We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed here the night before my wedding day and the staff were very helpful trying to keep my wedding flowers cool. We had numerous people coming and going and nothing was a problem for the staff. The rooms were very well presented, exceptionally clean and well stocked. It was very well located in central Bath with a bonus of valet car parking. I could not fault this hotel or the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
There are newer reviews for Queensberry Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Have just been for a one night stay - it was a great hotel. On arrival our car was valet parked for us - which was then returned the following day at around 4pm -after a whole day in Bath at no extra charge - it was £5 for the whole 2 day duration! The staff were all friendly and attentive and nothing was any bother. The room was comfortable - yes, there is no air- con, which would have been nice, however the windows open and the fan made it fine. The location is superb - it is so close to everything you would want to see and do in Bath - and we walked back and forth from the city to the hotel many times in just a few minutes really. We didn't eat in the restaurant - but would do in the future - as it looked amazing. At breakfast I would have to recommend the full English - the Black Pudding is the best I've ever had!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just returned after a wonderful stay at this gorgeous hotel. The trip was for our anniversary and the only thing that would have made it better would be to stay longer! Only niggle was that Our room was very warm and no air con. The staff were superb and nothing was too much trouble. The olive tree food was exquisite and I was so impressed that they were happy to accommodate my wheat & dairy intolerance without hesitation. The location was perfect, just a 5 min walk from the centre. We enjoyed the Bath spa, (get there early!). We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just got back from 2 nights at the Queensberry Hotel. Staff are absolutely faultless and polite, and couldn't do enough for us. From valet parking (£5 for the whole stay - excellent value) to our room being ready hours early, I couldn't have asked for better. We stayed in room 24 which I requested from pics I'd seen. Unfortunately it was very hot for our two days, and being at the top of the hotel the room unfortunately became unbearably hot on our first night. Now I know there's no air con, but I can't imagine fitting it to a hotel of this age would be easy so I don't blame the hotel at all. They'd provided a very good fan but unfortunately it just wasn't enough to help. The next morning I asked if they might possibly swap our room, and they were absolutely brilliant. We had breakfast, and by the time we got back to our room, I had a call offering us another. We accepted, and packed our luggage and the staff moved it all for us while we were out. The new room was much better (room 11) and we got to sleep the second night. I don't blame the hotel at all - air con is a luxury these days and the cost to run it considering the UK's extortionate utility prices would probably put the rates up too much. Plus the heat was rather unexpected! I loved the look of the hotel - very clean and not shabby at all. The bathrooms aren't the most modern but they function perfectly, and are spotless. The bath runs hot and full in seconds, and the showers are brilliant. Beds comfy and decor lovely.
The food in the Olive Tree is marvellous. Breakfast has lots of choices, and dinner was beautiful,. Yes its pricey but we knew that before we went and we loved it - everything cooked perfectly and imaginatively. On our last day we were able to leave the car and luggage all day so we could go out and when we got back, they'd brought it round in 10 minutes and loaded our luggage for us!! All of this for £155 a night, including full english breakfast and a free bottle of prosecco in our room. Bargain as far as I'm concerned. Had cocktails in the bar too, and they don't stint on the alcohol so watch out! The service was 5 star all the way and the lovely garden, food, staff and rooms make this the hotel of choice in Bath. Oh and as for the seagulls, they're seagulls. They make seagull noises. Deal with it. What surprises me most is those from big cities complaining about the noise they make! I'd rather hear seagulls than sirens all night.

Room Tip: Room 24 gorgeous views but don't choose it when its very hot! Room 11 just as gorgeous and coole...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladymisswolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed for one night. Very pleasant staff. Our room was huge with a good sized bathroom with plenty of compliments. We were very comfortable.
Being in a very old building getting to different floors was a bit like a rabbit run with the narrow corridors & stairs where every guest we met got lost trying to find their room. I suppose if it was altered the charm of the building would be lost. We would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here, and, by and large, it's pretty good. The plus points are its location, the fact that it provides valet parking, an excellent breakfast and very good, friendly service. On the down-side, there's no air-con in the bedrooms, (or, at least, not in ours) which is a BIG minus if you happen, like us, to be visiting in hot weather, especially in the top-floor rooms; you can open the windows of course, but then you're kept wake by late night revellers in the city nearby, and woken early by the sea-gulls. The bed we had was a bit on the small side, and it seemed odd to offer only a winter style duvet when it was so obviously during a hot spell. The fixed shower head was way too low, so washing under it mean adopting a stoop in the narrow slippery bath-tub, the water in the shower was very under-powered and could not be adequately cooled, the loo took forever to re-fill, there's no WiFi in the bedrooms (no excuses for that in 2013), the single lift is very slow and showing its age, and finally, with 3 very separate areas in their rather lovely garden, you'd think that maybe one of them could be designated for non-smokers. So, really a score of 3.5, but 4, because the staff smiled.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor if its a hot day
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at the Queensbury for a second time this June, on a trip to Bath with friends. The hotel is as good as it was 4 years ago. Rooms well furnished and excellent bathrooms. Service is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately there was a large party of Canadians staying at the same time, so the breakfast service was a bit stretched. But the staff sorted once informed. Otherwise, no complaints and would revisit again. Street noise was fine, but we were at the top of the building.

Room Tip: Go to the top, or the back of the building.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moscovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £124 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing