We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home.”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco area
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A home away from home.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is my second stay at the Queensberry. Great location, great room, great service, and a phenomenal restaurant. I don't know that we could have asked for anything to be better. The staff was very attentive, helpful, and un-pretentious. This is the place to stay in Bath.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manydogsandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    340
    89
    25
    17
See reviews for
154
856
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago and loved it.
Return visit didn't disposing. Although the room was smallish the views over the city were lovely and the room had the worlds comfiest bed. Great location for a wander around stunning Bath.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We decided at the last minute to break our journey in Bath due to glorious weather.
We booked a superior room at the Queensberry and so happy we did.
Delightful check in,car valet parked,gorgeous snack in the garden....perfect.
A charming room on the third floor with a great view of the town,well equipped bathroom and the oh so comfortable bed.
All in all the experience was great and the location is perfect.
Staff so friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
We missed breakfast due to comfy bed but again snacked in the lovely garden....
My only regret is we stayed just one night but we will be back again in the near future.
It is a home from home and even nice touches like free all day coffee which is great in an expensive city.
Thanks to all the staff as they make the place so much nicer in a competitive city.

Room Tip: stay on the third floor at the back if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenguinTuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in Bath on several occasions, but I definitely know where I will stay if I visit the city again. I found this hotel via VisitBath and I'm very glad I did. Just a stone's throw from The Circus and Royal Crescent, at the top of the cobbled hill, it gave us the opportunity of exploring this more peaceful part of the city and we found some excellent little specialist shops nearby. The welcome was a very friendly one and the range of teas available in the lounge was superb. Our room was beautiful, spacious, bright and had an amazing view. The room was equipped with a range of local magazines and brochures, along with a bottle of fresh water. We did miss having tea making facilities in our room, but room service was available when the tea in the lounge was not. The staff could not have been more friendly and pleasant. I would definitely recommend and won't stay anywhere else in Bath in the future. Fabulous!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the 4 poster bed suite for one night on our trip to Bath. We were looking for a comfortable stay in the centre of Bath, within walking distance to all the main attractions and The Queenbury provided both - it is approximately a 10-15 minute walk to the centre. The presentation of the room was immaculate and a lot larger than we expected from the photos. The bedroom had a king size bed which was extremely comfortable, I fact my boyfriend says it was the most comfortable bed he'd ever slept in. The duvet and pillow bedding was all duck down and very cosy. The en suite bathroom was huge, complete with a stand alone tub and a generous shower cubicle with two showers. The bathroom was large enough to have a divan sofa as well which was great for chilling out on. Room service was speedy, however we did feel that the menu was limited, for dinner they mainly had snacks however I am sure the hotel restaurant which we did not look at May have had a wider selection. Breakfast was included in our package and the service was good with a good selection of breakfast choices - there is the buffet of cereals, toast, fruit and juice and also a cooked breakfast menu, we had the English fry which was delicious. The service provided by the staff overall was excellent, all we're very friendly and helpful. We did appreciate that although we checked out an hour later than we were supposed to, we did not get a single knock on the door but a polite phonecall, in comparison to other hotels I have stayed at where the staff harass you if you are more than 5 minutes over. Further, the receptionist booked our cab for us when we were leaving and there was an area for leaving our baggage when we set off to explore the city centre. I will reiterate that we walked from the hotel to the city centre in about 10 minutes. In total, we would whole-hearted lay recommend The Queensberry Hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in the city centre.

Room Tip: No fitness centre or swimming pool facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avalon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed in room 29, faces the back, and were not charmed by the place. The telephone didn't work when we tried to call down, the television didn't work (we wanted to watch the Grand National steeplechase.) There was no coffee or tea in the salon when we left at 8 am. There's no business center- you stand next to the hotel clerk and type on their Dell keyboard which has no letters visible on part of it if you want to print your boarding pass. There's no porter, and they seem unhappy to help you haul your luggage up and down all those stairs. Room is spacious, as is the bathroom, with a great bathtub though quite slippery for a shower. They charge you for the newspaper, etc.

Room Tip: Elevator only for some sections of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Queensberry was originally four Georgian houses on one street. In common with lots of the original buildings in Bath, they are elegant and full of character. So it is with the hotel. The quirky conversions are linked by staircases going in all directions which add to the character. If you are not fit enough for them ,there is a lift serving all of the floors. The staff are all friendly and helpful and, as noted by others, they quickly remove your car from the street so that you don't have to worry about parking. The deluxe rooms are spacious,airy and beautifully furnished. The bathrooms are large and well equipped. The overall experience is one of luxury and comfort. The cocktail bar offers truly excellent cocktails and the Olive Tree restaurant must be one of the best in Bath. none of this comes cheap but in a town like Bath with loads of mediocre places to stay and eat, this certainly rates among the best.
My major gripe was, when we rebooked for a two night stay in May, the second night was going to cost us £70 more than the first night. Not exactly the way to reward returning clients. Especially when they could see we had frequented both their bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. The street can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill2Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing