We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We loved Bath. A great city, wonderful cathedral, beautiful buildings, fantastic countryside, loads of bars and quality restaurants. If you haven't been you should spend some time there.

Our first impression of this hotel was that it was a little disappointing. It has great potential, but doesn't quite deliver. There was no WOW factor. The internal decor was a little uninspiring, the reception is a little odd, the lounge area was dull and cold looking, with dismal red clay coloured walls and then our room on the third floor looked like it needed refurbishing. All in all it lacked a little charm. This hotel has all the right elements but it just falls short on creating something special.

So initially we felt we had made the wrong choice, but as we spent time here it kind of grew on us. Mainly due to the staff, who are all very good, very polite, always cheerful and ready to help. They are a credit to the hotel.

The location of the hotel however, is superb, right in the heart of Bath a few minutes walk to the Circus and the Royal Crescent and a short walk downhill to the many bars and restaurants. We had tickets for the Thermal Spa which we walked to (about 10 minutes downhill) this was a superb facility and well worth a visit, a great way to spend a couple of hours.

The age of the Queensberry building means you get a lot of creaking floorboards, uneven walls, poorly fitting windows etc, these can be quaint and add character and this hotel has plenty so you have to accept them. But I think generally the hotel needs an upgrade, the public rooms and particularly the bedrooms need a bit of extra dressing up to make them a little more cosy, so that they appear a bit special, at the moment they are ok but lack that extra feel of quality. Our bathroom had a badly cracked tile on the floor, the trim around the base of the bath needed repairing and the shower over the bath - well you had to crouch down to get your head under. And both the bathroom and bedroom had naff roller blinds, no curtains at all. For the room rate I expected better. The owners need to find something unique to add to each room, something like dramatic lighting, large mirrors, individual art etc., at the moment there's nothing that makes you think the Queensberry is special, it's just ok, not bad, just ok.

The bar area was actually quite nice and well managed, probably the best of the public rooms and the bar manager - a girl from Dorset - was very efficient and friendly, again she reflected the commitment of the staff.

Personally I would bring the bar to the front room of the hotel, (currently the lounge) and move the lounge back to where the bar is now. The bar would be used more by the clients at the entrance and it would make the lounge more interesting making use of the 2 small bar rooms and you would then have access to the garden patio from the lounge. At the moment the patio is off the bar which is hardly used until after dinner when the evening is virtually gone and the patio is too dark to use.

The parking was good, they valet parked the car for £10 which was very convenient as finding a parking space around here is difficult.

The breakfast which is served in the Olive Tree restaurant in the basement was ok, but not great. Again excellent service but the food, particularly the buffet just not 100%.
Overall this is a nice small hotel, worth considering, if you get a deal, but with a little extra effort and attention to detail it could be very good. People use the description boutique, but to me it falls a little short. We would be unlikely to stay here again, but don't be put off by me it's not THAT bad, it's just not that good. It's average.

One final thing - who is it in authority in Bath that has decided it's OK to let the place be overrun by Sea/Land Gulls? They are everywhere, they are massive (the size of flying dogs) and are a nuisance. They leave great piles of bird poo everywhere, they make a horrible racket, (from about three in the morning) as they scavenge for food from the waste put out by the local restaurants and they need to be culled!
There are literally thousands of them and are only there because of the bin bags left out at night, Bath is a beautiful city, a fantastic short break destination but it is being ruined by these horrible, aggressive birds! Send em off back to Bristol and the coast!

Room Tip: Room 19 looked a good size from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    336
    89
    25
    17
See reviews for
152
853
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I inadvertently placed this review under another Queensberry Hotel in Devon or Cornwall. That's what happens when you do these at the end of a long day of touring.
In any even, it is the Queensberry in Bath that I wish to write about. A lovely charming hotel with a great staff, comfortable rooms and a super but expensive restaurant on premises (The Olive). This is our 4th stay and it is just great. he location is wonderful with short walks to the Baths, Royal Crescent and the Assembly. Get the bed and breakfast rate as the breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: there is a junior suite that overlooks Russell St which is huge. ask for it. it sleeps 3 easily and...
See more room tips
Green Features: Can't remember any specific ones. They do seem up to date on most areas altho I would love sinks with just one faucet, not 2.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Queensberry Hotel for a two day 'city break". The hotel is ideally situated within easy walking distance of the centre of the city in a Georgian terrace, and the unpretentious exterior belies the quality within. We were made very welcome by the staff who continued to be very friendly, helpful and attentive throughout our stay.
Our room was very spacious and well appointed, overlooking the shady rear garden which is available to guests and was particularly pleasant during the hot sunny days when we were there. We did not eat in the Olive Tree restaurant but our breakfasts were beautifully presented and freshly cooked to order.
In summary this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in and we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoverians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed recently for two nights as part of a walking holiday organised by another local Bath business Foot Trails. It was a wonderful experience. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, they parked my car for me on arrival, took my bags, and accompanied me to my room. It was glorious sunny weather and with no air conditioning the room became quite warm in the evenings, the staff switched my bedding from duvet to sheets and blankets immediately which was lovely. The room was spacious, with separate bathroom and dressing room. It's in a lovely location behind the Assembly Rooms, far enough away from the bustle of the centre to guarantee peace, but a 2 minute walk puts you in the heart of things. I spent the days walking in the beautiful countryside that surrounds Bath, and was slightly worried that my arriving back at the hotel in the afternoons in hiking boots and with a rucksack might lower the tone a bit, but the staff didn't bat an eyelid. I ate in the Olive Tree restaurant one night - the food was pricey but superb and the wine list was excellent, as you'd expect from somewhere with the awards and reputation that the Olive Tree boasts.The breakfasts at the hotel were amazing. My only slight criticism is that while the restaurant ambiance was perfect for a slightly subfusc evening meal, it was a tad gloomy for first thing in the morning. A really special hotel - I'll definitely stay here again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotels location is just outside heart of the city centre. It is an ideal walking distance to shops, restaurants and attractions. There was no road noise from traffic or late night revellers.
But, the rooms are not all that spacious and they are in need of renovation, the bathroom floor was tiled but they were cracked, the bath had a fixed shower overhead, but only at a height of 5.06, so standing beneath it was not possible. The paintwork was tired and peeling. Having said that the bed was large and comfortable. There was no in room tea/coffee, but was supplied in the ground floor sitting room(but not really useful at late/early hours).
The staff were VERY courteous and helpful.
Valet parking of your car may be a personal matter for your pride and joy. No on-site parking but the staff will drive your car to a nearby street(for £10 per day), they are insured to drive it, but whilst it is parked, its your responsibility, thats fine unless it comes back scuffed like mine. Who is to says who or where it happened. There are long stay car parks in the area for cheaper than £10, but you take your chances there too.
£150 per night may be city prices but too much for a dated accommodation for my liking.
No pool or fitness facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very nice boutique property with friendly, attentive staff and nice amenities. It was so lovely upon arrival to have them stow our bags and have a cup of tea/coffee in the parlour. They also have a beautiful garden area available for drinks, cocktails, etc. We were very happy with the size and decor of the room and there was plenty of space for a roll-away bed for our daughter in the suite. We didn't sleep late, so being on the street side wasn't a problem for us. Breakfast was convenient and had plenty of options for everyone. Kudos to the staff for taking great care of us.

Loved the location, which was easy access to town center, but not among the businesses and bars. Maybe a 5 minute walk to the heart of town. Take a cab from the train station. While do-able by foot, it was only 6 pounds by taxi. Save your feet for other activities.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a large suite with street-facing windows. Beautiful room with a nice sitting area for brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterwings13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
621 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was the second stay we have had at the Queensberry and we were hugely impressed. From the moment we arrived when someone came out of the hotel without being asked to meet us and fetch our bags to when we departed the service was superb. Add to that the fact that its a charming well-located boutique hotel and in itself a really pleasant place to spend time in it adds up to one of the best hotel experiences we have had in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrushM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing