We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Good location to the city centre and around other attractions such as the circus and various parks. The hotel staff were extrememly friendly and helpful during the whole stay, even providing towels and robes to our visit to the baths. However there were no hot drink facilities in the room (unlimited tea and coffee were provided downstairs in the communcal area between 9-5). This was a bit fustrating, especially when it cost nearly £5 to have tea out of hours delivered to your room. Apart from that the room itself was spacious (standard room including a two seater sofa) and I would visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuGo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We've just returned home to Edinburgh from a long weekend in Bath - I've never been moved to write a review before, but our experience was so amazing, I'm compelled to.....
We spent a couple of nights in the Queensberry celebrating my birthday and having a look around the university with our son. The staff at were really welcoming and there was a lovely wee box of chocolates to wish me happy birthday - nice touch! Rooms were great,and the food was excellent, attention to detail was superb..... it was a couple of members of staff that made our stay such a brilliant experience; Anna a lovely young girl who was working in the restaurant, recommended the salmon and the cod; both she had tried and explained how the chef gets everyone to sample the menus at the beginning of the new season so the staff know what they're serving etc - good on you Anna, you described the courses eloquently and with enthusiasm - I'm sure your chef will be chuffed! well trained, a real credit, but the star of our show was Charlie Long, (she's the assistant manager in the restaurant) Charlie absolutely sold Bath to us - but not in a gushy way. She spent a quite bit of time with us, explaining the ins and outs, places to go etc and it was really clear this young lady is putting the Queensberry and Bath on the map! Superb ambassador for your hotel, and thanks to her, we'll be coming down and staying at your place on a regular basis!

Room Tip: If you sleep lightly ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

With our family of five, we were very pleased with our stay and more than happy to have found such a fine hotel close to the city center of Bath. Our rooms (no. 6 and 7) were spacious and clean, staff was attentive and very friendly, breakfast very good. We will definitely return to this hotel when in Bath!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juergen_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stay in hotels a lot with work, maybe about one or 2 nights a month and have done for the past 12 years.

This lovely little hotel really was one of the best, if not the best/nicest hotel I have ever stayed in.

Food was utterly amazing, service and friendliness second to none - I honestly felt soooo welcome, it was like I had turned up to stay at an old friends house which was just lovely.

Bath is a beautiful City too and I can't wait to go back and hopefully take my Husband and go on a non work trip to the City and will definatly try to stay at this place if I can.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikatypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at the Queensberry hotel for two nights. On the first night we had a room on the lower level, next to the kitchen and restaurant. It was rather noisy as it was also below the bar. This meant that you could hear people until midnight, and then again first thing in the morning. We complained to the staff, who were extremely polite and helpful. They moved us to another room for our second night and were most apologetic. Whilst we cannot fault the rooms or staff at the Queensberry, we were extremely upset when leaving, as we found that our car had been scratched. The staff told us that they have a car park, but that it only has four spaces. Therefore, the rest of the cars are parked on public roads, away from the hotel. For this reason we would NOT recommend the hotel to people who are travelling by car, and we would not return to the hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Room 25, on the lowest level is noisy. It is next to the kitchen and restaurant, and is situated bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbug_1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in a superior double. The room was very large and spacious. Large marble bathroom with makeup table and mirror. Full length mirror in room and sofa. Complimentary water every day. complimentary shoe plishing also. Tea and coffee in lounge from 9am till 5:30pm. Free wifi in lounge but not in guest rooms. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Valet service for car pull up out front they park car and bring back when you are leaving. They will also store luggage after check out till you are ready to leave the city. Can walk to everything in Bath from hotel. Restaurant is first class food and service. Carolina at front desk is a delight. Always smiling and making one feel welcome.

Room Tip: Be aware there is a lift but still has stairs because of anex of several buildings for hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtney106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This boutique hotel is housed in a lovely Georgian building. Its modern twist on traditional decor feels comfortable and smart - understated luxury rather than opulence. It is close to the centre of bath, and a short walk from all the major attractions the city has to offer. Staff are helpful, friendly and polite, and there is a communal sitting room downstairs with complimentary tea and coffee to help yourself to throughout the day.

We stayed in a deluxe double room which had high ceilings, a walk in wardrobe, lots of storage space, lots of light from the sash windows, comfortable beds, complimentary mineral water, nice books and magazines on the coffee table, and a very large marble bathroom with good strong water pressure for the shower, a huge bath, White Company products, and fluffy towels and bathrobes.

The breakfasts in the excellent Olive Tree resetaurant downstairs were also very good.

My only gripes/tips:

Our room was at the front of the hotel, and the period windows are single glazed, so we were woken by noisy drunk people shouting on the street outside at night time, and again early in the morning as the bottle recycling bins were being emptied. So if you're a light sleeper, take earplugs or ask for a room at the back.

There is no WiFi in the rooms, so you have to bring your modem cables or use the free WiFi in the sitting room downstairs, so if you're a business traveller, and need to be online at the same time as making a phone call, be prepared for having to do this in a public space.

We went for a late drink in the bar after returning from the theatre - it is a lovely room with a well-stocked bar, with some great whiskies and a menu of classic cocktails, but criminally, the bartender didn't seem to know how to make the simplest of cocktails! In my Tom Collins he forgot the soda water and was surprised when I asked for some, and he used about 3 drips of lemon juice in the whole thing. In my husband's whisky sour, again, the apparent lemon juice rationing meant it just wasn't sour, and wasn't right.

Please send that man on a cocktail course and give him some fresh pre-squeezed lemon juice!

Other than that though, the Queensberry is a lovely place to stay and we'd happily go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence B, Owner at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

We were very grateful to read the positive comments that you have left about your visit to The Queensberry, and were grateful that you took the time to mention areas that we could improve.

With regard to the noise, this is not often a problem for guests, however it is true that being in a city we do occasionally have people walking past the hotel that are not always as quiet as they should be when passing through a residential area. Thankfully this is not that often and we are sorry that you were disturbed.

Regarding WiFi, we are currently reviewing options to try to increase the amount of cover that we have to the bedrooms as we know that we all are more and more reliant on the use of our gadgets as part of everyday life. This is quite a challenge as the Georgians did not consider WiFi when constructing walls 5 feet thick! The good news is that technology boffins may have a solution. When we do we will shout about it on our website.

The biggest disappointment was the poor quality cocktails that were served. Our Head Barman is fastidious about the quality of drinks we serve and extremely proud of the unique collection of individual artisan produced spirits that make up his drinks list. Your experience has highlighted a need for further training of our night managers to deliver classic cocktails to the highest standard, this is being done as we write.

We apologise for the disappointment. We hope that you will contact us direct so that on your next return we can restore your confidence in our cocktail presentation at any hour of the day or night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,460 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £98 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing