We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We only stayed 1 night in Bath and quickly booked a hotel, expecting a decent boutique hotel but completely fell in love with the Queensberry hotel when we got there! Everything was perfect, from the very large room to the ridiculously comfortable bed to the attentive and friendly customer service- I highly recommend this boutique hotel, which was not only a pleasure to stay in but also very good value. We particularly enjoyed the attention to details the staff gives to their customers (eg: complementary spa kits), the quirky layout of the building (4 townhouses put together with a lovely walled garden) and the relaxing atmosphere (have I mentioned the marshmallowy quality of the beds?!). I have been raving about this hotel to friends and will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCat21134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear CheshireCat1124

What a fantastic review!

It is always a real boost to the team to read directly from our guests that they are doing a super job!

Thank you for recommending us to your friends and I do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    333
    87
    25
    17
See reviews for
148
847
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My room needed a bit of t&c on the decorating front and the sofa had definitely seen some action! The bed was very comfortable and the shower was good. Breakfast was odd. The granola is like no other that I've seen or tasted. Rather weird in fact. The bar man, Alessandro, deserves special mention as he was an excellent host. As are the staff in reception. You are made to feel extremely welcome and the value is okay for Bath, which in the whole is an expensive city to stay in (an amazing city to visit).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warlock1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Warlock1963

Thank you for your review.

Allessandro is delighted with your feedback, it means a great deal to individual team members to receive such fantastic recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Queensberry felt like a wonderful dream. The staff are extraordinarily genuine and the smoothness of service really made our stay special. The hotel looks fantastic, but there is real substance too. As others have mentioned, the valet parking makes life a lot easier. When we return to Bath, I can say with certainty that we won't consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Jkwil

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about the service my team gave you.

I am really pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that we are your number one choice in Bath - don't forget to book direct when you next stay to get a VIP discount card!

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We just had a great 2 night stay at the Queensberry. The room was large and bright. We had a huge bathroom, the staff is superb and they have valet parking which is great if you are driving on jet-lag. The hotel is a short walk to all of the best that Bath has to offer. It is right in the cneter of things, but tucked away on a quiet street. The breakfast room is in their restaurant. They offer a continental and then some traditional items. All great. I love this place. Funky but fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatnPalmSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear EatnPalmSprings

Thank you for one of my all time favourite quotes about The Queensberry "Funky but Fabulous"!

We think this sums up beautifully the ethos of what we want to achieve and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Queensberry is handily placed for exploring Bath. It is a good, solid hotel which provides a comfortable stay with good rooms, the breakfast and restaurant are pretty good, the staff are cheerful and helpful and they have nice touches such as valet parking to handle the street parking constraints. The wifi worked well although there were a few hiccups moving between different areas, ie the bar logon differed from the lounge. Not a big issue but a bit of a pest. The bar and outside garden is a great place to relax.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the downstairs restaurant. Gets a bit of noise from the passing traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Peter M

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Queensberry and that my team looked after you well.

I'm glad that our valet parking service worked well for you, it does tend to be something that our guests really value. Having your car whisked away when you arrive and then delivered back when you leave is a rare commodity in a city where parking is extremely difficult!

When you are next in the UK I do hope that you choose to return to The Queensberry and I hope that the remainder of your trip was memorable.

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We booked late for a theatre trip to Bath, and while this hotel wasn't our first choice, we were very happy with our one-night stay. Although it's more expensive than we usually go for, and the extras were mostly things we didn't want or need, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable, the location was excellent and the valet parking very useful.
If you book directly, you get a VIP card which gives you discount in the bar and restaurant. We didn't use this as the food wasn't to our taste, although the cooked breakfast was very good. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, but tea and coffee are available in the lounge till 5 pm, and at other times they will provide tea or coffee to your room free of charge. The WiFi worked well, and the password is in the information binder or available on request,
One note of caution: some of the stairs have uneven treads - I missed my footing a couple of times. I have reported this to the staff, so hopefully they'll get it sorted.
Overall this was a good experience and we would consider this hotel again if other choices were unavailable. The price wasn't bad, given the extras they offered.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theatrebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Theatrebunny

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you chose to stay at The Queensberry and that you enjoyed your time with us. Our VIP card has certainly become very popular and has given us a great way to say thank you to guests that book direct with us rather than through a third party. The VIP card offers change frequently so I do hope that you will have the opportunity to take advantage of them next time you stay.

I trust your evening at The Theatre Royal was enjoyable and thank you for pointing out the uneven step when you checked out - this has been rectified straight away.

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed in room 6 for the weekend. Room 6 is at the front of the hotel - above the entrance to the kitchen.

Dinner at the restaurant on the Friday was excellent - really nice meal. Can thoroughly recommend booking dinner here - a modern AIR CONDITIONED restaurant. Sadly cannot say the same for the hotel rooms.

Service at front of hotel is really good - staff are friendly & they always appear to be on hand. The £5 fee for parking is brilliant idea - takes all the stress away of trying to find somewhere to park - small touches like this do make a difference - particularly on arrival when you have been stuck in traffic, delayed & tired. But small touches get forgotten really quickly after a bad nights sleep.

Room 6 is looking somewhat tired with a few dodgy stains on the carpet & the mattress really needs replacing - it feels like an air bed (you feel everytime your partner moves in the bed!).

There is no aircon, so the room gets really hot. We paid for the double deluxe room, which gets you a bottle of prosecco in your room on arrival. Sadly, the bottle had only just been put into ice bucket so it was lukewarm - really disappointing considering the weekend away was my wife's birthday present.

As the room is on the front of the hotel, you get all the noise from the people heading back from the town up the hill going home. And believe me, it can get pretty noisy! They do supply a desk fan, but that is so old you can hear the bearings! Also, the gate to the entrance for the kitchen really needs an oiling as it sounds like someone scratching a blackboard every time it got opened (which was a lot between 11.30 & 12.30 as the staff all headed home!)

think it was around 3am when I last looked at the clock - next time was when the seagulls started at 4am! Then when the kitchen staff arrived, could hear them banging pots & shouting to each other - still at least it meant we were first down to breakfast both days!

We asked to be moved - but sadly no rooms at the back of the hotel, so settled for a move to the top floor at the front of hotel - think it was room 20. Much nicer room, cleaner & a twin bed put together into a double & very comfortable.

Privacy is a small issue - they could do we with net curtains in these rooms that most hotels have which you can pull across so that you dont have to have all the blinds drawn when getting dressed etc.

Saturday night ate out & returned early to hotel as so tired - went to the restaurant to order dessert but sadly restaurant fully booked. Maitre d' said we could have it served in the bar no problem & said he would be up shortly. Sadly he must have forgotten about us as we never saw him & went to bed after sitting in the bar for 30 minutes.

2nd night got off to better start, until around midnight when we were awoken by a guests car which had had a puncture the night before & had been delivered back by a breakdown truck - which was parked outside the hotel with its engine revving for around 30 minutes. So another nights sleep ruined.

All in all, cannot recommend this hotel because of lack of good nights sleep. The rooms don't have aircon - when you are paying £550 for 2 nights I would have expected aircon as standard. If you do decide to stay, insist on a rear facing room & refuse to stay in room 6 as it is not deluxe standard.

Disappointing weekend in Bath - spent the whole of Saturday walking round like zombies due to being so tired. Wont be forgetting it in a hurry!

Room Tip: No Airconditioned bedrooms (unless you move your bed into the restaurant!) make this hotel unsuitabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gingertip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Gingertip
Thank you for taking the time compose such a comprehensive review of your recent visit to The Queensberry Hotel.

Firstly I would like to say that I am most concerned that you have rated your overall experience as “Awful”. It is important for us to have the opportunity to restore your faith in the product and service that we offer and invite you to contact me personally so that I may have the opportunity to discuss your feedback in person.

It is clear from your comments that there were opportunities for us to immediately rectify some of the negative aspects of your stay, such as the fan in your room, noise from the kitchen and the temperature of the Prosecco. There are few things that lead to greater dismay than to learn of these types of issues on a review site. A quick call to reception is all that is necessary and as you say yourself, we are a friendly team keen to provide good service and immediately put right anything that may not be to a guest’s satisfaction.

I am sorry that you found the first room you stayed in uncomfortable due to the short heat-wave, regrettably the installation of air-conditioning throughout four Georgian town-houses is not a viable option for us.

I am grateful that you have brought to my attention the noisy gate, carpet cleaning and your missed dessert order. Relevant actions have been taken in each of these areas and I apologise for the impact that these issues had on your stay.

As a city centre hotel, we do occasionally have passers by that are not as considerate as they could be and frustratingly this together with noise from seagulls is out of our control. Over half our bedrooms are front facing and this is rarely brought to out attention as an issue however I am sorry that this caused such a disruption to your experience.

I do hope to hear from you soon laurenm@thequeensberry.co.uk .

Yours Sincerely

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing