We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful architecture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very nice hotel. Quiet and very nicely kept. Walking distance to downtown. Had some trouble getting a blow dryer but they found one by morning. Had breakfast in the garden at the back of the property in a lovely garden

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ilume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We very much hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife & I have just returned from two nights at this hotel which was to celebrate our 22nd Wedding Anniversary. It is a superb location in the centre of John Wood's masterpiece, The Royal Cresent. It is a charming and beautiful hotel with a wonderful courtyard garden. We were fortunate to enjoy wonderful weather so could eat even breakfast outside.
I had arranged for a bouquet of white flowers to be in our room on arrival. Unfortunately they were mixed colours, mainly pink, and not my wife's choice at all. I immediately asked for them to be changed and this was done without hesitation and a beautiful bouquet arrived within half an hour. Thanks for that and my wife was thrilled.
The room was smaller than we had hoped with no outlook. There were no tea/coffee making facilities but again we asked and these were provided. Unfortunately they were not refreshed for our 2nd night until we telephoned and then they were delivered around 10.30 pm. Bizarrely they then phoned the room at around 11.30 pm to try and deliver another set of cups waking us. The room, though it had air conditioning was very stuffy but the weather was exceptionally hot.
We had afternoon tea with champagne in the garden which was delightful. Recommended.
The last night we had dinner but my wife's dish of fish was not fully cooked, being translucent in the centre and cold. Without hesitation this was put right. The food was enjoyable and the mainly French & Italian staff were very good. The Sommelier Jean Mark, if I remember correctly, recommended a superb wine which helped to make it a wonderful evening.
This is an hotel in the Relais & Chateau group and is top price in Bath. Detail matters and makes a good experience into a superb one you will wish to repeat.

Room Tip: Avoid room 40 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. It is clear that there were several issues and that you experienced a lack of detail in certain areas. Please be assured that your views are important and will be discussed with each department. It is always our intention that each guest leaves feeling that they thoroughly enjoyed their time with us and I am glad that were some very positive comments in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a 3 day break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The garden is magical. We were fortunate to have an upgrade to a suite which was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elgar096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are delighted that you visited us on your wedding anniversary and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our gardens are very special and a real surprise to many guests.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just had a wonderful weekend in Bath, which is a beautiful city. We stayed one night at the Royal Crescent & Spa, which was really special. We went with friends and had two double deluxe rooms (Numbers 56 & 57) which were very spacious with beautiful décor and felt 'very relaxing'. Our rooms were close to the Spa and pool area below, which was also a nice area with a small but lovely pool.

Although expensive our rate included dinner, bed & breakfast but by the time we left felt we'd had good value due to the amazing food in the Dower House Restaurant and delicious breakfast coupled with the standard of the rooms and lovely staff, overall, the whole experience was amazing.

The only negative observation I would make is there is no coffee/tea making facilities in the room, which is slightly inconvenient, particularly when morning tea/coffee arrived half an hour later than ordered and the order was mixed up on arrival! Perhaps the hotel needs to 'rethink' this?

That said, this is an amazing hotel, lovely location and we would definitely like to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 56 & 57 were next to each other (off the short corridor) so very quiet and overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We value your feedback and are always open to suggestions. Hospitality trays can be provided if our guests request them.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and do hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Seldom does one find a hotel as perfect as this. Spectacular situation; immaculately appointed accommodation and delicious food.
The numerous staff are ever attentive without being intrusive.
I left after a two day weekend rejuvenated and longing to return.
The only downside was the break down of the television system throughout the hotel which should have been rectified much more speedily.

Room Tip: Garden suites are unusual, private and exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We are delighted with your comments and that you enjoyed your stay here. The situation with the televisions was unfortunate and although we did try to act quickly it proved more problematic than first envisaged. It is not a problem we have encountered before. I do hope you will return soon and thank you for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is an absolutely stunning and lovely hotel in a very good location with a beautiful garden and very helpful front staff, until you want anything actually done from the back; Restaurant, room service etc. Then you can expect excessive waiting, even when staff appear to be lounging about. When staff are busy then one expects that things may take a bit of time, But when they are obviously not busy and the restaurant is near empty with only one other couple (as early) then you do expect to be given some attention. The menu came slowly; the wine menu not at all. I had to go and pick it up myself. There seemed to be three times the number of wait staff to customer but they seemed to ignore us for long periods. The food was excellent and the waitress, when she later appeared, was charming. The waiters, who had been there from the start, seemed rather distant,
The next day we had room service, which was slow, but from our prior experience we had expected that, so were not disappointed. We were told to tell them when to pick it up the plates etc. So I called and I also requested an ice bucket for the wine that had been delivered. I thought this would be easy as our room was on the same floor about 20 metres away. After over 30 minutes I took the empty ice bucket there myself to find all the staff standing around in an almost empty restaurant (it was late by then). They seemed totally amazed that I still wanted the ice I had requested and that I even had had the temerity to say I would take it back to the room myself!
So despite the positives I cannot recommend this otherwise fine hotel. It is so upsetting to see something that could be really great degenerate into something well below par.
I got the impression that they are in a popular tourist spot with a great location and therefore will be in demand so they really do not have to care about service. What a shame and a such a waste. I hope they pull up their socks as it is a disgrace to the site.

Room Tip: Suites # 52 is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YauKui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

It would appear that the service experienced on the day was well below your expectations and certainly beyond ours as a 5* hotel. Our guests are paramount and we get many positive comments consistently about our staff and our service . It is most unfortunate and regretfull you were not given the service and attention you deserved as one of our guests. Thank you for your comments and be assured that these will be discussed at length with our restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a classic hotel in a city loaded with history. Despite the size and rambling nature of the building, it still feels intimate. Service is top notch and you pay accordingly. Highly recommended if it is in your budget and you have any interest in history and culture.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your very positive comments in your review. The hotel has a unique feel unlike anywhere else in Bath. We are delighted you enjoyed everything about it and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,439 reviews
1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £233 - £605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crescent Hotel is the most impressively located luxury hotel in the World Heritage City of Bath, occupying the two central buildings of the world's finest crescent. The Grade I listed buildings were designed by the famous Georgian Architect, John Wood the Younger and were first occupied in 1775.Beyond its magnificent facade lies a hotel renowned for its charm, elegance and superb service, and, the unexpected beauty of the beautiful one-acre, landscaped garden leading to the skillfully converted coach houses, which now accommodate the award-winning Dower House restaurant and The Spa.This iconic hotel is far more than a remarkable collection of buildings and beautiful gardens. It offers the opportunity to experience a style of gracious living from the age when Bath was the very centre of the civilized world.Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are served daily and non-resident guests are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crescent Bath
Hotel Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing