We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spacious Room”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Spacious Room”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I loved the room. I loved the location. I think the reason I liked the hotel so much is that it is in genuine Georgian buildings, modernized for comfort. The staff were very helpful. If I ever get back to Bath I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    346
    90
    26
    17
See reviews for
158
873
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked a Junior Suite direct with the hotel. The room (room 8) was beautiful, lovely full height Georgian windows, very large bed with very good pillows and mattress, the staff are also very good, nice breakfast too.

There are some areas that let the hotel down however. It's quite overpriced for what it is, we paid nearly £400 a night for B&B and a bottle of Prosecco. We got a free cloth bag, the sort you buy in a supermarket for £1. I've stayed in much better boutique hotels for much less money - Hotel Du Vin for example, although Bath does seem to be a high price bubble when it comes to hotels.

Also the bathroom in room 8 seems oddly small compared to the huge bedroom and it needs some maintenance, a few broken floor tiles, badly discoloured and damaged grouting and marble, and a lot of the woodwork around the bath has expanded and cracked where it's absorbed water.

A nespresso machine in the bedroom would be nice too, fairly standard in a lot of rooms of this price now.

All in all we had a lovely weekend though and enjoyed our time in the beautiful bedroom, next time we're in Bath will probably be next year. We're thinking we'll give The Gainsborough a try.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GarethWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Pleasant hotel with stylish design and spacious room. But there is no WiFi in the rooms (although there is free WiFi downstairs in the common areas)? For this reason alone I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Queensberry.

I am delighted to advise you that we currently working on a project to provide a robust Wifi service throughout the entire property. Due to the nature of our building this is proving to be a complex task however we are confident that this service will be available for our guest to enjoy in the not too distant future.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a good hotel with friendly helpful staff but unfortunately our room no. 3 had a small double bed which was only 1 foot away from a wall & a draughty window. The shower which worked ok had a door that did not fit correctly even though there had been some attempt to repair it. We ate at the restaurant which was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in mid September. Received a warm welcome upon arrival...we were checked in promptly and our rented vehicle was whisked away to be parked at a safe spot. Room was clean and comfortable except for the heaters which were slightly ineffective. The staff were very helpful in providing assistance for directions and places to visit etc. In short, service was excellent. Location was good as well...5 mins walk to the botanical gardens by the Royal Crescent and 10 mins to the city center. We were able to walk to most parts of the city without having to drive from this location.

We dined at the Olive Tree on the second evening and the food was fantastic...would definitely give any one star Michelin restaurant a run for their money.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and we would definitely stay here if we return to Bath.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TzeYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear TzeYoung

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and it's great to read that you took the time to explore some of the hidden gems of Bath such as the beautiful and serene Botanical Gardens.

Chef was really pleased to read your comments about the Olive Tree and if you would like to write a seperate review under the restaurant listing that would be fantastic.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Queensberry Hotel sits on the edge of Bath's centre. Lean out of the window and you could skim a copy of Pride and Prejudice to the doorstep of the Assembly Rooms. And as Bath is a small city everywhere else (Roman Baths, Circus, Royal Crescent, Thermae Bath Spa etc) are all within easy walking distance.

Parking is easy - you hand the keys to reception and for £5 per stay they do the rest and that, in Bath, is a bargain.

The rooms are large with high ceilings and marshmallow-soft beds but be warned, the sash windows are singe glazed (planning rules you understand...) and that means rooms at the front can be noisy. Russell Street isn't the busiest road in Bath but it can be a rat-run and any noisy revellers who choose to wander this way can really mess up your sleep. Ask for a room at the back - the best views of Bath aren't from the hotel anyway.

The hotel has its own posh restaurant, The Olive Tree, which isn't pretentious but neither is it cheap. There are plenty of other places to eat within easy walking.

The staff are friendly and greet everyone as a friend so you quickly understand that this is almost a family-run hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rallyman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I booked directly with the hotel for a one night stay last week and it was a great choice! Honestly you can't fault this hotel from the ease of making the reservation to checking out. The staff are brilliant and attentive, the room was large and absolutely gorgeous, the breakfast was delicious and filling. We even got upgraded and there were some chocolates in a nice box with a lovely note for husband because we were celebrating his birthday. (also a really cute linen bag was left for us because we booked directly with them!)

The last time we stayed in Bath we stayed at a lovely B&B but we decided we wanted to do something different and stay in a different part of town and I am really glad we did! I will definitely be staying at the Queensberry again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sachaerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing