We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and attentive service”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 September 2010

I booked the Queensberry mainly because of the website which I found very intriguing and well put together. On arrival the hotel seemed alot larger than what I had expected, this was not a problem as there was enough quirky charm to fill the place.
One evening we had a meal at the Olive tree that we couldnt fault, and then went for drinks in the hotel bar afterwards. The bar was empty and unmaned but it was a Sunday night and we soon found someone to serve us.
Our room was a Deluxe Double, which we were very pleased with. Clean and fresh decor, large bed, and a huge bathroom. The only downside was that the room was on the top floor and got very hot at night even with the windows open.
I would recommend the Queensberry, eventhough we were a lot younger than most of the other guests, I felt very relaxed and at ease in a lovely welcoming enviroment.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlfbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

Heard about this Hotel on local radio, as a backwater gem. The owner sounded enthusiastic and came over as offering something different. The Hotel is three Georgian houses integrated into the various rooms lounges bar etc and a restaurant on the lower ground floor. It describes itself as "Quintessentially British" but it's certainly not leather armchairs oak-panels & ticking clocks. Actually it's quite an eclectic mix of styles. Our room (7) was large, with a high ceiling & huge ornate plaster rose. Furnished with (fairly stressed) 40s robe & chest, and also more contemporary soft furnishings & decorative articles. Very large & comfortable bed. Bathroom well appointed with all necessary items, but plumbing a bit quirky. Shower needed tweaking to keep hot, and cold tap in the sink runs hot for a time. The valet parking is a great idea, but I was a little disturbed to find that the cars are parked on local streets - I had imagined a secure compound somewhere. Olive Tree restaurant is AA 3 rosettes and is up to the mark. Crab risotto starter was exceptional. Pannacotta could not have been lighter without collapsing. Unfortunately the Turbot was accompanied by my most hated of vegetables, the courgette. I chose it anyway, but it was slightly polluted by the accursed gourd. Finally, the Hotel has a nice courtyard at the back, with a bar open all day. All of the staff (even though some are certainly not "quintessentially" or any other kind of British) were very pleasant and efficient. On the whole, the Hotel would justify a quirky but quality tag, and there is something relaxing about it that I can't put a finger on. It would mostly be appreciated by the discerning mature visitor. It's not cheap, but I didn't feel put out by the size of the bill as I have in other carriage clock type places. Even so, I prefer to mainstream in chain hotels for single nights and would say that to get the full benefit from this Hotel you need to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

The Queensberry is ideally located in a quiet part of Bath (hard to find!), above the Assembly House and only 5 minutes from the Royal Crescent.
The hotel is in a beautiful building and the rooms are very stylish and comfortable. Valet parking takes care of the car and this service free. Our bags were taken to our room whilst we enjoyed complimentary tea in the drawing room. Be aware that there are no tea making facilities in the room (which was a let down considering how bad the weather was whilst we were there! I've never experienced this in a hotel before).
The service from the reception staff was faultless. We, sadly, had to leave a day earlier than expected due to illness and were met with real compassion and concern and sisn't even have to pay a cancellation fee for the second night. Their knowledge of the local area was excellent (we were given maps), and were given directions for a quick way out of the city to avoid horrendous traffic jams.
Breakfast is worth a special mention. The quality of the food, service and surroundings have to be experienced to be understood - just outstanding!
My only suggestion for improvement - put tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms. Guests don't always want to sit in the drawing room and like to have something to drink after 5.30pm. In the end, we bought our own kettle from Lakeland!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtCafeNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed at the Queenberry for my birthday and took a cooking class at Bertinet kitchn (which I would highly recommend). It was a very rainy weekend in November and we were very happy we choose the Queensberry. Our room was large and quiet and nicely decorated. We a dinner package which was included, given how hard it was raining it was great to not have to leave the hotel. The food was great, but there are so many good restaurants in Bath, one night would have been fine.

The location and valet parking were a plus too!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed at the Queensbury hotel for two nights because we were attending a wedding in the area. The hotel itself is modern and clean but a little tired in places. We stayed in one of the more expensive rooms and it was nicely decorated and very spacious. The bathroom was hugh and had plenty of towels and toiletries but was quite dated in terms of the decor. There was no minibar in the room and there were no tea and coffee making facilities or iron and ironing board. There was however complimentary tea and coffee in the lounge area but when we arrived in the afternoon this was all pretty cold.
The staff were friendly and welcoming. The location is great, right in the centre of Bath so its within walking distance of all the nice cafes and restaurants.
We had a plesant stay at the Queensbury but wouldn't make an effort to go back if we were looking for somewhere to stay in Bath.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Had a one night stay in Bath in August and on arrival on a very wet afternoon we were greeted by very friendly receptionist who advised that room had been upgraded.
The hotel is a 4 storey Victoian House so there is no parking but staff will take your vehilce and park for you and collect following morning at no extra cost.
Room was spacious, newly decorated with walk in wardrobe area and separte ensuite bathroom with over bath shower. All area of Hotel were clean and there are separte lounge areas on most floors with complimentary tea and coffee served in the drawing room just adjacent to reception. You do not need to depart your room until 11.30 am which was great for us on a one night visit as we had the oportunity to discoiver more of Bath, this time in the sunshine.

Attached to the Hotel is the Olive Tree Restaurant, prices are a bit steep and the Hotel seem to know it as tehy do not publicise it much. Starters from £9.00 and manin course from £16.00, but there is no shortage of places to eat, we chose ASK few hundred yards away which was a great meal.

All in all the Queesnberry is a great hotel and we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete18364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed at the Queensberry for 3 nights. The location of the Hotel is perfect: You could walk to most of Bath's attractions and don't need a car or public transport. The Hotel, room, staff and breakfast were well above average. We definitely recommend this place for a romantic trip and sightseeing. There are many restaurants nearby, which is another big advantage. Also shopping is great at Bath, as there are many good quality stores for clothing, antiques etc.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: £101 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing