We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - great location”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Osgathorpe, Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - great location”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Beautiful city, lovely hotel, staff were very attentive. Location was excellent, a very short and picturesque walk from the centre of Bath. Room was classy. All in all a really lovely place to stay. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonaplatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    349
    90
    26
    17
See reviews for
159
879
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Nicely designed hotel in a great location. The staff are freiendly and try to help but it stops there!

No air conditioning in the rooms, rooms are really warm at night during the summer. Noise levels in the rooms are beyond anyone's pain threshold. You can hear every single word beeing said in the bar downstairs. And when the bar is closed the seagulls provid with entertainment all night long.

If beeing able to sleep at night is NOT wht you are looking for, then this is the right hotel for you!!


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2londonities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I was bought a trip to the Queensbury as a surprise by my boyfriend and I don't have the words to describe what a nice time we had. The staff are fantastic, especially in the restaurant. More on the restaurant to come... Check in was efficient and there was someone to take bags to the room. The car was parked for us (at a reasonable extra charge), the hotel has free tea and coffee available in the lounge area (of which there are three) all day, and a 24 hour bar.
The rooms are individual, quirky and spacious, with ours having a large comfortable bed and luxurious marble bathroom. The one and only negative aspect is that the rooms are not air conditioned and we stayed during very un-British weather (exceptionally hot) and were a tiny bit uncomfortable. Although to be fair; the staff did everything they could including providing us with a large jug of iced water and a fan. The shower in our room (room 16) was lovely, with a big and powerful head and the bath is huge. Some basic toiletries were provided and were of very good quality.
We went for cocktails in the bar area and sat outside on the pretty terrace, which is secluded and quiet despite being in a city centre. The terrace was sunny and comfortable, and the bar staff don't mess about when measuring the alcoholic content of the cocktails (only took me two to get a bit happy)... And after that we moved on to the Queensburys in house restaurant "The Olive Tree". THIS IS A MUST DO PART OF STAYING AT THE QUEENSBURY. I cannot stress enough how good the food, the service and the whole experience was. Having lived in London and Paris and eaten at some of the worlds finest restaurants, I can honestly say I have never eaten food as well sourced, presented and cooked at (relatively) low prices. Bath is a beautiful city with lots to see and do and a friendly, creative ambiance.
The whole experience was second to none and I will most definitely be returning to eat and stay with The Queensbury. Thank you all for a lovey time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back and do try and fit in at least one cocktail from The Q Bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StripyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Fantastic hotel, very friendly staff, large room, the bed was very comfortable and the hotel was very clean. Breakfast in the Olive room was a real treat, very nice food, service was very good. The only critiscism I could levy would be better wifi access in the rooms but that is a minor. The location is very convenient, a short walk to the shops, parks and the river. The valet parking for £5 was very good, the car was fetched within 10 minutes on request.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A birthday treat at the Queensberry and it really was first class. Smooth check-in, room was ready early - fantastic size room (deluxe), very comfortable bed and everything else you could want; even a fan for this very hot weather. Very quiet and relaxing, not formal. Breakfast was of excellent quality as was the service. Only a short walk in to the centre of Bath so once the hotel had parked our car that was it! A definate returner for us - not cheap, but worth it!

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room and even though it was at the front of the hotel it was extremely quiet and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspectorboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Queensberry hotel has excellent service. We had an awkward situation and the establishment dealt with it really well, very satisfied. The rooms have everything you need, though with the summer heat we found the room a little warm, yet no complaints with the magnificent weather! Food was fantastic. The hotel is in the middle of town so all sights of Bath are at your finger tips. We travelled with our young (2yr) daughter and she was happy with the outdoor area, though older kids who want a little more would need to look around town. Would highly recommend for couples. Overall a great place, with awesome service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Perfect location, easy walking distance to all the main attractions.
We have stayed here before and returned after a previous enjoyable stay.
Our room was lovely , simply decorated and well laid out.
For the Americans amongst you who worry about the shower water pressure in hotels , don't worry , the shower was brilliant. Huge fresh fluffy towels ( the mark of a good hotel I always feel ?).
Always spotlessly clean everywhere.
Every single member of staff were cheery, pleasant and would do anything to make the stay that bit better.
No tea/coffee in the rooms, but room service can bring this up to you ( for a charge) or it is just as easy to pop down to the main lounge and make it yourself (free) and available 24hrs.
No aircon in our room, not sure about the others , which isn't usually a worry in the UK ha ha , however there is a fan provided .
Parking can be a problem in Bath, but the hotel has a valet parking service ( chargeable, but worth it). If you are in Bath just for a few days , you do not need a car, everything is close to the hotel and walkable if of average health ( there are some steep slopes ). Keep in mind from the hotel you are walking down towards the river for most things, so will need to walk back up hill.

We had the good fortune of great weather, so also made use of the hotel garden. Which despite being set at the rear and amongst other tall buildings , got plenty of light, is very quiet , feels private . Set out with various tables and chairs , for that afternoon cup of coffee or for evening pre dinner drinks ,movers relaxing. Waiter service is very diligent and aimed at making their clients feel special, it does just that.

Do try the attached restaurant ,The Olive Tree, for dinner . Make sure you book! At first look this may seem expensive, however the food is truly gorgeous and if this was in London prices would be ridiculous . Portions are ' designer' size , full of different flavours and a work of art in themselves.
Breakfast is served here in the mornings, though I would also encourage you to try some of the nearby cafe's , which will add to your experience of Bath.

There are many small tea rooms dotted amongst the many Georgian streets as you head down towards the shopping/river/ open top buses. For the gentleman amongst you this may seem a chore , just do it, have a cream tea , try a pure Darjeeling or Assam, watch the variety of people as they pass by, it is very British, has to be done .... And there are plenty of pubs for a beer.

If it is your first time in Bath and the weather is ok, do at least one of the bus tours ( there are two main ones , the city tour , or the outside bath skyline tour) .
All the other main attractions are well documented.
,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,260 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing