We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly. Perfect weekend getaway.”
Review of Queensberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Heavenly. Perfect weekend getaway.”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Wonderful,unique hotel. Room was tastefully decorated and furnished to a very high standard. Bed was almost as good as our own, the linen was better!. Quirky bits and pieces everywhere. Really comfortable place to stay. The Queensbury is a very short walk (downhill) to the beautiful city of Bath. Lots of places to eat and drink and some unusual shops. We did not eat at the hotel as there were so many restaurants and cafes and bars to try.
The Roman Baths are interesting and we spent a great evening at Komedia (the comedy club). There is also a great little cinema.
This was one of our best trips (and we travel a lot,both home and abroad).Bath is a great place to visit and The Queensbury is a real treat. It is a little expensive but happy memories are priceless and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    345
    90
    26
    17
See reviews for
158
872
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This was a lovely hotel , with the room being very comfortable and the bathroom quite large, with a little quirkiness to the flush. The staff were very friendly and helpful although they seemed to not know the town very well and often misguided us as to where the nearest tour bus picks up passengers (turned out to be across the street from the hotel but we were told to go all the way to Brock street). Also, the staff was not as efficient in giving messages when received. But, the concierge, Martin, was always at hand and very helpful. The restaurant downstairs was good but not as spectacular as might be imagined. Overall, the stay was wonderful but a little pricey. Having coffee in the rooms would have been nice, and also maybe some pastries with the coffee in the little study would have been a nice gesture.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed here on the first night of our trip after a long flight where our luggage was delayed. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay and through the process of helping get our luggage delivered. The rooms were clean, modern. and chic and spacious as well. It's a few minutes walk to the center of town, but it was quiet at night as well. The staff also recommended a great local restaurant for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgertraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed only one night in the Queensbury but it was a real treat. The hotel staff are all exceptionally friendly and made us feel at home immediately. The hotel is a beautiful property with eclectic decoration and a great outside area which is lit up at night. The Queensbury is in a really good location, just walk down the hill and you are in the lanes of bath with some great independent shops and restaurants. We parked out car directly outside and a member of staff took it away and parked it - that was a bonus and took the hassle out of parking. This is a great place to stay in Bath, I would much rather stay in a smaller quirkly hotel than some large faceless chain hotel and would definitely recommend this if you are visiting bath.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Looey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed here for one night with my husband on our way to Cornwall. We had mentioned on the booking form that it was our Honeymoon, and when we arrived there was a congratulations message with a box of chocolates in our room. How lovely.. Staff very friendly, valet parking, took our cases to the room. Room modern and clean without to much clutter. Bathroom was very well done all tiles and marble. We sat in the garden at the back of the hotel and had local cider's and olives.... all so peaceful and quiet and relaxing on the lounge sofa's. This hotel in not hard to find (as mentioned by another reveiwer). this was our first visit to Bath, and we found the hotel straight away. Great to be so close to the city centre, but located in a really quiet street. Will go back again one day!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissmisstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2010

I booked the Queensberry mainly because of the website which I found very intriguing and well put together. On arrival the hotel seemed alot larger than what I had expected, this was not a problem as there was enough quirky charm to fill the place.
One evening we had a meal at the Olive tree that we couldnt fault, and then went for drinks in the hotel bar afterwards. The bar was empty and unmaned but it was a Sunday night and we soon found someone to serve us.
Our room was a Deluxe Double, which we were very pleased with. Clean and fresh decor, large bed, and a huge bathroom. The only downside was that the room was on the top floor and got very hot at night even with the windows open.
I would recommend the Queensberry, eventhough we were a lot younger than most of the other guests, I felt very relaxed and at ease in a lovely welcoming enviroment.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlfbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Heard about this Hotel on local radio, as a backwater gem. The owner sounded enthusiastic and came over as offering something different. The Hotel is three Georgian houses integrated into the various rooms lounges bar etc and a restaurant on the lower ground floor. It describes itself as "Quintessentially British" but it's certainly not leather armchairs oak-panels & ticking clocks. Actually it's quite an eclectic mix of styles. Our room (7) was large, with a high ceiling & huge ornate plaster rose. Furnished with (fairly stressed) 40s robe & chest, and also more contemporary soft furnishings & decorative articles. Very large & comfortable bed. Bathroom well appointed with all necessary items, but plumbing a bit quirky. Shower needed tweaking to keep hot, and cold tap in the sink runs hot for a time. The valet parking is a great idea, but I was a little disturbed to find that the cars are parked on local streets - I had imagined a secure compound somewhere. Olive Tree restaurant is AA 3 rosettes and is up to the mark. Crab risotto starter was exceptional. Pannacotta could not have been lighter without collapsing. Unfortunately the Turbot was accompanied by my most hated of vegetables, the courgette. I chose it anyway, but it was slightly polluted by the accursed gourd. Finally, the Hotel has a nice courtyard at the back, with a bar open all day. All of the staff (even though some are certainly not "quintessentially" or any other kind of British) were very pleasant and efficient. On the whole, the Hotel would justify a quirky but quality tag, and there is something relaxing about it that I can't put a finger on. It would mostly be appreciated by the discerning mature visitor. It's not cheap, but I didn't feel put out by the size of the bill as I have in other carriage clock type places. Even so, I prefer to mainstream in chain hotels for single nights and would say that to get the full benefit from this Hotel you need to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Hotel

Property: Queensberry Hotel
Address: Russell Street, Bath BA1 2QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensberry Hotel occupies four Georgian town houses in the heart of the city. The entire team is dedicated to giving each of our guests an outstanding experience. Guests can expect excellent standards of service, luxury bedrooms and delicious award-winning food. The Queensberry has held a Red Star rating for exceptional standards of service for ten consecutive years. This accolade is given by The AA, the organisation responsible for allocating star ratings to hotels and guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing