We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 March 2010

fabulous hotel with very helpful staff and beautiful rooms. it's one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank src22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed in this hotel in February and were really pleased and impressed with the room and the service. We booked a superior room as the price was not that much different from the standard room and were very pleased with the room which was large and had a good size bed and lovely sofa. The bathroom was clean and well laid out.

We arrived at 12 and the room was ready so were able to go straight through. We were shown the bar etc in the hotel and then our room. Their was music playing and it was very welcoming. We then went to the Therme Spa which is worth a visit. We didn't eat in the hotel for two main reasons, the first one being that it was expensive and the second one being we wanted to see Bath and not spend all our time in the hotel, we ate in the firehouse which had been recommended by my Aunt who lives near Bath and we were not disappointed however while cheaper than the hotel still quite dear.

Read some reviews about the hotel before we went and was concerned with the issues about noise as i am a light sleeper, however feel asleep very easily and had a really peaceful night. In addition to this people had complained about the lack of hot drinks in the rooms. this did not bother me or my husband and we were happy to order the drinks from room service when we came in the evening. The drinks arrived promptly were delicious we had coffee and hot chocolate and both came with at least 4 cups available and came with biscuits yummy and were not expensive.

The valet parking was good and the car was taken and delivered back promptly. Had one small issue when we were leaving as card machine stopped working and my husband had to go back into Bath to draw out the cash which meant our exit was not as smooth and relaxed as the rest of the stay. This is the one area which caused disappointment as we had to leave the car parked on the street as the hotel had already brought the car back and pay for parking which was £1.30 per 30 mins while we went to get the cash out. There was no apology for this and we were made to feel it was our problem even though it was their machine that broke down.

However apart from that little concern the stay was as good as i thought it was going to be and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenDalglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This was a birthday treat - and the first treat was having the car whisked away to be parked and the second was being upgraded to a room with amazing views over the city! Loved the laidback nature of the place and the higgeldy piggeldy layout with its honesty bars and lounges... We had a beautiful room with a luxurious bathroom - breakfast in bed - and treated like kings. Would highly recommend it - got to be one of the nicest places in Bath.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

This hotel has it all location,style, comfort and the best restaurant in Bath.
We stayed in room 8 a suite with three beautiful windows ceiling to floor a magnificent fire place, furnishings, mattresses and linen of the highest quality.
Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent, where is the Michelin star? it is far better than all its closest competitors.
Breakfast and dinner was included in our package which made it very reasonable.
We stayed the weekend of 6th Feb, the weather was good and allowed us to experience the best of Bath, culture, shopping and relaxation with the hotel a 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHoneysuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

The Queensberry Hotel deserves all the praise that it receives. Our room was beautiful (no. 4) and the bathroom breath taking. The location is ideal for Bath, a few minutes stroll to all the sites but just that little bit out so you feel that you've left the mayhem of the city centre. We also had dinner in The Olive Tree restaurant which was fantastic and I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazzlec14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

I had booked an overnight stay in Bath for my partner's birthday and was obviously nervous about arriving to a crappy hotel as it was a gift! But I need not have worried as the hotel was absolutely beautiful. The most impressive part of the stay was the room. They have an apartment feel, just without the kitchen! The rooms have sofas in them and decorative fireplaces, and are very classy in décor. It was very much a home from home.
We decided to eat out in Bath (at Jamie Oliver's restaurant, which I would also recommend!) so I wouldn't be able to rate the food at the hotel. Although I did see the hotel and bar area, and they looked impressive.
The only 2 things I would report negatively on is the fact that given the star rating of the hotel, the rooms did not offer tea-making facilities. They did have a lounge area downstairs where you could get unlimited cups of tea. However, if you wanted a cup of tea in the privacy of your own room, you couldn't as all the guests share the lounge area. This is relatively minor, however.
I would also inform travellers of the fact that the superior rooms, beautiful as they are, have a cd player in them, and one of the fellow travellers in the rooms above us began playing music at about 11.45pm. It wasn't particularly loud, but it was distracting if you are a light sleeper. I didn't hesitate to contact the staff downstairs who immediately went to the room and got the guests to turn it down, which they did straight away. I asked staff if it was possible to get them to turn the music off altogether, given the time of the night, but apparently they could only tell them to turn it down, which I was a little disappointed about.
Otherwise, a fantastic stay. The location was great as well, with only about 5minutes walk (downhill!) into Bath centre. As I booked the hotel in January, I had the room at half price (£110). As this price did not include breakfast, I wouldn't have stayed there at full price. Even though the room and hotel were absolutely wonderful, I didn't feel it was value for money, although it was in keeping with the Bath hotel prices overall.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaylaBenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence_Beere, Proprietor at Queensberry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2010

May I begin by thanking you and the many other guests who have taken the time and trouble to write their feedback on our hotel and the service we offer. We welcome, consider and discuss all guest feedback, whether through outlets like Trip Advisor or through our own internal systems, and strive to improve everything we do all of the time.

However we would like to reply to one comment that has appeared in several reviews relating to tea and coffee in our bedrooms. Whilst it is common for many hotels to provide this service we have made an extremely considered decision not to. This is not as a result of being cheap, or not trying to deliver a service to our guests, rather it is as a result of our very careful considered approach to the service we offer. We do however add a number of complementary services, well above our required star rating such as complimentary valet parking, free shoe shine, complimentary spa packs if using the Thermae Spa to name a few, and we know that our guests constantly enjoy and appreciate these additional services.

With regard to tea and coffee, given our location within four beautiful Georgian terraced buildings, The Queensberry is a very unique and characterful hotel. It is clear that our guests appreciate the effort that we took in the individual design of every room in the hotel. However the difficulty of working within the various rooms to make sure that we show these beautiful Georgian townhouses in their true grandeur meant that it was not possible to fit every room with the standard cabinet furniture that would be suitable to house tea and coffee facilities. Providing a kettle in a room that you have to fill from a sink and then plug in on the floor seems to us to be wrong and is not in keeping with The Queensberry service. Additionally, in our opinion, tea and coffee from instant sachets and cartons of UHT milk does not provide a quality experience or an exceptional cup of tea or coffee. Instead we offer very carefully selected, highest quality, fresh tea and coffee, at no charge, in the drawing room throughout the day that guests can help themselves to, and take to their rooms if they wish. Alternatively, for a modest charge of £3.50, fresh tea and coffee and homemade biscuits will be swiftly brought to your room at any time of day or night.

We understand that this may not suit every guest, but we hope that you can forgive us our little eccentricities and dedication to fresh refreshments at all times and also continue to enjoy our many other complimentary services.

With warmest regards to all our guests and thank you again to you all for your feedback.

Laurence Beere
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Whats good.
1. The location - 5-10 minutes from anywhere in central Bath.
2. The Staff -really pleasant and helpful especially Justine.
3. The Valet parking -a real bonus.
4. Really spacious comfortable room.
5. The digital radio - although there was a TV too.
6. The excellent restaurant downstairs - one of the best in Bath.
7. Excellent directions to find the hotel.
8. Free Spa pack when you visit the Spa - a must for first time visitors.

Whats not so good.
No tea or coffee in the room except by room service at a cost.
There is free tea or coffee in the lounge but only from 10 - 5.
I cant think of anything else.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank brucelambertUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £102 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing