We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable Queensberry”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hospitable Queensberry”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have just got back from a trip that included a brief visit to Bath, where we stayed at our old favourite, the Queensberry Hotel. We would normally go for at least two nights, as a city break, the highlight of which is always the comfortable surrounds of the Queensberry.

This time we stayed only overnight on our way through. Arriving late (11pm), we were warmly welcomed by the staff who came out of the hotel, helped us with our luggage, and whisked the car away to off-road parking. It felt as if they had been waiting up especially to greet us. We were taken to our room and weary from our journey all we had to do was collapse into the most comfortable of beds.

After an excellent night's sleep, making full use of the generous check out time, we feasted on the luxuriant buffet breakfast (the homemade granola is delicious), and feeling fully restored we went on our way.

Overall, for us, The Queensberry rarely fails to deliver. Its central location, its comfort, its value for money and its private ownership all underpin its utmost quality which is good old traditional English hospitality.

Room Tip: We have stayed at the Queensberry many times and have stayed in a variety of rooms around the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank compostcleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    349
    90
    26
    17
See reviews for
159
879
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east sussex uk
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Yes it does ,our third or fourth stay here over many years , the owners have jazzed it up in a good way since our last visit , the bar is smarter,and the food is excellent.I felt before that it was good but now it's unmissable , miles better than the bath priory where we had dinner on this trip.
They go that extra mile for their customers , and the situation being just a stroll from the centre is perfect.
Woods restaurant , again a short distance away,is a good place for lunch , had a really nice meal there.

Room Tip: A little noisy if you have a room overlooking the front .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanEastSussexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Googled quality hotels in BATH - the Queensberry Hotel was amongst the results - the first I looked at - Liked the look of the website and the fact it was independently owned ! Didn't bother checking out any other hotels - called the hotel direct - The telephone was answered promptly & professionally - options were discussed with the minimum of fuss a deluxe room for our anniversary break reserved. The level of service and comfort we experienced during our stay did not disappoint !

Chris Cleghorn (Head Chef ) and his Team must be given a special mention as the food served in The Olive Tree Restaurant was exceptional & superior to any food dining experience for a hotel of this standard we had previously enjoyed - another week to enjoy every dish on the menu would have been great - we will return to complete the "foodie" task in the near future. Cant believe the restaurant is not Michelin Star Rated - it was that good - maybe one day soon !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Love this place and can not fault it. Located on a quiet street but still very close to the centre and a short walk from the Royal Crescent. Feels old worldly but also very contemporary - a great balance that mirrors Bath as a city. Room was huge, bed was insanely comfortable, with the softest pillows and duvet ever! Lovely elegant decor, old fireplace, plenty of light and space. We had a separate walk in cupboard and a bathroom separate from the bedroom. Felt very homely. Hotel decorated beautifully throughout. Staff very welcoming and helpful in planning itineraries around Bath. Definitely the kind of place to get away from it all - I went on a staycation for 3 nights and wish I could have stuck around for longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimSP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear SimranS1

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Queensberry.

We have taken great care to individually design each of our bedrooms to emphasize the many beautiful original Georgian features whilst adding stylish contemporary touches. I am really pleased that you liked the decor in your room and throughout the hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you managed to see and do everything you wanted to during your three nights with us.

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We only stayed 1 night in Bath and quickly booked a hotel, expecting a decent boutique hotel but completely fell in love with the Queensberry hotel when we got there! Everything was perfect, from the very large room to the ridiculously comfortable bed to the attentive and friendly customer service- I highly recommend this boutique hotel, which was not only a pleasure to stay in but also very good value. We particularly enjoyed the attention to details the staff gives to their customers (eg: complementary spa kits), the quirky layout of the building (4 townhouses put together with a lovely walled garden) and the relaxing atmosphere (have I mentioned the marshmallowy quality of the beds?!). I have been raving about this hotel to friends and will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCat21134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear CheshireCat1124

What a fantastic review!

It is always a real boost to the team to read directly from our guests that they are doing a super job!

Thank you for recommending us to your friends and I do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My room needed a bit of t&c on the decorating front and the sofa had definitely seen some action! The bed was very comfortable and the shower was good. Breakfast was odd. The granola is like no other that I've seen or tasted. Rather weird in fact. The bar man, Alessandro, deserves special mention as he was an excellent host. As are the staff in reception. You are made to feel extremely welcome and the value is okay for Bath, which in the whole is an expensive city to stay in (an amazing city to visit).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warlock1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Warlock1963

Thank you for your review.

Allessandro is delighted with your feedback, it means a great deal to individual team members to receive such fantastic recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Queensberry felt like a wonderful dream. The staff are extraordinarily genuine and the smoothness of service really made our stay special. The hotel looks fantastic, but there is real substance too. As others have mentioned, the valet parking makes life a lot easier. When we return to Bath, I can say with certainty that we won't consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Jkwil

Thank you for your review and your kind comments about the service my team gave you.

I am really pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that we are your number one choice in Bath - don't forget to book direct when you next stay to get a VIP discount card!

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing