We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgian Perfection with only the Slightest Wobble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I last stayed at this hotel twenty three years ago and was slightly bemused to be "welcomed back", but it is this attention to detail that makes this hotel almost perfect. Having requested a suite in the main building we were allocated the John Wood Suite on the second floor, it is bright and spacious and affords stunning views across the crescent and the parkland in front; a high and supremely comfortable four poster bed complete the suites magical ambiance; the only small comment would be the bathroom has no natural light and a shower above the bath is not ideal. Service is almost flawless, the only area that let the entire team down were the waiters serving in the restaurant, and to be fair, it was only a couple who seemed completely uninterested in doing their jobs; to balance this however there was one young french man whose enthusiasm and attention to detail was perfect; breakfast was the area where service was not consistent i.e. no napkins, salt or pepper shakers, orders forgotten and a requirement to almost beg to have tea pots refilled coupled with an inability of some staff to make any effort to walk over to tables on the lawn; evening dinners were however manned by a more professional team and in particular the head sommelier was outstanding; the menu is young and exciting and whilst the 64 degree egg was a tad over; the overall taste was excellent. The spa is gorgeous and indulgent and the entire atmosphere of the Royal Crescent Hotel still invokes one of pure luxury. We were reluctant to leave and despite the odd wobble in service, will be back again to spend more evenings in a garden where the air is infused with lavender and rose from the flowers that beautifully sculpt the landscaped grounds.

Room Tip: The John Wood, or JW, suite is beautiful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MDAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted you returned after such a long time. Your comments regarding the service and omissions at breakfast will be discussed and addressed as we expect our guests to receive the best service at all times. We are pleased with your other comments and that you enjoyed dinner and the spa and gardens. We hope to welcome you back a little sooner than last time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great location, right in the middle of the famous Royal Crescent. Staff very attentive and helpful. Valet parking, help with the bags, all the right stuff to make you feel good. Room was small but well-appointed, with airco (not so common in an 18th century grade 1 listed building). Garden courtyard very pretty, good place to take your partner. Only real gripe was the bathroom, which at first glance look suitably high end as well, until you tried to use it. The mirror was very high - I'm 6 foot, and it was face height on me. The (apparently brand new) towels looked great but there was nowhere to hang them. The loo seemed to be on permanent 'mini-flush'. The integral bath/shower was several inches above floor level, so quite a step up, with nothing to hold on to. Getting out then became quite scary as the shift in balance/weight stepping back out inevitably meant one or other foot would slip on a wet surface, and I caught my leg on the side of the bath (could have been worse!), A step or better, a step and grab handle of some sort would have made it a little less emotional as an experience. Breakfast very nice, Last thought is 300 quid for one night for a small room with no view struck me as rather toppish, but breakfast for 2 was included,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macnamarajl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, marketing manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. The observations you made about the difficulties experienced in the bathroom will certainly be assessed and adjustments made where necessary. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and please be assured that your feedback is most valuable to us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Royal Crescent Hotel last year and our first experience was of sitting on a very grubby sofa in the guest lounge room (drinks on arrival are not complimentary by the way). This was followed by a walk upstairs on a carpet that was threadbare in places. Our room overlooked a very well kept garden and was quite nice but it was so stuffed full of furniture that by the time we got our luggage in there, we found it hard to move around and relax. The bathroom could have done with an update. Tea for two cost £10, but the meals are very good and the spas and massages are excellent. Overall quite expensive and we don't think that we'd stay there again. It looks better on the internet than it does in real life.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter (no traffic noise).
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay last year. The entire hotel has since been refurbished to an extremely high standard befitting the character and location in the beautiful Royal Crescent. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and indeed our restaurant is consistently praised and held in high regard. Our website shows the sympathetically restored rooms and public places within the hotel and we do hope you will agree that the hotel's new look is outstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed two nights at the Royal Crescent in Bath. The room was great, very comfortable and the staff was attentive. Our room faced the Crescent center with wonderful views of the rolling green lawn. But, our favorite place was the lovely gardens behind the hotel where breakfast and tea were served. Beautiful and relaxing after a day of sight-seeing. Very nice.
We also had dinner at the Dower House restaurant our first night and we were not disappointed. Interesting flavor combinations, well prepared and served with the right mix of attentiveness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and our lovely gardens. They are stunning and often totally unexpected by our guests. We hope you will visit again soon and will pass on your comments to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to bath and I was lucky enough to stay at the royal crescent hotel both times. It is gorgeous hotel and I couldn't recommend it enough, especially after the extensive refurb........stunning gardens, beautiful rooms, wonderful staff....I can't wait to go back again! Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Great comments, thank you! We are pleased you approve of our new look and we hope you will choose us again on your third visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Did not stay in the hotel but visited for afternoon tea. The gardens are beautiful & provide a quiet respite from busy Bath. Booked afternoon tea as a special treat. Had all the usual items you would expect - dainty sandwiches, delicious scones and a pistachio slice to die for. BUT no wow factor. Clearly (as they should be) house guests are the hotels priority. No fine china, good but not perfect service - at this price they should remember your name! Go to Gleneagles and see how it's done.

Room Tip: Don't go for Afternoon - if you want to see the htel go for morning coffee, cocktails or chilled...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamillaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent Afternoon Tea. Our teas are comprehensive with sandwiches, scones and delicious cakes and are extremely popular. We value your comments and note that for you there was no "wow" factor and of course will take this on board but we do receive very favourable feedback with guests returning again and again. if you would like to advise us of how this may be improved we are more than happy to consider it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

An excellent experience. Beautiful hotel with excellent decor which suited the age of the building. Staff very friendly and attentive. Very comfortable beds. Breakfast was first rate. We did not dine in the hotel. Great spa. This is a first rate hotel in one of the mist beautiful roads in the world. A shirt walking distance from the Theatre Royal and central Bath

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We are delighted with your comments, thank you so much and we do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,359 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#4 Family Hotel in Bath
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £238 - £816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crescent Hotel is the most impressively located luxury hotel in the World Heritage City of Bath, occupying the two central buildings of the world's finest crescent. The Grade I listed buildings were designed by the famous Georgian Architect, John Wood the Younger and were first occupied in 1775.Beyond its magnificent facade lies a hotel renowned for its charm, elegance and superb service, and, the unexpected beauty of the beautiful one-acre, landscaped garden leading to the skillfully converted coach houses, which now accommodate the award-winning Dower House restaurant and The Spa.This iconic hotel is far more than a remarkable collection of buildings and beautiful gardens. It offers the opportunity to experience a style of gracious living from the age when Bath was the very centre of the civilized world.Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are served daily and non-resident guests are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crescent Bath
Hotel Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing