We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just as a poplar beer say's "reassuringly expensive", but you get what you pay for, the building, room and gardens were beautiful. And the restaurant was excellent. The hotel was fully air condition which was very pleasant during the muggy weather we had. We stayed in the Bedford suite which mirroring the public areas was opulently furnished. In the evening we sat down to the 8 course chefs taster menu and it was perfect. Overall a great overnight break to celebrate a birthday, will be looking to return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased the celebrations were memorable and that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you will return for the next one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here and really enjoyed the architecture and service. All the staff were helpful and the restaurant was excellent for all the breakfasts and dinners we ate. Finally, the spa has an amazing soaking tub.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSP10504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is very satisfying to hear such appreciation.

We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As part of a business trip, we had an overnight in Bath and elected to stay at the Royal Crescent. While a bit of a walk from the main part of town, it's worth it to stay here for the wonderful scenery, charming interiors, and overall classic feel.

Rooms were large, had quaint but charming decor and details. Loved the garden areas which were very nice to just sit in in the afternoon. The proximity to Royal Victoria Park was also quite nice.

We had a drink in the bar - service was solid and our cocktails and wine were excellent - but did not dine on the property for dinner or for breakfast.

All in all, I'd recommend the Royal Crescent for the atmosphere and excellent service!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inspiredexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We very much look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Perfect! The room, the hotel, the staff, the spa area, the location makes it is worth every penny. If I were to visit Bath, England again, I would most definitely stay here. This hotel offers balloon rides but due to the weather -- we were not able to have our balloon ride.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 3Floridians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so much. We are delighted you will return and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a one night stay in a classic room at The Royal Crescent. I can honestly say we were warmly welcomed, the service was excellent throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We both had an excellent nights sleep, the bed was extremely comfortable and the aircon allowed the perfect temperature of the room. The room, although not in the main part of the hotel, was lovely with a nice view of the garden. We chose to have breakfast in our room, the choice of food was great and arrived promptly. My partner also ordered a snack which although wasn't on the menu nevertheless was delivered to our room. We used the spa in the morning which was lovely, very warm water in the pool and good sauna and steam room. We were also the only ones to be using the spa so to have it to ourselves was nice. The gardens are lovely to sit in and we particularly liked the copper tree swing! Overall it was an excellent stay and we will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: The classic rooms are the cheapest but still excellent with good views of the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mch1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for such appreciative comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed all the different elements of the hotel experience. We very much look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our 3rd time at the Royal Crescent and it was excellent
From the moment you enter the reception lounge to the send off when you leave you are made to feel special.
Comfy rooms, great room service, and we had a excellent meal in the restaurant
This is not a cheap hotel, but in my opinion it is worth every penny

Room Tip: We had The Lord Nelson room 43 a junior suit with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THE BOTHY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We are delighted that you are a regular visitor and that you approve of our extensive refurbishment. Thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to your fourth visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice hotel in a good location with good staff.
Nice gardens with a small Spa attached which appears to have a few bizarre features. The pool is apparently high temperature like a hot tub, but too hot to swim in as well as being too small. Two adjacent plunge pools, one hot and one cold appear to have no other features? Sauna and steam. Nice small but well equipped gym.
Well maintained and attractive garden area.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlollerton, Marketing Manager at The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review. The spa is very much a relaxation experience rather than a place in which to exercise. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
No.15 Great Pulteney
#10 of 34 in Bath
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 16 Royal Crescent, Bath BA1 2LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
#2 Spa Hotel in Bath
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £237 - £610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crescent Hotel is the most impressively located luxury hotel in the World Heritage City of Bath, occupying the two central buildings of the world's finest crescent. The Grade I listed buildings were designed by the famous Georgian Architect, John Wood the Younger and were first occupied in 1775.Beyond its magnificent facade lies a hotel renowned for its charm, elegance and superb service, and, the unexpected beauty of the beautiful one-acre, landscaped garden leading to the skillfully converted coach houses, which now accommodate the award-winning Dower House restaurant and The Spa.This iconic hotel is far more than a remarkable collection of buildings and beautiful gardens. It offers the opportunity to experience a style of gracious living from the age when Bath was the very centre of the civilized world.Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are served daily and non-resident guests are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crescent Bath
Hotel Royal Crescent
Royal Crescent Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing