We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in a wonderful city”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay in a wonderful city”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We've stayed at the Queensberry many times and each time we do, we are reminded why we keep coming back. Friendly and professional service, very comfortable rooms and the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. The location is good too, as is the Olive Tree restaurant.
We will be going back later this year.

Room Tip: The attic rooms are good, but not as luxurious as the rooms on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    340
    89
    26
    17
See reviews for
154
860
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely hotel with beautiful rooms. Service was fantastic. We were greeted in arrival and our car was parked for a small price compared to some hotels. Found the restaurant and bar over priced but no problem we just ate elsewhere. The rooms were lovely and large and also quiet. Top marks.. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma83watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel was in good location all be it a bit of a climb to reach it This might be of interest if you are not too mobile!as the hotel is a maize of stairs although they do have a lift.We had a spacious room but with a low ceiling which in the very hot weather felt a bit clostraphobic . A very comfortable bed with nice linen . sadly no tea making facility in the room.Staff all very helpful and pleasant. We didn't dine in restaurant as many eating places quite close by

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for a 1 night stop-over from London to south of Cornwall in July 2014. The hotel is on a quiet street above the city center, close to the famous "The Circus" street and with just one night on our back, I can only give you a few highlights:

a) Parking: just stop in front of the hotel, put your luggage on the sidewalk and from there you are welcome. Valet parking, friendly staff, luggage magically went upstairs :-)

b) The "lobby" is a living room with free tea and coffee and just nice to hang out for the sight-seeing plans

c) The bar is cool and good.

d) Terrace and gardens are great, quiet to take a last drink before you dive into Bath or your bed.

The room was very clean, spacious and well equipped. No problems with the WiFi (in fact: very fast). The bathroom was also very clean and spacious.

All in all: not super luxury, but luxury in a pleasant, reluctant British way. And: they have their own, nice style!

Room Tip: A room to the gardens (back of hotel) is preferred for the views, IMHO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orgaZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Returning to this quirky haven in a busy life, we were hugely impressed as always by the friendly and attentive staff, the well designed bedrooms and nearly every aspect of a well run operation. The only quibble is that the Olive Tree restaurant, previously brilliant if expensive, is tending now to the pretentious and expensive . . . .

Room Tip: Go for south facing, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 91MikeF91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Queensberry to celebrate her 60th birthday. After notifying the staff of a serious incident (a missing item from our room) the response was to simply place ownership on us to sort it out with the police should we wish. The general manager failed to take ownership of the situation, simply hiding behind their policy and failed to be proactive in offering us any type of resolution. As well as an absence of the aforementioned basic customer service requirements, they further disappointed us with a distinct lack of empathy and their concern for only their housekeeping staff and not for us, their paying guests. When an establishment places a £270 weekend price tag per night, I expect to receive an exceptional level of customer service to match. Unfortunately this wasn't the case with the Queensberry (and as other negative reviews on here also suggest).

Ultimately after spending £1,500 at the hotel, we left disappointed and with a tainted memory of what had been a pleasurable visit to Bath for my wife's very special birthday.

We were so upset with the experience and wanted to just forget it, but my daughter (who was mortified at the experience after previously recommending) insisted on following the matter up and subsequently complained. After an exchange of hugely frustrating emails, the matter still hasn't been resolved and nor do we expect it to be.

I will not be recommending the Queensberry to my family and friends or to anybody reading this review.

Save some money and book a Premier Inn instead.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank applemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
It is extremely hard to respond to such a review. Whilst we fully recognise that these guests are upset, their portrayal of how the situation was handled is neither accurate nor fair.

When the guests approached us about the missing bottle of perfume from their room we spent over an hour with them discussing the situation. They made several accusations that it had been stolen. However we spoke with the housekeeping team all of whom have many years of service with the hotel and never before have we had a similar problem. As such and in view of the serious nature of the accusations we offered to get the police involved so that the loss could be investigated to their satisfaction.

However the guests asked for compensation instead which we, in the absence of any supporting evidence as to the loss, would not do.

Another member of the team was then subjected to an abusive telephone call by another member of the family who then sent several very aggressive e-mails that confirmed that a negative review on Tripadvisor would be posted unless they received compensation.

The team at the Queensberry Hotel are dedicated, honest and passionate about making our guests experience enjoyable and unique. We remain truly saddened at the behaviour of these guests but know from the hundreds of reviews on Tripadvisor that for the greater part we achieve what we aspire to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My boyfriend suprised me with a weekend away in Bath and chose this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by this wonderful hotel. On arrival we were greated with a large beautiful fresh bouquet of flowers and a bottle of fizz. The staff were friendly and the rooms always clean.

We had a beautiful suite, on the top floor. It was a hot weekend and i was glad that it clean light an airy.

We had breakfast in bed and though we didn't order it the night before we placed it in the morning and it came very quickly. Their cocktails were pretty good too. The only thing i would say is the lack facilities for tea / coffee however the staff were so quick in bringing
what we wanted I won't labour on that point.

I was disappointed that we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but you can be cetain we will return and eat there the next time.

We were so pleased as to it's location as it is central! And near to the Circus or the Crescent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyGandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing