We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bedroom, let down by the bathroom.”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful bedroom, let down by the bathroom.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

First impressions were great, the receptions staff welcome was lovely and warm. And being shown our room, number 7, was a nice touch and this room really was beautiful. Three big floor to ceiling sash windows, nice furnishings and a massive comfortable bed. Then the bathroom up 3 steps and first it seemed lovely and quirky, but on closer inspection it seemed tired and maintenance was an issue. The sealant round the bath/shower could do with replacing. There was a crack in the sink which had been repaired, but not very well. Floor tiles cracked to and whenever we had a shower water seemed to be under a few of the tiles and bubbled up when we stood on them.

It didn't spoil our time there, but the bathroom really does need a total update. And for the cost and standard of the bedroom it should be spot on in the bathroom.

Breakfast was nice with great service and quality seemed good to. Very pleased we went for valet parking and you must do this if staying here with a car. The position of the hotel was perfect for Bath and the street itself was quiet, even when we had the windows open at night we didn't hear a thing and slept well.

Room Tip: Number 7 was great, but oh that bathroom needs attention!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottg1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    344
    89
    26
    17
See reviews for
155
864
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Warm and efficient reception both booking in and out. Very pleasant staff and the breakfast was freshly cooked and of a very good standard.
Room spacious - bed very comfortable and all quiet at night.
It felt like you were in a 4.5 star hotel and if I am in Bath again will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is the single best hotel experience we have ever had in the UK! We did our best to remember the names of everyone that looked after us.

It isn't your bog standard hotel, it starts with an extremely warm welcome, you soon come to realise that nothing is too much trouble for the staff, they genuinely to look after you and want you to have a great time. Stefan and Caroline made us feel instantly at home.

Our room was large, clean, comfy and luxurious, even the chambermaids stopped to say hello when we saw them.

We ate out but have heard good things about the restaurant. We came back early hours on the morning and we're convinced by the Jason the porter to have a nightcap. We stayed up for several cocktails whilst being kept entertained by his funny stories.

Breakfast was also really tasty and the service was really great especially Ashton who gave us advice on things to see in Bath.

We left after one nights stay feeling so relaxed and pampered as if we had stayed 3 days. We will definitely be back and if you are thinking about staying here, do not hesitate, it's amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had an amazing 3 night stay. Very comfortable, luxurious room. The staff were fantastic and nothing was to much trouble for them. The service could not be better. Dinner in the Olive Tree was absolutely superb and found the restaurant and bar over priced. Would definitely choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I have just had a two night stay at the Queensberry - our first visit to Bath as tourists rather than on business. It's a delightful hotel, quite quirky in places, but in a super location and with an amazingly friendly team. The car 'disappeared' to be parked, luggage appeared in our room - which was spacious and clean, well appointed. Compliments must go to Sarah in the cocktail bar - for her entertaining company.
Dinner in the Olive Tree was absolutely superb, worth every penny so I can only assume those that think it expensive, don't get out too much!
Thank you to everyone for making our weekend special - we will be back for sure!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room which does not overlook Russell Street which can be a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pensioner075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel was a real find. The staff were fantastic (especially Stephano) and nothing was to much trouble for them, the food at breakfast was really lovely.

We were lucky enough to stay in room 7 which is visually one of the most amazing rooms I have stayed in with its high ceiling, large size and huge bed and bathroom.

I have seen some comments about no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms and this is correct but they offer 24 hour room service and there is tea and coffee available in the lounge from early in the morning.

With parking being difficult in Bath having the valet parking included in our room price was a real bonus.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Bath and who appreciate the personal touch.

Room Tip: Room 7 is a Deluxe rom but if you can afford the small cost of the upgrade it is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEllis82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Unfortunately we felt the hotel was lacking in those extra touches that make a good really hotel. The room rate was very high & we felt not justified by the facilities or service. Our room was nice but had no tea or coffee facilities & no mini bar, no air-conditioning or fan & was stuffy & noisy. We had a disturbed night from street noise but had to keep the window open because the room was so hot.

Room Tip: Suggest a back room for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren M, General Manager at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Wendy A

I was disappointed to read your review and to find that The Queensberry did not meet your expectations.

We are a 3 Red Star luxury boutique hotel in the city centre and we strive to provide a level of service and facilities which are far beyond the level expected from a hotel of our rating. Valet parking, turn-down service, complimentary tea and coffee an award-winning restaurant together with a team dedicated to providing British hospitality at it's best.

We are proud to be a little quirky and not a run-of-the-mill corporate hotel, but full of character and personality. We do not have air conditioning or mini bars although we do have fans! We understand that by being a little different we aren't going to suit those guests looking for a more generic hotel experience. Fortunately Bath offers a wide range of hotels to choose from and I am sorry that weren't the hotel for you.

Kind regards

Lauren McCann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.4 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing