We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book direct for the best deals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Book direct for the best deals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked directly with the hotel - they beat any rate available online and they gave us a complimentary room upgrade, inclusive of full breakfast. We took our 2.5 month old baby and a travel cot was already set up in our room when we arrived. The staff were really helpful. Valet parking was great. It was a bit noisy around midnight with people leaving nearby bars (our room was on the groundfloor at the front of the hotel). Would def stay again though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Car0lineR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    333
    87
    25
    17
See reviews for
148
847
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at the Queensberry Hotel last weekend for 2 nights and had an amazing time. The hotel is beautiful and very uniquely decorated. The drawing room downstairs is a lovely little room to have your tea and coffee in, and the Q Bar serves some amazing cocktails.

We had a bit of an issue on our first night which was a Saturday, as lots of people were walking up and down the street outside to and from town making quite a lot of noise into the early hours. Even though there was nothing the hotel staff could have done to stop it, they were very apologetic the next day and explained that every so often the street does get a little noisy on a Saturday night. They offered us a smaller room at the back of the hotel as they were very busy that weekend, but we decided to keep our room and luckily the Sunday night was very, very quiet and we had a much better night's sleep.

We had a deluxe room which was beautiful and very spacious. It included a walk-in wardrobe and a beautiful, big bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfy and the room service was just incredible!

The staff are really helpful and friendly, and we can't wait to stay again!

Room Tip: If you are staying on a Saturday night, it might be worth asking for a room over-looking the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseM_1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home from our three night stay at The Queensberry. We have stayed many times at The Queensberry and continue to receive excellent service and quality. Each member of staff we had contact with was polite, professional and friendly. Our room provided us with every comfort we could wish for, sumptuous towels and robes, complimentary toiletries and a huge comfortable bed to sink into for a peaceful nights sleep. We enjoyed relaxing drinks in the bar and delicious breakfasts in the restaurant. The hotel is within walking distance to the shops, The Circus, Royal Crescent and Parks giving a wealth of things to do within easy reach. We are very much looking forward to returning to The Queensberry very soon!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Eight of us stayed here to celebrate my 70th birthday. Absolutely lovely - even a box of chocolates in the room when I arrived. The staff are friendly and made sure that everything was perfect for our stay.
Spacious room. Nice bathroom and toiletries. Comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast.
Could not fault this hotel.
Short walk into town. Yes, it is uphill on the way back but this is Bath.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amdastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Unusual layout and decoration - beautifully done. Room well appointed (No12) and very comfy bed. Very clean. Some noise from people walking home as room at front - but it is close to city centre so to be expected. Birthday weekend for my Mum and the 8 of us staying all loved it. Plenty of communal spaces to relax in - lounge and bar comfy chairs. Very helpful and attentive staff. Rooms at back of hotel get quite warm in the afternoon. Pretty courtyard. Good breakfast. Really nice touch to provide spa pack for trips to Thermae Spa - thank you. Lovely 2 nights - would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at back very warm. A little street noise at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We liked the Queensberry and will be going back in the summer. It's in a great location (tho bear in mind, Bath is a hilly city and the Queensberry is a bit of a climb from central Bath) and has definite character. The Olive Tree restaurant is exquisite and the staff are very knowledgable and helpful. It's based in a bit of a rabbit warren, but that adds to the character. We had dinner and breakfast there, and both were delightful. The cocktail bar is small and intimate and the cocktail waitress is very good, knocking up 'off menu' cocktails with skill and enthusiasm. The hotel offers a 'spa pack', robes and towels, shampoo etc for those visiting the Thermae Spa, which we took advantage of and were very grateful for it.

The not-so-good: there aren't tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, you are expected to get all the coffee you need in the drawing room, by reception, or pay for espresso based coffee from room service. An elegant idea, but it rather fails first thing in the morning, especially when your room is a good walk, up several staircases from reception. The first morning we phoned down for coffee and was told it was available in the lounge, although actually it wasn't. The second morning, my husband went down to get coffee and again it wasn't ready (despite being past 8am) so a very helpful receptionist bought it up to our room once it was ready.

Additionally, if you have a room at the front of the hotel, you could find your sleep disturbed by rowdy people in the street. Unfortunately, I doubt the nature of the building will allow for double glassing, but curtains or shutters would reduce noise.

Room Tip: Avoid room 28, it gets noise from the room above and the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TlaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I've stayed at the Queensbury about 4 times now, for business and pleasure and it never disappoints. The hotel is very comfortable and ideally situated to explore Bath. If I have to make any sort of criticism then perhaps it's the service.

Don't misunderstand me; the service is very good, but perhaps in their attempt to provide the best customer experience, it can sometimes come across as a bit cold and sterile.

I'm not sure if I we've been unlucky in my timing, but each time I've stayed at the Queensbury, which includes weekends and weekdays, it's always been pretty quite in the evenings and often the the bar is empty. In my view the hotel needs to create a bit more of an atmosphere, a bit of pizzazz, create a bit more soul and I think the first thing to do is employ an experienced bar tender to help you explore and enjoy or those intresting whiskies? An empty and unmanned bar never seems that friendly.

Perhaps this review is more for the Queensbury management than customers and perhaps I'm just being a bit too prickly - Because as the title of my review says, " it is a great hotel, in a great city and I recommend both whole heartily.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing