We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surroundings and great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Feusisberg, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Pleasant surroundings and great value for money”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

With the set menu for three courses even on a public holiday,at £27, this is extremely good value for money. Wines are on the high side price wise and the two we chose were not in stock but the substitutes were very good, house Champagne (Ruinart) at £65 is not cheap. Lovely surroundings and although we were a party of four adults and two little ones, we were allowed to have an apperitive outside and move in at our convenience.
Food wise the children's menu is adventurous (maybe truffles on duck egg is a little too far) but good to see rather than the usual stuff for children. We all had a great meal. Service was pleasant but a little slow coming out if the kitchen, but we were not in a hurry.
We will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royvocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your recent visit and we do think our set menu is very competitively priced. Our house wines start at £27 per bottle and our house champagne Ruinart is actually the oldest champagne house and as such very well regarded though sometimes not as well known as other champagnes. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves with the family and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    118
    29
    18
    12
See reviews for
128
526
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

All the excellent service and facilities you'd expect from a properly posh hotel, but with the added bonus of the wonderful setting. A historic building in the centre of Bath's most famous crescent, gorgeous views and an absolutely lovely garden.
Our stay was a joy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneC768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
A lovely way to describe your stay with us and we are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and garden so much, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had a weekend trip, booked a wonderful Suite and everything about the hotel was excellent.
Our suite was in the annex building, with a small terrace on which we ate breakfast. The room was luxurious and well appointed. The restaurant was fantastic. The service was 1st class.Great location with stunning views of the surrounding area when you step out the entrance door. Valet parking is very useful.

Room Tip: Pay for a suite, perhaps even the Spa suite...truthfully though ALL are great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rldTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, england
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just back from a weekend stay at this fabulous hotel and could not be happier. The staff and service could not be faulted and we were made to feel very special throughout our stay. Having drinks in the garden during the afternoon was wonderful due to the amazing setting, hard to believe this is all behind the front, it was like an Alice in Wonderland experience. The evening was perfect! the eight course taster menu in Dower House was as good as any Michelin starred meal we have ever had (and we have had a few) It is hard to say which course was the best although the smoke filled dome containing rainbow trout will stay in my mind for a long time. The waiting staff were extremely pleasant and made us feel so welcome. The Sommelier was fantastic, so knowledgeable we all learnt a lot. Our bedroom was luxurious and elegant with an amazing view. We are already planning a return visit but will stay longer next time

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchfanatic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. This is exactly how we want all our guests to feel. The Dower House Restaurant has a fabulous chef and team and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

It's the best address in Bath, and the historic setting and views are amazing, and the recent renovation has made the interiors glorious, too (if you can see the master suites, do – they're luxurious and fun). The food's wonderful, as well – the chef should be a star.

Room Tip: The master suites are seriously fancy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJC_NW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much. We are delighted you approve of our new look and yes we are spoilt with such a location. I am sure Chef will agree, he should be a star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Property: The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
#2 Spa Hotel in Bath
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#4 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crescent Hotel is the most impressively located luxury hotel in the World Heritage City of Bath, occupying the two central buildings of the world's finest crescent. The Grade I listed buildings were designed by the famous Georgian Architect, John Wood the Younger and were first occupied in 1775.Beyond its magnificent facade lies a hotel renowned for its charm, elegance and superb service, and, the unexpected beauty of the beautiful one-acre, landscaped garden leading to the skillfully converted coach houses, which now accommodate the award-winning Dower House restaurant and The Spa.This iconic hotel is far more than a remarkable collection of buildings and beautiful gardens. It offers the opportunity to experience a style of gracious living from the age when Bath was the very centre of the civilized world.Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are served daily and non-resident guests are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crescent Bath
Hotel Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing