We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury boutique hotel, excellent location, STUNNING food!”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Luxury boutique hotel, excellent location, STUNNING food!”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stay in Bath every year over the Easter weekend and have been to various different hotels. This was certainly one of the best. The service is excellent. It is a wonderfully random hotel as a consequence of being 3 or 4 Bath townhouses joined together so there are lots of staircases all leading to different places a bit like Hogwarts. We loved it! The room was excellent - although hot being the top of the hotel and quite noisy facing on to the road.
The restaurant was outstanding. Why they have not got a Michelin star is beyond me. Well done the chef. Breakfast was also lovely. Thank goodness for a hotel which doesn't cut corners by buying cheap industrial catering sausages and bacon. The quality here is high and you can tell.
It was a bit pricey - but I guess somewhere like Bath you pay for what you get - and with a central location this is definitely somewhere we ould be hapyp to return to.
By the way - if you fancy slumming it outside in the lovely secluded garden, the Club Sandwich on the bar menu is awesome!!

Room Tip: Make sure you eat in the restaurant at least once!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelondonsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    349
    90
    26
    17
See reviews for
159
879
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a stay at the Queensberry Hotel, Bath. Never before have I felt so compelled to share just how wonderful a hotel is!!! The staff are friendly and helpful, the room was clean, elegant and spacious and after just one night I felt like I had been away for a week!!!

The hotel is ideally situated, just a five minute walk from the hub of shops and restaurants but is on a picturesque road of typical Bath townhouses. We parked right outside and a member of staff the valet parked the car for us. When we checked out at 11:00am the hotel looked after our bags and kept the car until we returned at about 4:00pm free of charge.

In the bathroom you will find comfy bathrobes and gorgeous White Company toiletries. Tea and coffee is served in the lounge from 9:30 to 5:30 but we called for tea to our room at 10:00pm and arrived in five minutes. The whole stay was simply wonderful!

Make sure you get breakfast in your room for an ultimate indulgence; the homemade museli itself is worth the £7.50 pricetag, let alone the toast, croissants, pastries, coffee and fresh fruit!!!!

I will be returning very soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigellamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We took a long weekend at the Queensberry hotel, in April and absolutely loved it. Our room was large, bright and clean, with a luxurious lounge area as well as a very comfortable bed.

Staff were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to make the stay special.

Lounge area with free tea and coffee all day is a nice touch.

Breakfast seemed a tad expensive at £15 per head, but was worth every penny - delicious locally produced food, tasty pastries, cheeses, cured meats and fresh fruit along with some beautifully cooked hot options.

Some travellers may find the beds a little smaller than a usual hotel bed, but it was perfectly acceptable to us.

Room Tip: Wear flat shoes to climb the steep hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancerama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We cannot praise the staff of the Queensberry enough! They are so attentive. We have stayed three nights and they hosted our wedding reception. Everything was perfect. The hotel is so beautiful, our room, the four poster room, had a bathroom to die for with a walk in shower and a roll top bath. We never saw the cleaning staff but the hotel is immaculate and our room was kept beautifully tidy and clean.

Our drinks reception was hosted by the legendary Queensbury Jack. What he doesn't know about wines and spirits isn't worth knowing. He was so attentive to our guests. Faultless service. Then we had our wedding meal in the Olive Tree. Words cannot describe the best meal we have ever tasted and again the attention to detail was amazing.

We cannot reccommend this hotel enough! They made our special day absolutely perfect!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estherhorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We had booked a weekend at the Queensberry for my husband's big birthday. Relations had also booked a room and 4 other family members met us there for dinner on the Saturday evening. On arrival, we were told our room had been upgraded - a fabulously large room at the front of the hotel, with lovely furniture, every amenity and excellent bathroom. The staff were friendly and attentive throughout the weekend without being overbearing. The hotel manages to have a carefree, laid back atmosphere but is very well organised. Dinner on the Saturday evening was simply fantastic with no complaints whatsoever. The hotel and the meals are quite expensive, but a fabulous venue for a special occasion. You can't park outside so your car is taken by staff to a private carpark nearby and returned as and when you need it. Overall, I would thoroughly recommend a stay here to anyone of any age. Also, you are within a 5 minute walk of the city, shops and all the history, so it couldn't be in a better position.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue3890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I wanted to like this hotel very much but i came away feeling disappointed by it & i don't think i'd stay again - certainly not in the room we had & not in hot weather.

The positives are that all the staff were friendly & helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The food we had ie an afternoon snack & breakfast was very nice. The garden was very pleasant.

The downside for us was that our deluxe room was an airless & hot box on a 20 degree day - it would be truly uncomfortable in Summer. When we opened the window to get some air in the noise of people in the garden & the rumbling of machinery (from the kitchen ?) was clear & disturbing. The machinery noise was from early morning till almost midnight.

The mattress on our bed was soft & not particularly comfortable & rather aggravatingly our ensuite (well equipped & modern) was DOWN 12 STEEP STAIRS. This was v inconvenient during the day & a bit risky during the night.

I felt at the very least we should have been warned about this on check in to see if it's something we could handle. Anyone older than us or recovering from an injury or a bit tipsy would have found those stairs a problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

What a lovely hotel. It felt like a real treat staying there.
Positive : A gorgeous room (we had a deluxe room - Room 6) which had large windows, beautiful dark walls, enormous bed and spacious bathroom. The bed is a real queen-size, not two lashed together as is so often the case. The whole hotel is stunning and the bar and drawing room are not to be missed. The staff were really friendly. They have a free valet parking service which whisked our car off we-know-not-where but driving in Bath would have been a nightmare anyway. The hotel's in a quiet location but walking distance from anything you'll need. A friendly night porter delivered room service (beer, tea and sandwiches) at midnight and it was reasonably priced (£15 or so).

Negative : The windows were a bit thin so we heard all of the drunk conversation taking place outside. Normally we'd complain but the bed was soooo comfy it didn't seem to matter! The breakfast was underwhelming and portions weren't too generous. We were left to get on with it a bit - found our own table and had to work out that we could help ourselves even though we ordered hot food from a menu. They don't have coffee/tea making in the rooms, and the free coffee in the drawing room (9.30am-5pm) was very weak.

Overall, I will be recommending this hotel to everyone I know and would stay there again tomorrow. We visit a lot of hotels, and this one delivers its promises more than any I've ever been to.

Room Tip: Room 6 (deluxe) is a winner - big and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing