's not cheap to view, which is why it's important to go in daylight.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ARWEJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No1RoyalCrescent, Manager at No. 1 Royal Crescent, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Many thanks for your review.

We are sorry that you found the lighting level to low when you visited but we wanted to take this opportunity to explain our approach to lighting No. 1 Royal Crescent.

When redesigning the lighting for No. 1 Royal Crescent, we were aiming to achieve light levels akin to the 18th century to recreate what life would have been like for people living in Georgian Bath. We feel that the house is most atmospheric at night and we have held a number of very successful evening events with very positive feedback from participants. Atmospheric lighting allows you to appreciate details such as the importance of gilding and brass door furniture which were designed to reflect the candle light in order to be more visible in the evenings - as well as displaying the wealth of the residents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No. 1 Royal Crescent also viewed

 

Been to No. 1 Royal Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing