We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent food”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I stayed at the Queensberry hotel with my husband for three nights in May. The staff were all really helpful and friendly and contrary to another reviewer did carry our bags to the room. Both the bed and room were very comfortable and the food was excellent. I would definitely recommend the restaurant, where the food is of excellent quality with attentive unpretentious service.

This hotel is in a good location for all of the main sites, being within walking distance of most, but not in a really busy area. I was 8.5 months pregnant at the time of visiting and managed to walk to most places albeit rather slowly.

The only real criticism is that there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. This is a bit of a pain as you either have to order room service at a pricey £3.50 per person or wait until 9:00 for complimentary tea in the lounge.

One other reviewer had an issue with their car. The 'free parking' is on the street parking. The valet simply finds a suitable spot. Whilst our car was OK, the curbs in and around the surrounding streets are pretty savage and I can see how damage might have been done.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

The hotel is very nice, but don't use the valet parking. I let them park my Audi which has low profile wheels and when getting home I have noticed they have marked both alloys very slightly. I did go up to where the car was parked and they had parked it extremely close to the kerb, so they had not been careful enough when bringing it back to the hotel.

Spoke to Manager and they said nothing they can do as cannot prove it was them!

Not impressed.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
6  Thank annoyedcardriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessa69, Owner at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

We would like to respond to the guest's review as it only gives one perspective. During the guest's stay he did check his car having enquired where it had been parked. When he was departing, our team brought the car back to the hotel. At this time the guest made a further inspection of his car. He then checked out making no comment regarding the wheels of his car or any other issues with the vehicle.

Two days later the guest phoned the hotel and said that there was damage to the wheels of his car. He spoke with the General Manager who advised him that as it was two days after his departure and that he had made a point of checking his car before departure we were not able to accept further responsibility for any alleged damage. At this point the guest hung up the telephone!

The hotel has a fully comprehensive jockey insurance policy that covers us for any damage that may occur whilst we are driving guest cars. The team are all under strict instruction to report any damage that they may do to a car so that the hotel can advise the guest and put right any problem with the least inconvenience to the guest. Had we been aware of any damage to this guest's car we would have arranged suitable repairs.

Please be assured that our valet parking service is highly valued by guests of the hotel as it relieves all the problems of parking in Bath. We park thousands of cars every year and very rarely have we caused any damage and on the odd occasion we have we have always done the right thing by our guests.

Laurence Beere
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We found the Queensberry through www.mrandmrssmith.com and will certainly be recommending to everyone we know.

The room was beautiful but the level of service throughout our stay really set the Queensberry apart from other places I have visited both in the UK and abroad. All was exceptional, from the greeting and concierge service when we first arrived to the personal attention of your knowledgeable bar staff in the Old Q Bar. Unfortunately we did not eat in the Olive Tree as we had already made a dinner reservation but after looking at the menu on Sunday morning I think we will use it as an excuse to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jfac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I travel a great deal for work and try to keep my reviews as balanced as I can. I hope it helps.
I spent the weekend in the Queensberry hotel for my wedding anniversary. We went all out and booked the Superior room at £250 per night. If you work for the hotel and are reading this don’t missing the tips at the bottom.
Location and parking;
The hotel is not as central as some and parking is an issue, so the hotel offers a free parking service. However please note your car will be parked on the street somewhere not in a secure carpark.
Room Spec;
The room size was as you would expect for the price and the decoration was lovely. It’s just a pity about its location. The room is located over the kitchens with a large extractor vent running up the side of the room. The unfortunately result is that the room shakes slightly (remember the scene in Jurassic park where the water ripples) and you get an persistent drone from the vent that resembles a jet plane talking off. It was also far too hot, when we reported this we told that the room is always too hot and shown an 8” fan a the cupboard.
Room Facilities;
The facilities in the room were good with a large LCD tv and Ipod dock hi-fi provided, comfy sofa, selection of magazines and books.
Room Furniture;
The furniture was disappointing with unstable chipboard bedside tables straight out of a nineteen eighties B&B.
Room View;
The views from the room are of the delightful courtyard garden.
Bed;
The bed was excellent, large and good quality.
Service;
The hotel is well staffed but sadly like so many hotels these days are large percentage of these are cheap foreign labour. Although friendly while in the bar it took 5 minutes to explain that Darjeeling is a tea and on another occasion we were brought tea with spoons but no milk or sugar. A member of staff did stick her head in to check on us but even thought I called after her that we needed milk she just ran off, leaving me to hunt for someone to help us.
Hotel Feel;
At first the hotel feels a little like a maze with corridors and stair all over the place, but it soon grows on you. There is a warm friendly feel to the place and it is very nicely decorated.
Food;
The Olive Tree restaurant at this hotel is excellent. It is one of the finest that I have found in the country. Try it you won’t be disappointed, you can tell the chef has a real passion for what he does. Unfortunately he is being let down again by the servers. Ours placed our main course, then took it away again span it a couple of times trying to decide which way it was supposed to be positioned, gave up and put it back as it has started. The chef would have cried if he could see all their hard work on the finishing touches was lost as the plates are dropped on the table and it all fell flat (don’t worry we did see what it was supposed to look like as it was brought over).
Breakfast
Breakfast was fine, reasonable quality and a good spread. Again the problem was service, some tables were asked what kind of toast they wanted others just had to eat what they were given. Some were offered extras, others were not. Some tables were even forgotten and had to call for attention.
Suggestions for the hotel;
1) You need to provide mats in the bath for use with the showers as you are currently open to legal cases if someone falls.
2) I’d suggest the superior room be one on an upper floor although nicely sized the vents simply prevented us from sleeping.
3) For the price at your rivals you get Air-Con as standard.
4) Provide real flowers in the room, A real Orchid plant will last for months and look far nicer than the plastic thing provided.
5) You need to get a chippy in to sort out your doors. Most of the doors in our room had warped. The bathroom wouldn’t shut and the main door left a huge gap.
6) You spend good money on the bed then provide chipboard side tables. I recognise most of the fittings form Ikea, and even they do some reasonable alternatives. The quality of the furniture can really set the quality feel for the room.
7) Invest is some staff training, silver service courses are still available and would make a huge difference. When it comes to staff cheap is not always better.

Room Tip: Book a standard room, aviod the expensive one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ask4it2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessa69, Owner at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear Ask4it2

Thank you for taking the time to make such a lengthy and detailed review of our hotel, we always appreciate genuine feedback from our guests and we will take on board all of the salient points that you have raised.

In the spirit of the review that you have made may i take this opportunity to make some useful tips for you as a guest and as a would be reviewer, noting that this is your first posting:-

1. It is always best to bring your comments to the attention of the team at the time. Certainly our team welcome the chance to discuss a guest's experience with them directly and work extremely hard to rectify any issues that a guest brings to our attention.

2. Always be factual in your feedback. When you make unfounded and derogatory remarks about the team then unfortunately the willingness of the managment and the Owner to take on board your comments is severely diminished.

Laurence Beere
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

The first thing to note is that the Queensberry is an AA rated 3* hotel (prob should be a 4*) so one shouldn't expect it to have all of the things you would expect from a 4 or 5 star property, i.e. tea and coffee in the room, mini bar or leisure facilities.

It is an excellent 3 star however with some of the best staff I have come across. Valet parking, fantastic, help with bags to the room, brilliant, chilled my bottle of bubbly and brought up presented in an ice bucket with glasses, marvellous, provided us with a "spa kit" when we told them we were visiting Thermae Spa to save us hiring towels there, wonderful - they are superb and are to be commended. They even polished my shoes overnight!

The room we had ws great, a Classic room is the most basic room type but really great, spacious room, great bathroom with marvellous shower, big bed (altho a little soft for me), nice big windows you can open, nice view.

Lounge downstairs with free tea and coffee was a nice touch.

Ate in the restaurant on the first night and this was truely delicious and worthy of the 3 AA Rossettes. I would say however it was very expensive even if we did have a dinner B&B package, £28 for duck breast (whilst delicious) I thought was a bit much, the starters at around £10 were expensive too (tho very tasty).

Overall excellent and would highly recommend to anyone visiting bath.

Room Tip: Room 24, nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JosephKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

A website that promises a great hotel and a great stay. Our room was up several flights of stairs, with no offer of help with bags and a need for satalite navigation to find it!

On requesting sandwiches we were told they stopped serving at 9pm. It was 8.45pm and the hotel information advised last orders were 10pm! There are no tea and coffee facilities in the room instead you have to go down to the hotel lounge, which is not ideal. As for the tea and coffee in the lounge - not good is an understatement.

The decor of the bedroom was positively depressing and the bathroom, although of a good size, was cheaply furnished with poor use of the space. The shower was over the bath and the drains were blocked - not pleasant!

We visit Bath on a regular basis and we were looking forward to staying at the Queensberry and were very disappointed. Interestingly we did mention some of our observations/problems to the staff and were totally ignored!

There are lots of great hotels in Bath and this is not one of them.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cate17uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stay in Bath every year over the Easter weekend and have been to various different hotels. This was certainly one of the best. The service is excellent. It is a wonderfully random hotel as a consequence of being 3 or 4 Bath townhouses joined together so there are lots of staircases all leading to different places a bit like Hogwarts. We loved it! The room was excellent - although hot being the top of the hotel and quite noisy facing on to the road.
The restaurant was outstanding. Why they have not got a Michelin star is beyond me. Well done the chef. Breakfast was also lovely. Thank goodness for a hotel which doesn't cut corners by buying cheap industrial catering sausages and bacon. The quality here is high and you can tell.
It was a bit pricey - but I guess somewhere like Bath you pay for what you get - and with a central location this is definitely somewhere we ould be hapyp to return to.
By the way - if you fancy slumming it outside in the lovely secluded garden, the Club Sandwich on the bar menu is awesome!!

Room Tip: Make sure you eat in the restaurant at least once!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelondonsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £106 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing