We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were recommended this hotel by a friend & can not fault it, the staff were friendly & couldnt have been more helpful!
Complimentary robes & towels were given when we mentioned we were heading to the thermal spa & on our return from our dinner in town the barman was fabulous!
Room was superb, great atmosphere, very clean & roomy (room 17), valet parking, 10 minute walk to the city centre was a perfect location, will certainly be returning when we visit Bath again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for two nights during the week and was very impressed. The hotel was spotless and the facilities top-notch. The location is perfect and is just 10 minutes from the main sights of the city. Even though it was central this did not impact on the noise from the nearby street. The only problem was the noise of seagulls (but you can get that anywhere).

The room I stayed in was beautiful and had everything needed, except a fridge which would have been useful to chill drinks. The hotel itself has a lot of staircases and feels like you are walking into the home of a well-to-do family who live in 19th century Bath.

The staff were very helpful, with one in particular. He was always friendly and even prepared my partner and I some fantastic cocktails, even though he was relatively new to the position and was not the designated barman.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAGLEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently stayed at this Georgian hotel for a family celebration. It is very comfortable, the rooms spacious and attractively decorated. The location is ideal for wandering around Bath and enjoying all that there is to see. The staff are kind and really helpful.

The food in the Olive Tree restaurant is delicious - particularly for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night as a mini getaway midweek and booked directly with the hotel. On arrival our car was quickly moved via the valeting service and a small parking fee was paid (I think it was £6 as we booked directly -a bargain for the centre of the city). We were politely guided to our room and were very pleased with it's spaciousness and facilities. The room as decorated to a high standard and the bathroom was lovely. During our stay we made the most of the free tea and coffee facilities in the lounge and were pleased how comfortable and quiet our room was. We didn't indulge in the restaurant or bar area as we had reservations elsewhere. Overall we both felt like we had a wonderful stay and were thankful to the staff for being attentive. We are looking to stay here again this autumn!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank nao2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We loved Bath. A great city, wonderful cathedral, beautiful buildings, fantastic countryside, loads of bars and quality restaurants. If you haven't been you should spend some time there.

Our first impression of this hotel was that it was a little disappointing. It has great potential, but doesn't quite deliver. There was no WOW factor. The internal decor was a little uninspiring, the reception is a little odd, the lounge area was dull and cold looking, with dismal red clay coloured walls and then our room on the third floor looked like it needed refurbishing. All in all it lacked a little charm. This hotel has all the right elements but it just falls short on creating something special.

So initially we felt we had made the wrong choice, but as we spent time here it kind of grew on us. Mainly due to the staff, who are all very good, very polite, always cheerful and ready to help. They are a credit to the hotel.

The location of the hotel however, is superb, right in the heart of Bath a few minutes walk to the Circus and the Royal Crescent and a short walk downhill to the many bars and restaurants. We had tickets for the Thermal Spa which we walked to (about 10 minutes downhill) this was a superb facility and well worth a visit, a great way to spend a couple of hours.

The age of the Queensberry building means you get a lot of creaking floorboards, uneven walls, poorly fitting windows etc, these can be quaint and add character and this hotel has plenty so you have to accept them. But I think generally the hotel needs an upgrade, the public rooms and particularly the bedrooms need a bit of extra dressing up to make them a little more cosy, so that they appear a bit special, at the moment they are ok but lack that extra feel of quality. Our bathroom had a badly cracked tile on the floor, the trim around the base of the bath needed repairing and the shower over the bath - well you had to crouch down to get your head under. And both the bathroom and bedroom had naff roller blinds, no curtains at all. For the room rate I expected better. The owners need to find something unique to add to each room, something like dramatic lighting, large mirrors, individual art etc., at the moment there's nothing that makes you think the Queensberry is special, it's just ok, not bad, just ok.

The bar area was actually quite nice and well managed, probably the best of the public rooms and the bar manager - a girl from Dorset - was very efficient and friendly, again she reflected the commitment of the staff.

Personally I would bring the bar to the front room of the hotel, (currently the lounge) and move the lounge back to where the bar is now. The bar would be used more by the clients at the entrance and it would make the lounge more interesting making use of the 2 small bar rooms and you would then have access to the garden patio from the lounge. At the moment the patio is off the bar which is hardly used until after dinner when the evening is virtually gone and the patio is too dark to use.

The parking was good, they valet parked the car for £10 which was very convenient as finding a parking space around here is difficult.

The breakfast which is served in the Olive Tree restaurant in the basement was ok, but not great. Again excellent service but the food, particularly the buffet just not 100%.
Overall this is a nice small hotel, worth considering, if you get a deal, but with a little extra effort and attention to detail it could be very good. People use the description boutique, but to me it falls a little short. We would be unlikely to stay here again, but don't be put off by me it's not THAT bad, it's just not that good. It's average.

One final thing - who is it in authority in Bath that has decided it's OK to let the place be overrun by Sea/Land Gulls? They are everywhere, they are massive (the size of flying dogs) and are a nuisance. They leave great piles of bird poo everywhere, they make a horrible racket, (from about three in the morning) as they scavenge for food from the waste put out by the local restaurants and they need to be culled!
There are literally thousands of them and are only there because of the bin bags left out at night, Bath is a beautiful city, a fantastic short break destination but it is being ruined by these horrible, aggressive birds! Send em off back to Bristol and the coast!

Room Tip: Room 19 looked a good size from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I inadvertently placed this review under another Queensberry Hotel in Devon or Cornwall. That's what happens when you do these at the end of a long day of touring.
In any even, it is the Queensberry in Bath that I wish to write about. A lovely charming hotel with a great staff, comfortable rooms and a super but expensive restaurant on premises (The Olive). This is our 4th stay and it is just great. he location is wonderful with short walks to the Baths, Royal Crescent and the Assembly. Get the bed and breakfast rate as the breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: there is a junior suite that overlooks Russell St which is huge. ask for it. it sleeps 3 easily and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Queensberry Hotel for a two day 'city break". The hotel is ideally situated within easy walking distance of the centre of the city in a Georgian terrace, and the unpretentious exterior belies the quality within. We were made very welcome by the staff who continued to be very friendly, helpful and attentive throughout our stay.
Our room was very spacious and well appointed, overlooking the shady rear garden which is available to guests and was particularly pleasant during the hot sunny days when we were there. We did not eat in the Olive Tree restaurant but our breakfasts were beautifully presented and freshly cooked to order.
In summary this is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in and we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoverians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 32 in Bath
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,313 reviews
0.4 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £99 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing