We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what could have been a perfect evening was ruined”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 December 2009

I booked a night at the Queensberry for a day away with my partner, having a long-distance relationship we don't see each other often so I decided to pay the extra for a nicer hotel hoping that it would make the experience that little bit more special.

First impressions were good, the valet parking is a great idea, the place is beautifully furnished, the bedroom (room 11) was spacious and the bathroom nice, with robes and White Company toiletries.

We had a lovely dinner at The Olive Tree, which though expensive was really great for a special occasion. Over dinner, my boyfriend proposed and I thought the evening couldn't be more perfect.

So imagine how I felt when we returned to our room to find a letter on the bed informing me that the staff had found evidence of smoking in our bedroom and we would be charged £150 for cleaning the room! I was very upset to be wrongly accused of smoking in the room and no happy about the charge either, which was more than our room cost, so I went to speak to the night duty manager. He was sympathetic but unable to do anything until the general manager returned in the morning, so we had no choice but to go to bed with this hanging over us, completely spoiling what had been a very romantic and special occasion.

In the morning we received an apology from the manager and we weren't charged, but I am very disappointed that I paid extra for a nice hotel hoping for an exceptional experience and I don't feel I got what I paid for as the whole trip was spoiled.

I understand hotels can't allow smoking indoors but I would ask the Queensberry to rectify two things:

1. Make sure there is clear evidence of smoking, perhaps not based on one person's experience (I suspect it was the lady who came to turn down our room as we were leaving for dinner, my partner had just been outside for a cigarette)

2. Think about how you go about making these accusations - a letter left on the bed at night gives no opportunity for discussion and ensures your guest will have to spend the night with the accusation hanging over them

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveller9057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,382)
There are newer reviews for Queensberry Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,189 - 1,195 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2009

We've stayed at the Queensberry twice now and would highly recommend it. We booked a standard room and were delighted with the size of it and the very large bathroom. The rooms are very comfortable and well equipeed for a hotel of this category. There is a flat screen TV with DVD player plus a CD player with facility to dock an Ipod. The bathrooms have generous amounts of White Company toiletries plus fluffy bathrobes. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The valet car parking is particularly handy and the gentleman that brought our car even packed it for us and recommended the best route out of town. The standard of service is generally a cut above the norm.

The hotel is very well placed for the centre of Bath.

I note the comments in some of the reviews about lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, but we found that staff were happy to bring up tea whenever we wanted it. It would, however, be good to be able to order a cooked breakfast in your room, although the continental breakfast was fine.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LongboroughLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

This hotel is right in the centre of Bath which is perfect for sightseeing and our room and bathroom were furnished tastefully with generous quantities of toiletries in the large bathroom. Our stay should have been lovely, but we had a sleepless night due to the constant noise of traffic and more annoyingly the rowdy shouting and singing from copious groups of people walking past throughout the night, even though we stayed on a week day. Do not accept a room overlooking Russel Street if you want to sleep. The restaurant was also disappointing. Muddled but well meaning service - for both our dinner and breakfast two people seemed to be waiting on our table so we were asked about everything twice. Waiting staff also did not have any knowledge of the food they were serving (eg didn't know whether the kippers served at breakfast were frozen or not - they are. More amusingly - we ordered the selection of West Country cheeses for dinner and asked what they were. The waiter told us one was Gorgonzola - a well known West Country cheese! - it was infact Stilton. He thought the accompanying fruit bread was also cheese and went off to find out what it was called). Portions were small and it is just stingy to cut up a mushroom and give you one small segment for the cooked breakfast. Likewise with 1/2 a baby turnip with the main course at dinner. Dirty cups and saucers at breakfast (lipstick on the cup) and horrible coffee also spoilt what could and should for £15pp have been a delicious breakfast. The staff are extremely friendly and this hotel could be fantastic but for the price it charges for dinner, bed and breakfast it needs to look at itself very critically and sort out the errors.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine64London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

The Queensberry is a perfectly nice hotel, but nowhere near as cool/boutique/luxurious/special as it would like to think. It has the great good fortune to be in Bath where, as it would if it were in London, Oxford, Cambridge, York, Edinburgh or Stratford, it can and does price-up to gouge the foreign and domestic tourist alike. Yes the rooms are nice. Yes the cosmetics are quality and the towels are fluffy (the beds are too soft). But it ends there and to charge £170 for a bed for the night plus breakfast, plus an additional fee if paying by AMEX when you are not a full-on full-service hotel - and the Queensberry is not; there isn't even a front desk to speak of - is gouging and make no mistake. But there are few hotels in this above-mid price but not very expensive category in Bath and so the owners will continue doing what logic suggests they should do - charge like the Light Brigade. You choose whether to support them. One tip: do not accept a room at the front if you are any kind of light sleeper, at least over the weekend: Russell Street is a major conduit for p1ssheads going home in the small hours.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheOldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Do the managemant not read these reviews? Put a kettle and beverages in the rooms! It's so basic, and everyone mentions it. We were told that complimetary tea and coffee was available only in the lounge...but we were on holiday and didn't want to have to dress and go into the public areas just for a simple cuppa. The room was lovely, the fake dusty flower arrangement wasn't. Nice garden and public lounges. Friendly barman and staff. Car valet service is brilliant - such a help. Bath is pretty expensive anyway, but with just a bit more effort the Queensberry could be had and shoulders above other hotels. As things are at the moment, it isn't.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bubblebooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Queensberry Hotel for 3 nights in late September 2009. We booked a Classic Double and were in Room 14 overlooking Russel Street. The location was perfect for us. The street was quiet, but walking distance from great restaurants and all the sights in Bath. We walked from the train station with our luggage, but I recommend taking a taxi since it is somewhat uphill. Our spacious room was appointed with an eclectic mix of modern and antique furnishings in subdues tones. The double bed seemed like a queen and was very comfortable with wonderful linens. The room was classy and relaxing. The large marble bath was airy, with a window to the street. We rented a car, and had no trouble parking since a valet quickly parked it for us or brought it up front whenever we needed it. We enjoyed daily tea and coffee in the lobby in late afternoon. We had dinner at the Olive Tree Restaurant, and it was pricey but fantastic! We enjoyed the continental breakfast at the Olive Tree Restaurant, which was 10 pounds a person. It was delicious with toast, pastries, breads, jams, fruit, cereals, 3 juices, cheeses and cold ham, tea and coffee, and milk. We also had a great meal at The Hole in the Wall Restaurant. We loved the Queensberry, and definitely recommend it. We plan to stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We stayed here for one night, our first room was on the ground floor and there was noise which I believe was from an extractor fan, I complained to reception who said that in however many years no one before had ever complained! Anyway, all the rooms like ours (standard) were booked so we were moved to a superior deluxe which was huge and beautiful! Dinner in the restaurant was good and the bathroom toiletries (White Company) were lovely. Only thing that lets this hotel down is that there is no bar! otherwise highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jazzyjeff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 31 in Bath
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £123 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing